We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Highlawn Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berkeley Springs
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Highlawn Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

187 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Highlawn Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 187: English reviews
Gambrills, MD
Reviewed July 1, 2008

We stayed at Highlawn for our anniversary in April. This was our first visit to a B&B and I wasn’t sure it would be my husband’s cup of tea, but he was truly smitten with the place right away. We had the good fortune to be there for one of the Silver Service dinners which gave us a chance to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank kick89
Rockville, MD
Reviewed June 26, 2008

Highlawn Inn is a terrific place to stay if you are looking for a quick get-a-way from the DC area. My wife and I have visited often over the past years and have always loved the quaint rooms, fabulous breakfasts and Saturday dinners, and warm hospitality provided by Sandy and Tim. And the town of Berkeley Springs is fun, with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank thirtythree
Reston, Virginia
Reviewed May 29, 2008

Berkeley Springs is a quaint town (boasting interesting shops, good dining, and rejuvenating spa treatments) and Highlawn Inn provides the perfect home base from which to experience it! My wife & I are big fans of this charming B&B and try to get there 2-3 times a year for weekend romantic getaways. With each visit, the Inn provides us with...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank RevLou
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed May 21, 2008

I just spent a weekend at the Highlawn Inn for the second time in three years. The owner, Sandy, was delightfully welcoming and her staff booked our restaurant reservations as soon as we arrived. Everyone ( fellow guests included) was friendly and willing to chat with us. Our rooms were charmingly old fashioned and cozy. We spent the evenings reading...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Amypxq
Cheverly, MD
Reviewed May 21, 2008

In all the B&Bs I have stayed at, they have excelled in two areas - the bed and the breakfast. Highlawn Inn failed in both areas. I cannot believe that the reviews to this place were overwhelmingly "excellent." I have to believe that the people experienced what I did. The beds were old and uncomfortable and the sheets were far...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MeLoveBreakfast
DC-area
Reviewed May 20, 2008

Based on excellent reviews on this site, my husband and I recently stayed for two nights at the Highlawn Inn. I have to admit that our experience did not live up to the high praise given by others on this site and so felt compelled to put a review up. Our room was fine, not luxurious. I would have liked...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank trav222
Carroll County, MD
Reviewed May 19, 2008

I had never been to Berkeley Springs before and allowed my friend to handle booking our "Girls' Weekend Away." She chose the Highlawn Inn, having stayed there before, and told me I was in for a treat. The room I stayed in and others in the main house that I saw were lovely and quaint, right down to the floral...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BreezyGardenGirl
Philadelphia
Reviewed May 18, 2008

The Highlawn Inn is a charming home right in the middle of town. My husband and I enjoyed 3 night, mid-week stay here (as part of the Spring package, which included 2 night stay, dinner at a local restaurant called Tari's, and a spa service for 2 at Astasia about 4 blocks away). Berkeley Spings is in an ideal location...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank leftiedog
maryland
Reviewed April 30, 2008

The management is rude and unaccomodating. I wanted to take my wife to this B&B for a Friday night to celebrate an anniversary. On the date I selected, over 90% of the rooms were available. We are avid B&B'ers and were looking to try it out. If we liked it, we would have gone back many times. We have lots...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank really-curious
highlawn2, owner at Highlawn Inn, responded to this review

Responding to really curious, Maryland April 30, 2008 While we are sorry the writer did not agree with our two-night weekend reservation policy, the policy is stated on our web site and in our brochure. Having been in business for 23 years we learned many years ago that when we took 1 night weekend stays we were receiving many more...

NC
Reviewed April 29, 2008

Spent one night at this lovely B&B and plan to return next time I am in the area. The place was very charming. My room was cozy and nicely appointed; fine linens and amenities. The breakfast was especially delicious. I was greeted by Chico and later met Peach and Screech; three very sweet and friendly kitties. We walked through the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Crazygardens
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley Springs
0.2 mi away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#1 of 6 in Berkeley Springs
153 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Berkeley Springs Inn
BEST WESTERN Berkeley Springs In...
#2 of 6 in Berkeley Springs
330 reviews
9.5 mi away
Cacapon Resort State Park
Cacapon Resort State Park
#3 of 6 in Berkeley Springs
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Hancock
75 reviews
17.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Aikens Center
Comfort Inn Aikens Center
#2 of 14 in Martinsburg
153 reviews
17.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Martinsburg
Hampton Inn Martinsburg
#1 of 14 in Martinsburg
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ten room Victorian Inn in three separate buildings. All rooms have private baths some with double whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Highlawn Inn

Address: 171 Market St, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411-3470
Location: United States > West Virginia > Berkeley Springs
Price Range: $75 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Highlawn Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“sweet cats all around”
 of 5 bubbles 185charleneh, Aug 29, 2016 | Read review
“Garden room on first floor. Large rooms on second floor. All very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles budhall2016, Aug 17, 2016 | Read review
“We choose a room with claw foot bathtub to have a mineral bath.”
 of 5 bubbles 2Birdsfishnfrogs, Aug 1, 2016 | Read review
“I didn't see any other rooms, but ours was the cheapest and was still quite lovely!”
 of 5 bubbles 733miriamv, Jun 28, 2016 | Read review
“Love the Carriage House- see review for full details.”
 of 5 bubbles GidgitTravels5, Mar 16, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question