We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Garden Cottages

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lopez Island
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Garden Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

9 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 9: English reviews
Overland Park, Kansas, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

If you like rude awakenings, stay in Cottage A. When we arrived, the cottage was clean and the gardens were pretty. So we thought we would have a nice stay. But that was not the case. The quirks began to show themselves when we got ready for bed. WiFi was slow as we began to check e-mails and search for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ang3217
rentals1014, Owner at The Garden Cottages, responded to this review

I am so very sorry that your stay in Garden Cottage A was less than perfect! I am mystified that you had all these problems as all the previous guests have had no complaints. I wish you would have mentioned the issues to me personally when you called to say you had to leave a day early. My staff and... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015

We stayed in Cottage B. We found there were no problems at all. People come to Lopez to experience the water (sounds/straights), trails, parks, lots of biking and hiking. This is more of a rental, not a resort. Minimal service, but that was expected, and we didn't need any help with anything. WIFI worked better than anywhere else on the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

Wow, my boyfriend and I just got back from our first (hopefully first of many!) trip to the Garden Cottages in Lopez, specifically Garden Cottage B...I cannot even begin to express how much we loved this place! They are located in a prime spot in Lopez Village--the area with the shops, grocery store, restaurants, and some beach access--but as soon... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Chelsea C
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

Great area in Lopez Village and lovely garden surroundings. However, it is too costly at $160 per night considering the roof leaked, there is no private bathroom, and there were terrible-smelling candles we had to remove outside.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jan M
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

We stayed in Cottage B the nights of August 24, 25 & 26, 2014. The cottage was perfect for us. A lovely and very private garden greets you upon your entrance. The unique octagonal shaped cottage was clean and well appointed. There was an outdoor deck and a dining patio that offered plenty of privacy. We had no issues or... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank James S
Acampo, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Our stay was far from pleasant. The room is adorable when you walk through the door. However, before long you realize it is a giant waste of $175. The kitchen faucet is literally falling off, the bed is old and uncomfortable, the TV is small and requires 3 remotes to operate, there is no adjustment on the heater (full on... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Kathleen Q
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights. When we arrived we were welcomed by the lovely scents from the flowers in the garden and hummingbirds flying past. We really loved the quirky lay out of the octagonal shaped cottage and the decor: Warm green colours and lots of wood. The cottage had everything we needed. A beautiful bathroom with sky light,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank LeprechaunConnemara
Timbuktu, Mali
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

My husband and I paid in full in advance for a 4 day stay at the "Garden Cottages" for a special birthday celebration and stayed in cottage B. On the surface, the place seemed quaint enough. The "professional gardening" was just okay. Lots of dead branches and weeds! It quickly became clear that the space was very cramped for two... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Bhappytraveler
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

We wanted to stay in Lopez Village, and found these cottages online. There are two cottages on the property, and while they do not have a water view, they are about a block from the waterfront. On the plus side, the gardens surrounding the cottages are absolutely spectacular, and beyond what anyone would expect for a lodging of any kind.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mike_in_CO
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lopez Island
0.1 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
5.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
4.8 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 435 reviews
8.1 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Additional Information about The Garden Cottages

Address: Washburn Place, Lopez Island, WA
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Lopez Island
Number of rooms: 2
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing