We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Bellwether

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel packages
1 Bellwether Way, Bellingham, WA 98225
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Preferred Hotels.. to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Bellwether
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

336 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bellwether
See the most recent reviews
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2015

Had Executive Room overlooking beautiful Yacht Harbor and Bellingham Bay. Comfortable King Bed, fireplace, jetted tub and marble shower. Good size HD TV. Room quiet and very clean. Walkways around harbor nearby. Great restaurant on site. Pricey at about $218 per night, but had a wonderful stay.

Helpful?
Thank Love2trvlalot
Carlee S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review

Dear Love2trvlalot, Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay. Our luxurious amenities you enjoyed such as the gas fireplace and air jetted tub are a great way to relax all set to the backdrop of beautiful Bellingham Bay! Please visit our website or call the front desk directly at 1-360-392-3100 to take advantage of any special room promotions... More 

Marysville, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2015

We had attended a beautiful wedding at The Bellwether a year ago, spending the night there. It was such a fabulous experience! I fell in love with it. I told my husband that I wanted to spend my birthday there. We stayed in the Garden Suite. Every minute of our stay was perfect! We were greeted with a beautiful fresh... More 

Helpful?
Thank Darrell E
Carlee S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review

Dear Darrell E, Happy belated birthday! I'm so glad we were able to share your special day with you. Thank you for your comments regarding the staff; they all strive to provide a warm and friendly atmosphere and I am so happy you were able to experience that. I hope to see you again for your next special occasion! Warmly,... More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

An occasional escape from our everyday craziness in Seattle. First off, we can bring our dog and she loves it! The hotel provides a dog bed, water and food bowls for a nominal fee. With a balcony over looking the San Juan Islands it's hard to leave our room. Beautiful, clean extravagant accommodations and the bed is heaven. Happy hour... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kiliv
Carlee S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review

Dear Kiliv, Thank you for your kind words! I'm so happy you were able to enjoy your stay here with your four-legged friend! Our happy hour is one of the best in town, and often features live music. I hope to welcome you and your pet again soon! Warmly, Carlee Sanders Front Office Manager More 

Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015

What a spectacular place to stay. The room was gorgeous and beautiful views of the bay. The food in the bar and grill was fantastic. I didn't want to leave, I recommend this to anyone who will be in the Bellingham area. You won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Laura S
Carlee S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review

Dear Laura S, Thank you for your review of your stay with us. I'm so happy to see you enjoyed your stay so much you didn't want to leave--we didn't want you to leave, either! I can't wait to welcome you back for your next visit! Warmly, Carlee Sanders More 

Alabama
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

I have waited almost a year to submit this review hoping I would be a bit more objective. However, I feel it has only given me the motivation to just say it like it is. Anyone reading my reviews, knows I really try not to say it unless its just not worth YOU spending YOUR $$$. I believe this to... More 

Helpful?
Thank J B
Jim H, General Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review

Dear J B from Alabama, I was astonished to read your recent review from a visit nearly a year ago. I am confused when reading your comments - could this be the Hotel Bellwether? If so, I sincerely apologize that you did not have a great experience. The bell carts on property are easily accessible. We always offer to help... More 

Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015

We stayed at Hotel Bellwether for 4 days in mid October. I have never had such a great experience before. The hotel called to check in with us a few days before we arrived, and the customer service was out of this world. This was our first time in Washington, and any questions that I had about the area were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heidi P P
Carlee S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review

Dear Heidi P P, Thank you so much for your kind words! We truly love making our guests feel at home when they stay with us, and strive for every guest to experience the level of service you received during your stay. Fall on Bellingham Bay is the perfect time to enjoy the early sunsets on our Waterfront Terrace. I... More 

Twin Falls, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2015

I very much enjoyed my 3 day stay at this establishment. My room with a waterfront veranda offered a lovely scenic view of the San Juan Islands and Port of Bellingham. The Executive room with fireplace had an elegant and cozy feel with a spa style bathroom. Great staff, tasty food, and Happy Hour with live jazz in the Lighthouse... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dina F
Carlee S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review

Dear Dina F, Thank you for sharing your experience from your three day getaway! I am happy to see your stay in our Executive Water view room was relaxing and cozy. Our Lighthouse Bar and Grill features live music 5 nights a week, and I'm glad you were able to enjoy our local musicians! I can't wait to welcome you... More 

Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2015 via mobile

We always stay here after sailing in Northern British Columbia, an annual 3 week long journey. By the end of weathering cold nights, stormy seas, and rain, staying here on our last night always feels like a luxury. We stay in the Harbourside Suite and order lots of room service. It's location is fabulous and the service is always excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
Carlee S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review

Dear Lisa H, Thank you for letting us take care of you after your long journey at sea! I'm happy to see you enjoyed warming up with us in the Harborside Suite. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon! Warmly, Carlee Sanders More 

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2015

Been through Bellingham on the way to Canada any number of times and never know what a charming town this was and that the gem in the crown was the Hotel Bellwether! In town for a half marathon (Bellingham Bay Marathon) and found the Hotel Bellwether. Was drawn to the water front location and the great reviews. Boy were they... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Angie W
Carlee S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review

Dear Angie W, It was such a pleasure to read your thoughtful review of your stay at the Hotel Bellwether; thank you for taking to the time to share your experience! Our first floor patios are a treat when you are looking for a little more space to take in Bellingham Bay, and I am so happy you were able... More 

Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2015

We stayed at the Hotel Bellwether in mid September 2015 for a wedding. The staff was very friendly, helpful and accommodating when we arrived ahead of check in time. The rooms are spacious, clean and full of charm. We had 2 rooms on different floors and different views. My room had a disappointing view of the parking lot while the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TJ H
Carlee S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review

Dear TJ H, Thank you for sharing your thoughts from your recent stay with us. We do try our best to accommodate all our guest requests, and I am happy to see we were able to get you settled in your room prior to check in time! Our water view rooms do fill up quickly, so we recommend reserving far... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

215 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (148)
Viewed
View from room (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (67)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
2.3 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#6 of 27 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
#14 of 27 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
2.4 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 27 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham
1.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay