We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

GuestHouse Inn Bellingham

Hotel website
Hotel packages
805 Lakeway Drive, Bellingham, WA 98229 (Formerly Val-U Inn Motel)
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
GuestHouse Inn Bellingham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for GuestHouse Inn Bellingham
See the most recent reviews
Showing 200: English reviews
Arlington, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2016 via mobile

I made the reservation as we were driving to Bellingham and it was so easy on line. When we got there they had all the paperwork ready. The room was nice & clean. The front desk lady was very helpful. This is a great place to stay for a great price for one night. Nothing fancy but it does not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shelly A
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review

HI Shelly! Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review! You can always call the FD directly and we will be happy to make that reservation for you! Just as easy as online! We like to have the personal interaction with the guest and to attend to their needs from beginning to the end. Online... More 

Pemberton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2016

When you're on a tight budget, you don't expect all the bells and whistles. That said, the front desk desk were pleasant and helpful, and got us into our rooms as soon as they could. The hotel is located in a position that is easily found by people from out-of-town. There is free parking and free internet access, and a... More 

Helpful?
Thank TanyaDL65
bellinghammgmt, Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review

Tanya! Thanks so much for the review!! I appreciate you taking the time to write a review and for the kind words. I do apologize for the rudeness of others. It is surprising how some will behave with such entitlement and bad manners. I am sorry for this. I want to invite you back to stay when you are in... More 

Irvine, California
Level Contributor
238 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2016

We stayed for a night before head to Vancouver the next day. The check in was fast. We had two queen beds. The room was ok and clean. Actually, I ran thru my fingers into a few places because of reviews, all cleaned until I used the coffee maker to boil water. The previous person left the coffee and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mozou-Kozou
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I apologize that you encountered a coffee issue. I will bring this to housekeeping's attention. I am surprised to hear of the internet issue though. Just had a huge upgrade and it seems to be working well. I will be looking into this more. The freeway of course is out of our hands. The single... More 

Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2016

I have never been so disappointed with a hotel in my life. The room was filthy! Weeks/months of dust on the headboards of the bed and over the armoire. It appeared that someone left the contents of their nose one the inside of the lampshades by the bed. They were dried and fell onto the nightstand between the two beds.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Lori J
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review

Lori, What an interesting review. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. I am quite curious as to how nose contents were blown on a lampshade and then fell on the nightstand, left by a previous guest and our housekeeping team. I am sorry you encountered this. I apologize about the leak. These things do happen in a... More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2016

We stopped here and then hit Mt Baker the next morning for a powder session. Room was great, breakfast was tasty, internet worked in the room. The front desk girl was awesome. She was very helpful and speedy.

Helpful?
Thank Wes M
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review

Hey Wes!! Thanks so much for taking the time to share about your stay! Can you believe the snow up there??!! I hope you caught some great runs and had a blast! I appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and your stay. Please come see again on your next trip to Baker!! More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed one night. The room was not bad. It was clean and there was no noise. However, the staff is rude, unhelpful and I will never go back to this Guesthouse again. We got to the motel early, I ask if we could check in. The answer was NO, there are no rooms ready. She told... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sprinter05
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review

How unfortunate you did not enjoy your stay because the courtesy of an early check in was not available for you. I apologize that you were not able to receive the courtesy of an early check in. Check in begins at 3pm. and with a full house the night before, it is completely understandable that the courtesy of an early... More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2016 via mobile

A pleasant experience. Highlights include: • Clean and recently remodeled rooms • Free local newspaper in lobby • Typical hotel free-breakfast - did not partake, no healthy options • Great coffee shop in parking lot • Spa/hot tub - appeared clean, did not use • Decent location to Downtown Bellingham and freeway Overall, a great value!

Helpful?
Thank Rocky R
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the to review your stay! I do appreciate the time Rocky! I am happy that you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay. Please come back and see us again. We love making new friends and our returning guest! Until next time... More 

Belvidere, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2016

We were here to visit a friend and the price we got on the internet was half off. The breakfast was above average. The staff were very polite and let us check in early, which was very helpful. The beds were comfortable, too.

Helpful?
Thank peggymalone
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review

Thanks for the review!! I do hope you will come see us again, as we love to have return guest. The staff is a great crew of people that work very hard! Thanks for the kind words...I will let the crew know of the compliments! Until next time... More 

Sanford, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015

The free breakfast was nice because there was so much to choose from it was hard to say no to everything. The beds were super comfy even though you nearly needed a step ladder to get into it. The hotel is easy access to the highway and not too far from Bellingham airport. We booked this room because it said... More 

Helpful?
Thank K K
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. I am sorry you were confused by the shuttle hours. I am wondering what website you booked through. Our shuttle info is out there, but I am wondering where the mis information is. The shuttle is a service we provide free of charge to qualifying reservations. Unfortunately, your arrival and departure... More 

Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

This is a great hotel if all you want is a clean, maintained room with a good breakfast. Its no secret that a lot of Canadians like to fly out of Bellingham to avoid high airport taxes in Vancouver BC. For many years we have stayed at the Guesthouse to use their park and fly deal (park your car there... More 

Helpful?
Thank hollydaze2015
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our shuttle. While we do offer this free service between the hours of 8am and 5pm, it is at our discretion. We have such fabulous internet rates our there right now and love giving our guest a great deal. With this being said, we are also running a business and have to be... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn
3.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#2 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn Grand Suites
Quality Inn Grand Suites
#16 of 28 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
3.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Bellingham
Days Inn Bellingham
#18 of 28 in Bellingham
3.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about GuestHouse Inn Bellingham

Address: 805 Lakeway Drive, Bellingham, WA 98229 (Formerly Val-U Inn Motel)
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Price Range: $75 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GuestHouse Inn Bellingham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your GuestHouse Inn Bellingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellingham Guesthouse Hotel Bellingham
Bellingham Motel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay