We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Montvale Hotel

Save
Share
1005 W 1st Ave, Spokane, WA 99201-4003
Lowest prices for your stay
$124
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/25/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Priceline
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (123)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (9)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#6 of 51 hotels in Spokane
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The oldest hotel in Spokane, the Montvale Hotel is Spokane’s premier boutique hotel destination.This nationally registered Historical Place sits amid downtown Spokane’s bustling West First Avenue, the center of an emerging arts and entertainment district. Dozens of restaurants, theaters and music options are all within a short walk from the hotel. Today, the Montvale Hotel has been reborn into a dynamic new hotel destination. Its historic look, coupled with fashionable amenities makes the Montvale Hotel Spokane’s premier spot for fun, excitement and most importantly – a good night’s rest.The Montvale’s Art Deco steel canopy, designed and built by Spokane artist, Hazen Audel, the two story grand lobby featuring a large fireplace and cozy furniture, and the second and third floor glass atrium all give the hotel a distinctive atmosphere. You will be left with a lasting impression from the hotel’s unique mix of contemporary and historic furnishings in a classic setting.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
Street parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Classic
Languages Spoken
English
361Reviews3Q+A70Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 233
  • 87
  • 30
  • 6
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
rickchard wrote a review Nov 2020
Airway Heights, Washington3 contributions1 helpful vote
We booked a night in the presidential suite, was a beautiful room, though WAY TOO MUCH perfume smell. At first glance we were both happy with a room amenities parking and everything, we went out for dinner and got back around 10:30. We were through the door maybe 10 minutes and got a call from the front desk about a noise complaint, which was annoying because the door doesn’t latch well on room 307 so I closed it fairly forcefully on my third attempt before it finally latched. After the call from the front desk we said at a speaking, not shouting tone, “F that, I didn’t want to try to close the door three times anymore than they wanted me to” in less than 2 minutes from the call, Andrew from the front desk was up at our door, knocking aggressively, arms crossed behind his back, and not identifying him self as staff. I demanded to know who it was prior to opening our door, at which point he said he was hotel staff. He told us the next room could hear us talking and didn’t appreciate our use of language. I was outraged that the hotel is so lacking privacy that we could be heard talking, or only here our voice, but be able to understand the words we were saying. At that point I said I didn’t really wanted to stay somewhere I cannot even speak freely. He quickly offered a refund if we would immediately “leave peacefully”. Because apparently my kind are either criminals or savages. So if you are a stuck up white person who is in bed asleep by 8:30 this place is for you, if you are a lesser part of society they don’t want you to stay within their paper thin walls.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ruby H, General Manager at The Montvale Hotel
Responded Nov 15, 2020
Richard, Please be assured that Ruby Hospitality does not discriminate against race, gender, religion, language, political affiliation, sexual orientation, health status, etc. We have strict quiet hours from 10pm-9am, as we are a very small historic hotel. For the sake of other guests, it is the duty of the front desk to address noise complaints promptly and professionally. If guests refuse to cooperate or show any signs of aggression, they are removed from the building for the safety of hotel staff as well as other guests. We wish you all the best, Montvale Management
Read more
MikeynDnvr wrote a review Oct 2020
Denver, Colorado130 contributions31 helpful votes
I stopped for the night at the Montvale while on a 4,000 roadtrip through the western U.S. I appreciated that they were dog friendly and the decor in the main area of the hotel was really nice. The room was pretty small, as is common for older hotels. I'm not familiar with Spokane but the neighborhood seemed a bit sketchy. I was a little uncomfortable leaving my car in their lot but all was OK. Though it's great they allow dogs, there's nowhere on site for them to pee. The only grassy area is a really small patch in front of another building about 2 blocks down. Extra $25 for dogs and $10 for parking. Due to extra expenses and lication, I would suggest staying elsewhere if you're traveling pets. If you're in town to explore Spokane without pets, this seems like a decent choice as it appeared to be right downtown.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Ruby H, General Manager at The Montvale Hotel
Responded Oct 21, 2020
Hi Mike, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our dog friendly rooms and cozy décor! We understand out downtown location may not for everyone. Guest safety and satisfaction is our #1 goal and we do offer secure gated parking as well as having our property supervised 24/7. We are so grateful for your feedback, and we hope to see you next time! Warmest Regards, Ryan
Read more
markoestreicher wrote a review Oct 2020
La Mesa, California288 contributions56 helpful votes
i found a great deal on this place online; and the whole vibe is super fun. my room was nice; but i can't say it was all that comfortable. the desk chair, particularly, was horribly uncomfortable, which was a bummer as I had a bunch of work to do. Tiny TV (really, I haven't see one that small in a hotel for more than a decade), and it didn't work in my room. I'd say this hotel would be very nice for a romantic get-away; but it wasn't great for a business trip.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Ruby H, General Manager at The Montvale Hotel
Responded Oct 15, 2020
Hi Mark, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some honest feedback! We are sorry to hear that your stay was not completely up to expectations. It's reviews like this that help us improve our hotel for future guest experiences, and we are very grateful for your words! We are currently in the process of switching out those small old TV's with larger new ones, and I will certainly look into the uncomfortable chair! We thank you for your review, and certainly hope to welcome you back in the future. Warmest Regards, Montvale Management
Read more
Adalyn wrote a review Oct 2020
Spokane, Washington1 contribution
There where bugs in the hotel! Then after checkout I was reimbursed a small amount but when I called for the proof of receipt they said I still owed and refused to give me my proof of purchase! Said to call back and management wasn’t available until Monday! Worst hotel stay I have ever had. Oh and then accused me of using a fake name!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Ruby H, General Manager at The Montvale Hotel
Responded Oct 19, 2020
Hi Adalyn, This certainly does not sound like the standards we hold ourselves to. We thoroughly checked your room and found no sign bugs or anything of the sort. We were also able to send out your invoice shortly after you called and requested it. Unfortunately, our strict policies will not allow us to accommodate the use of false IDs and unpaid balances. We wish you the best, Montvale Management
Read more
maocaligirl wrote a review Sep 2020
San Juan Islands, Washington12 contributions3 helpful votes
I absolutely love this hotel. I have stayed here pre-COVID and after COVID when businesses started to open up and I am happy to note they are open and ready for business. This little gem is a historic building downtown in Spokane and is walking distance to a handful of restaurants, coffee shops and other local businesses. There is an updated feel to the historic look and the rooms themselves are furnished beautifully. The only thing I would add is some of the rooms can be nosier than the others. This is simply due to the older building but if you can get passed that you should have no other issues with this beautiful hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Bring some ear plugs if you are a very light sleeper
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ruby H, General Manager at The Montvale Hotel
Responded Sep 25, 2020
Maocaligirl, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed everything about your stay with us, including our downtown location and cozy guest rooms. We are incredibly grateful for your feedback, and look forward to welcoming you back next time! Warmest Regards, Montvale Management
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$105 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
montvale hotel spokane
LOCATION
United StatesWashingtonSpokane
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Montvale Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Montvale Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Martin Woldson Theater at the Fox (0.04 miles), Downtown Spokane (0.1 miles), and Steam Plant Square (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Montvale Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and meeting rooms.
Which room amenities are available at The Montvale Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Montvale Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Montvale Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Montvale Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Wild Sage American Bistro, Churchill's Steakhouse, and Bistango Martini Lounge.
Is The Montvale Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Spokane.
Are pets allowed at The Montvale Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Montvale Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Crosby House (1.4 miles).
Is The Montvale Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.