We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Heron Rooms and Glamping

Traveler (26)
Room & Suite (20)
Dining (3)

About

#4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Orcas Island
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
The Blue Heron B&B, an historic yet trendy 1910 home, is located on West Sound Bay and has beautiful water views and beach access. It is close to the ferry and the village. A light help yourself Continental Breakfast is included. Children are welcome and enjoy the fenced in yard with playground. Look for our fun new luxury camping options recently added.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free internet
Wifi
Free breakfast
Hiking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Picnic area
Public wifi
Internet
Show more
Room features
Coffee / tea maker
Complimentary toiletries
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
105Reviews
1Q+A
22Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 76
  • 18
  • 7
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
My wife and I were on the island for a class reunion weekend. We travel frequently and were looking forward to this weekend for several months. We got in late and had emailed the owners to let them know what ferry we were on. There was a guy on the computer in the living room when we arrived. I guess he is the owner. There was no greeting or check in. We just went upstairs to our room. Really, it’s more of a finished attic space. It was very small! As I sat on the side of the bed my knees were against the wall. I stood up and realized that I had almost ripped a wall sconce off with my head. Had I been a few inches to the right I would have shattered it. I will say that the bed was very comfortable and that we had a good night’s rest. We only had a couple of gym bags for our clothes, so they don’t take up much space, but there was no where to put them. We set them on the tiny outside deck so that we wouldn’t trip on them. It was August so they wouldn’t get wet. There is a bathroom across the hall. My wife was concerned that she would run into other guests as she traversed the hall. She wasn’t very comfortable commuting to take a shower. There was some liquid soap by the sink, but nothing for the tub. Fortunately, I carry a bar of soap with me in my gym bag. When we got downstairs we found a Keurig machine with two styles of coffee; a light breakfast blend and a flavored coffee. If you want something a little more robust I would suggest that you bring your own. There is a small counter top display refer (like you might find in a mini-mart) with several flavors of store bought bagels, some creamer, and a couple of hard-boiled eggs. Breakfast is ‘Help yourself’. There was no one in the kitchen or anywhere else, for that matter. Overall we felt like we were squatting in someone else’s house while they were gone. It was neither welcoming nor comfortable. My brother had rented a VRBO on the island and had room available for us there. So, even though we had paid in full (you have to do that to reserve a room) we had no desire to go back.
Read more
Response from BlueHeron, Owner at Blue Heron Rooms and Glamping
Responded Aug 22, 2018
Dean, We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay. This season we have added Booking.com as a new platform, and have been experiencing difficulties with how our business is being advertised. At the Blue Heron we try and offer reasonable rates for the San Juan Islands. If we were to offer a full/hot breakfast we would need to increase our prices. Based on your review, please expect to pay double for those accommodations on Orcas Island. From our perspective, my husband and I both met you and asked if you needed anything. We also tried to communicate with you after you left our home, but never received a reply. Thanks, Kate
Read more
My fellow WAers are insane and generous... this B&B doesn't remotely cut it. It's so sad that San Juan Islands can provide so little and still get good reviews. It's just a house with much worse furnishing than my own house. The whole house is squeaky and everyone can hear everything. Toilet is across the hallway and terribly outdated. House has no bug screen so gigantic mosquitos everywhere. No breakfast whatsoever... a few sad slices of bread from Safeway.
Read more
Response from BlueHeron, Owner at Blue Heron Rooms and Glamping
Responded Aug 22, 2018
Kevin, We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay. This season we have added Booking.com as a new platform, and have been experiencing difficulties with how our business is being advertised. I am not sure what bug you saw, but we have never experienced a mosquito problem on the island. We hope you still enjoyed the beautiful San Juan Islands and parts of our historic home. Thanks, Kate
Read more
Our stay was disappointing. The bathroom is actually across the hall, and this should have been made clear prior to our booking. Breakfast was cold and serve yourself. Would definitely not have booked if we had known this beforehand.
Read more
Response from BlueHeron, Owner at Blue Heron Rooms and Glamping
Responded Aug 22, 2018
Lawrence, We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay. This season we have added Booking.com as a new platform, and have been experiencing difficulties with how our business is being advertised. We hope you still enjoyed the beautiful San Juan Islands and parts of our historic home. Thanks, Kate
Read more
There is nothing better than waking up to views of the ocean. Orcas Island is an incredible place and the Blue Heron was beautiful and modern. The beds were comfy and I loved all the porches. Great place to stay with my friends!
Read more
We stayed at the Blue Heron for three days and explored Orcas Island and the surrounding area. Great location on the island with clean rooms and amazing views of the water. The owners Abe and Kate were attentive and helped make our stay memorable.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$126 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesWashingtonSan Juan IslandsOrcas IslandEastsound
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing