Hotel Ruby
I loved this ballerina in the parking area!
Traveler (187)
Single Queen Room
Room & Suite (127)
Hotel Ruby
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#12 of 48 hotels in Spokane
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.4
Value
4.4
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The boutique Hotel Ruby is located in the heart of downtown Spokane's Entertainment District, near the historic Bing Crosby Theater, Knitting Factory Concert House, the District, and Fox Theater. Sightseers may enjoy Riverfront Park, Spokane Falls, the Gondola, River Park Square Mall and AMC Theaters. Hotel Ruby also within walking distance of the Spokane Convention Center and INB Performing Arts Center. This downtown Spokane hotel offers free WiFi, in-room microwave and mini-fridge, complementary bicycles (seasonal), is dog-friendly, is 100% non-smoking, has on-site laundry and on-site parking that is $5 per night.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Secured parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Telephone
Iron
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Rate:Get the Best Rate When You Book Direct!

Location

901 W 1st Ave, Spokane, WA 99201-4001
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,204 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Hotel Ruby, nestled in the heart of the city, is celebrated for its unique blend of historic charm and modern convenience, making it a hit for concertgoers and travelers alike. While some guests have mentioned high noise levels, many have enjoyed peaceful stays in the hotel's clean and comfortable rooms. Its central location is a favorite among guests for ease of access to dining and entertainment options. The staff at Hotel Ruby garners high praise for their exceptional service, adding to the overall value that the hotel offers its visitors.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Eclectic
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Affordable
Cleanliness
Spotless
Noise level
Mixed
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveler reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,204Review6Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 499
  • 454
  • 159
  • 57
  • 35
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kathy L wrote a review Nov 2023
Pasco, Washington
Hotel's Favorite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our room was clean and comfortable. We appreciated that this place is dog friendly. Professional, welcoming staff. We appreciated the hotel’s convenient location to theaters, restaurants and shopping. We would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kathy AG, General Manager at Hotel Ruby
Responded Nov 16, 2023
Dear Daniel, thank you for your thoughtful review! We are thrilled to read your comments about our staff as we do work so hard to make sure our guests feel like they are home. I'm so happy we are able to offer our guests to bring their family pets! We understand how difficult it is to leave them home so it's important to us to provide that sense of family with respect to our critters! Thanks again for your review. We do look forward to having you back! With respect and gratitude, Kathy
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pam S wrote a review Jan 2020
Adelaide, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is very trendy with great decor, and is very clean & comfortable. Cost $5 to park at the hotel, which we were not aware of. There is a lot of outside noise from a local bar plus the trains during the night. Breakfast is not served at the Hotel, but they give you a $5 voucher to use at the cafe next door for breakfast. They served a nice breakfast. Hotel staff very helpful and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RubyHosp, Front Office Manager at Hotel Ruby
Responded Jan 10, 2020
Pam S, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5 star review! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed everything about your stay at Hotel Ruby. We are so grateful for your feedback, and look forward to seeing you next time! Warmest Regards, Hotel Ruby Staff
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
Ryan Lawrence C wrote a review Aug 2021
United States
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a great vintage motor inn updated and in a fine downtown location. Rooms are clean and spacious with mini fridge and microwave and coffee. Wifi is solid and there is a desk too (on addition to small table) Parking on-site is worth the $5 so your car is safe. Train is literally next to the property, bit noise is no issue. (If it is, run the fan) Kerry was fabulous upon check-in, made it simple and speedy. Highly recommend this spot
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Park on-site… I am from downtown Seattle where cars are broken into right and left and felt...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kurt H wrote a review Jun 2021
Minneapolis, Minnesota
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I wanted to like this place, as older models remind me of my youth. This place was probably really hip and cool when it first opened. Too bad they started mailing it in somewhere along the way.

After a 10 minute check in process, i headed to the room and was greeted with a duet towel on the floor, a stain on the carpet near the bathroom, and a sharp metal piece of the bed frame. Traveling with pets often relegated you to the poorer quality rooms, and our room was no exception.

The bathroom was cute but small, and the shower head was plenty high up. So high in fact that it felt like someone was peeing on me from the balcony. And the dispensers that held the shampoo and bust wash were empty.

This place was not horrid, but I’ll stay elsewhere next time I pass through Spokane
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
T M wrote a review Mar 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel has a great location along the Spokane River with good access to downtown, the convention center, and the Centennial Trail. The room was clean and we were allowed to have our dog with us. The location along the river and the trail made it easy to walk the dog. The staff was mostly friendly. My. complaint was the level of noise in the hotel near our room. Do not stay in room 102, and probably any of the rooms along that corridor, if you want to get any sleep. The room is adjacent to a banquet room and on the Friday night of our stay there was a disco-themed birthday party. While the party looked fun, it was impossible to be in our room and watch TV because of the noise level. Also, party attendees spilled outside onto a patio that was right outside our door to our patio. Luckily the party wrapped up around 10:30. But the elevators are right by the room and people seemed to gather there to talk, and occasionally yell. There were people talking loudly out there at 2:00am. This is just around the corner from the front desk so it's hard to imagine that they were not aware of the loud noises. Also, early in the morning between 5:00am and 6:00am employees are going in and out of service rooms across the hall with the accompanying door slamming. So we had a 3 hour window when we could get some sleep. I'm sure if you get a room in a different location it could be quieter, but since we hadn't stayed there before we were not aware of what it would be like to be in room 102. The hotel has to know how noisy this room is and should provide a warning to customers. Still, there are features that make this hotel a decent choice. Just be careful what room they put you in!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Strongly recommend a river view room. Other rooms look onto parking lot. avoid rooms in the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Samantha Verhei, General Manager at Hotel Ruby
Responded Apr 18, 2022
Thank you for leaving a review, I wonder if you by chance stayed at another location. We do not have a banquet room, nor a patio event space at Hotel Ruby. We are also not along the centennial Trail, but instead located downtown on the corner of first and Lincoln. I will make sure to inform our other location about your review as we know the importance of feedback when it comes to improvement.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SRC wrote a review Feb 2020
Coulee Dam, Washington
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I made a reservation for 2 nights. I booked on Orbitz. Both nights are paid in full. The weather was bad the 1st night so my husband and decided not to make the 2 hour drive until the next day. We got to the Rubt about 4PM and the gal at the front deck was so awful to us. She told me I didnt have a room and they would NOT be refunding me (I didnt expect a refund for the 1st night but I did for the 2nd if we didnt have a room...) she argued with me and told me she could refuse service to whom ever she choses. I asked to talk to a manger she replied no. She finally called someone but wouldn't let me talk to them. She got off the phone and said she'll let me stay that night but this was my fault for not showing up the dat before. I asked for a late check out even that was a big deal. I will never ever go back to this place and the Ruby would be doing a great public service by teaching customer service. They get the lowest rating possible in this department.
Side note: I decided not to even stay. Wasted $200 but it was worth being treated like my business was appreciated
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RubyHosp, Front Office Manager at Hotel Ruby
Responded Feb 13, 2020
Thank you so much for changing your review and making it more family friendly. Please know that we reviewed our cameras, and while there was definitely a miscommunication regarding the 3rd party and the hotel in regards to your reservation, at no time was this young lady rude to you. In addition, unfortunately, she only had to be firm due to the fact that you were cussing and yelling and making her and the other hotel patrons very uncomfortable. We will DEFINITELY refund Orbitz when they have refunded you. You did pay them for the reservation. Again we are sorry that the situation turned out this way and wish you all the best in your future travels. Sincerely, Hotel Ruby Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BiminiSusan wrote a review Jun 2021
Detroit, Michigan
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed three nights at the Hotel Ruby and it was probably the only low point of my trip to Spokane. First - the positives: good price, free bikes, great water pressure, loved the hair dryer. The front desk staff was pleasant. The bed was comfortable and the linens smelled good. The negatives: It feels like a cheap motel trying to be a boutique hotel. It was noisy, there are outside corridors which feels creepy - people are walking by your window, talking, running on the walkways, which were dirty. The bathroom was cramped, the room was small, had no dresser, tiny closet, and despite asking asking three times, our room was never serviced. It was so disappointing that it was never done. We were given a buy one get one free drink coupon for the Sapphire Lounge, but no one told us they were only open on the weekend, so we didn't get to use it. Their hours are posted outside the bar, but are not accurate. All in all, I had hotel envy during our entire stay. There are many nice hotels in Spokane. I wish we'd spent a few extra bucks and stayed at one of them - it would have made our trip more enjoyable.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We had a king room, which was very small, cramped bathroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kim H wrote a review Apr 2023
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful room. Kitchenette really needed to be stocked better...one fork, 1 spoon and 1 knife doesn't help much while the room can sleep 4 people. Very convenient location and comfortable furniture. Suggest also to provide a towel when weather is fowl for front door area to help clean pooches muddy paws.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Room Tip: Parking limited so early arrival helps
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Katie Corigliano, Owner at Hotel Ruby
Responded Apr 3, 2023
Thank you so much for your review! We are so pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us, and will be sending your feedback to management so we can make the proper improvements for future guests! Your door towel suggestion is an excellent one!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eric2014retired wrote a review May 2023
Richland, Washington
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Location was great for our purposes. Location also good for theater, music, and restaurants. We were there only one night. In the morning we discovered that the shower water flow rate was about one cup of water per minute. This was not a low-flow shower — it was an inoperable shower. Also the in-room coffee maker was missing parts and could not make coffee. As we checked out, the front desk clerk recommended a nearby coffee house where we enjoyed great coffee and a delicious breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Katie Corigliano, Owner at Hotel Ruby
Responded May 23, 2023
Thank you so much for your review! We greatly appreciate guest feedback so that we may improve our services in the future! We are sorry about the shower and the coffee maker, but are happy to know our staff had recommendations. We will be having management and maintenance alerted to address the shower issue!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Climber31340665660 wrote a review Sep 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was lovely and very clean (like spotless). You can tell that the owner took very good care in remodeling this little gem. The bed was very comfortable, the front desk staff were incredibly nice and helpful, and the room was surprisingly quite despite being in downtown Spokane. It's also in a great location for walking to excellent restaurants and River Park Square. Plus, you can't beat the price (especially for how nice it is). Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: The pricing is excellent & the rooms are very nice & spotlessly clean. Great location for...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kathy AG, General Manager at Hotel Ruby
Responded Sep 12, 2023
Thank you for your wonderful review and comments! We appreciate your business and do look forward to having you back! Wishing you well, Kathy
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Edward R
Missoula, Montana8 contributions
They do provide a free airport shuttle. Check out their website and click on "amenitites". Free Airport Shuttle is one of those services.
Answer from AGo
6 contributions2 helpful votes
Hello, We are approximately 6 blocks west of the Amtrak station if you're walking. As far as transportation goes, there is usually a line of taxi services waiting outside the front doors of the Amtrak station. If not, Spokane is pretty supportive of our Uber/Lyft scene. Safe Travels, Hotel Ruby Staff
WendoF asked a question Sep 2016
Bothell, Washington6 contributions3 helpful votes
Do you have designated handicap parking?
Answer from iTraveltheworld195
Highland Park, Illinois1,101 contribution353 helpful votes
There is at least one designated handicap spot in the lot (may one or two more). No guarantee, I am sure that one would be available and the lot, though convenient does fill up and they depend on that overflow lot. Also, not all rooms are handicap accessible.
Answer from maria c
517 contributions46 helpful votes
The hotel did have a mini fridge but in don't know if it had a freezer compartment. There is an ice machine on the premises.
Trail50493679319 wrote a tip Jul 13
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is first come first serve so plan accordingly"
Read full review
Scenictoilets wrote a tip Jun 2024
5 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It can be kind of loud at night since you're right downtown, so maybe bring some ear plugs. "
Read full review
Danielle V wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Can be noisy. Bring your earplugs. "
Read full review
Arieanna wrote a tip May 2024
Akron, Ohio1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you have a lot of quarters since everywhere you drive you have to pay for parking. Even at restaurants. "
Read full review
Curiosity26736262515 wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you have movie watching kids, bring something to stream off of. Plenty of channels available, but no movie channels. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Spokane area.
PRICE RANGE
$90 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rodeway inn spokane, spokane rodeway inn
LOCATION
United StatesWashingtonSpokane
NUMBER OF ROOMS
37
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL RUBY $101 ($̶1̶4̶1̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Ruby
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Ruby?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Ruby?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Ruby?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Ruby?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Ruby?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Ruby?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Ruby?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Is Hotel Ruby accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Spokane HotelsSpokane Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SpokaneHotels near Hotel Ruby
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars