We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Eastsound
Post
Inbox
Search

Blue Heron Rooms and Glamping

Save
982 Deer Harbor Rd, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-9284
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$148
View Deal
Orbitz.com
$148
$112
View Deal
SAVE $36
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity
$148
$112
View Deal
SAVE $36
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline$148
Expedia.com$112
Agoda.com$148
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (26)
Room & Suite (20)
Dining (3)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
The Blue Heron B&B, an historic yet trendy 1910 home, is located on West Sound Bay and has beautiful water views and beach access. It is close to the ferry and the village. A light help yourself Continental Breakfast is included. Children are welcome and enjoy the fenced in yard with playground. Look for our fun new luxury camping options recently added.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free internet
Wifi
Public wifi
Free breakfast
Hiking
Picnic area
Internet
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Complimentary toiletries
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
108Reviews1Q+A24Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 77
  • 20
  • 7
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I spent 2 nights here while exploring Orcas Island. It was the perfect location. I had an upstairs room with a balcony and view of West Sound, right across the street. It used to be pet-friendly, but I'm not sure if it still is. They were very dog-welcoming and provided bedding for my pup. A really good breakfast.
Read more
First, I think the new owner will correct many of the previous complaints. The rooms are comfy, the breakfast was continental - not upscale and gourmet but neither was the price. So, very acceptable. Work to be done, previous pics on other sites are outdated and identify the location as Eastsound (it’s Westsound), be sure to locate on map, but still a nice place to stay. Need a car. The only thing I would suggest is that someone be on the premises in the late afternoon to greet guests. It was odd to arrive and let ourselves in - we didn’t meet the owner for two days - and then he was very engaging and positively added to our experience.
Read more
Every morning and evening we sat outside the egret room, on the porch listening, enjoying - the last morning a bald eagle perched in a tree not so far away. Historic home, peaceful vibe. Historic 1910 home, small simply furnished rooms. Best for adults. It’s wasteful to talk about the operator (and his dog) since that changed mid trip and it will take awhile for the new to bloom. If we had known in advance about the moving party mid-trip ...oy! We wish the old owner the best in his new adventures. Good guy.
Read more
My wife and I were on the island for a class reunion weekend. We travel frequently and were looking forward to this weekend for several months. We got in late and had emailed the owners to let them know what ferry we were on. There was a guy on the computer in the living room when we arrived. I guess he is the owner. There was no greeting or check in. We just went upstairs to our room. Really, it’s more of a finished attic space. It was very small! As I sat on the side of the bed my knees were against the wall. I stood up and realized that I had almost ripped a wall sconce off with my head. Had I been a few inches to the right I would have shattered it. I will say that the bed was very comfortable and that we had a good night’s rest. We only had a couple of gym bags for our clothes, so they don’t take up much space, but there was no where to put them. We set them on the tiny outside deck so that we wouldn’t trip on them. It was August so they wouldn’t get wet. There is a bathroom across the hall. My wife was concerned that she would run into other guests as she traversed the hall. She wasn’t very comfortable commuting to take a shower. There was some liquid soap by the sink, but nothing for the tub. Fortunately, I carry a bar of soap with me in my gym bag. When we got downstairs we found a Keurig machine with two styles of coffee; a light breakfast blend and a flavored coffee. If you want something a little more robust I would suggest that you bring your own. There is a small counter top display refer (like you might find in a mini-mart) with several flavors of store bought bagels, some creamer, and a couple of hard-boiled eggs. Breakfast is ‘Help yourself’. There was no one in the kitchen or anywhere else, for that matter. Overall we felt like we were squatting in someone else’s house while they were gone. It was neither welcoming nor comfortable. My brother had rented a VRBO on the island and had room available for us there. So, even though we had paid in full (you have to do that to reserve a room) we had no desire to go back.
Read more
Response from BlueHeron, Owner at Blue Heron Rooms and Glamping
Responded Aug 21, 2018
Dean, We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay. This season we have added Booking.com as a new platform, and have been experiencing difficulties with how our business is being advertised. At the Blue Heron we try and offer reasonable rates for the San Juan Islands. If we were to offer a full/hot breakfast we would need to increase our prices. Based on your review, please expect to pay double for those accommodations on Orcas Island. From our perspective, my husband and I both met you and asked if you needed anything. We also tried to communicate with you after you left our home, but never received a reply. Thanks, Kate
Read more
My fellow WAers are insane and generous... this B&B doesn't remotely cut it. It's so sad that San Juan Islands can provide so little and still get good reviews. It's just a house with much worse furnishing than my own house. The whole house is squeaky and everyone can hear everything. Toilet is across the hallway and terribly outdated. House has no bug screen so gigantic mosquitos everywhere. No breakfast whatsoever... a few sad slices of bread from Safeway.
Read more
Response from BlueHeron, Owner at Blue Heron Rooms and Glamping
Responded Aug 21, 2018
Kevin, We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay. This season we have added Booking.com as a new platform, and have been experiencing difficulties with how our business is being advertised. I am not sure what bug you saw, but we have never experienced a mosquito problem on the island. We hope you still enjoyed the beautiful San Juan Islands and parts of our historic home. Thanks, Kate
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$116 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesWashingtonSan Juan IslandsOrcas IslandEastsound
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Blue Heron Rooms and Glamping
Which popular attractions are close to Blue Heron Rooms and Glamping?
Nearby attractions include Orcas Island Pottery (3.6 miles), Turtleback Mountain (0.7 miles), and Deer Harbor Marina (2.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Blue Heron Rooms and Glamping?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Blue Heron Rooms and Glamping?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Blue Heron Rooms and Glamping?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Blue Heron Rooms and Glamping?
Conveniently located restaurants include New Leaf Cafe, The Mansion Restaurant at Rosario Resort & Spa, and West Sound Store & Cafe.
Are there any historical sites close to Blue Heron Rooms and Glamping?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Crow Valley School Museum (2.5 miles) and Shaw Island Library and Historical Society (4.0 miles).