We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Candlewood Suites Winchester

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Candlewood Suites Winchester
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 121: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Winchester is the halfway point for us traveling from Boston to Atlanta. Really liked this place. It's conveniently located right off 81. The room looked like it was recently renovated with a well-stocked kitchenette. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Terri C
Palmetto, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good place to stop on way to Florida. Very pet friendly! Clean...no lingering animal smells. Order pizza from Kings Pizza. Reasonably priced, free delivery, delicious!!! Hotel a little more pricey than some others, but well worth it! Great staff. Small problem with TV was fixed pronto.

Helpful?
Thank Robert B
Doug B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Winchester, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. I am glad that the front desk staff was able to resolve the problem with the tv. I hope to see you again soon. More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was charged extra after the fact, without my consent, for reasons unknown. When I called to dispute the charges they were uncooperative and rude. I won't stay here again and would definitely not recommend.

Helpful?
Thank USAtraveller33
Doug B, Manager at Candlewood Suites Winchester, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. I do apologize if you have an extra charge. Please contact me so we can get it resolved. More 

Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

Checked in for a one night stay and first impression was disappointed with the parking situation. We were towing a flat bed trailer and when I made the reservation on the phone I specifically asked about parking. No outside camera in back parking area or security. Checking in we found the attendant did not give good customer service and my... More 

Helpful?
Thank bw7751
Doug B, Manager at Candlewood Suites Winchester, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. I do apologize, the person that made your reservation should have told you we do not have room to park large vehicles. If you call the hotel in the future, we can give you several other hotels that will be able to accommodate your vehicle. More 

Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

1br suite Rm 410 (non smkng) Hallway/room strong smoke order. Front door wouldn't latch unless you slammed it Bthrm door had a big punch mark. Outlet burn marks. Night clerk not attentive, kept joking around with someone else, day/check in clerk very helpful. Got a good deal on price of room and Bed was comfy & clean but overall not... More 

Helpful?
Thank PCG16
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Winchester, responded to this review

Dear PCG16, Thank you for leaving us feedback following your stay. We appreciate your positive comments about the clean and comfortable bed. On the other hand, we apologize for not meeting your expectations, especially with the bathroom door, hallway, and night staff service. Guest feedback is important to us and will allow us to monitor how we are doing and... More 

Bluefield, Virginia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2016 via mobile

While traveling to Winchester on state government business. In a state government vehicle. With a state government credit card. With a state government ID. I was denied the state government rate. This eliminates the possibility of me staying in this hotel. Because I didn't have some imaginary papers. Not only do I work in state government, I work in tourism.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gary J
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Winchester, responded to this review

Dear Gary J, Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Platinum member and for taking the time to share your comments. We value each feedback as this will allow us identify the areas that may benefit from our additional attention. It is disheartening to know that your experience was not as pleasant as it should have been. This is... More 

Cummings, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016

had a pretty decent stay here. Only hiccup was when my wife found gum stuck to the bar off soap when she went to open it. Staff was good and took care of it right away. Facilities are a little old but in good shape.

Helpful?
Thank Torch514
Doug B, Manager at Candlewood Suites Winchester, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. I do apologize that the housekeeper did not see that there was something stuck to the soap package. I am glad we were able to take care of it quickly. More 

Rockland, Maine
Level Contributor
139 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2016

This hotel was a unique experience for me. My room was like an efficiency apt in NY or SF. I had a full sized frig...an induction cook top...a full size dishwasher...a normal full sized microwave. You could easily cook dinner in your room if you wanted. The AC worked great. Very quiet. Very clean. All the staff I met were... More 

Helpful?
Thank astro005
Doug B, Manager at Candlewood Suites Winchester, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope if you are in the area , you will stay again. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2016 via mobile

After a long travel day we sifted through coupons from the Welcome Center and decided to try this - coupon price was $79. It was the best room we had stayed in for our entire trip from CT to FL. Clean and new, everything was set up beautifully with plenty of seating, a comfortable place to eat and watch TV... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard T
Doug B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Winchester, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. I am glad you liked our hotel. The coupon rate does help when it is available. More 

Inwood, West Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2016

I stayed in this hotel for almost two months (February 5 through April 1) after my return to the U.S. from an overseas assignment. I booked one of the larger suites and was quite comfortable there during my stay. The suite consisted of a separate bedroom and a combined living room/kitchen area. The positives far outweighed the negatives. Although it... More 

Helpful?
Thank BroonsBane
Doug B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Winchester, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. The desk chairs are on the list to be replaced this year. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
aloft Winchester
aloft Winchester
#14 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 432 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Winchester, VA Hotel Offers Convenient Location The Candlewood Suites extended stay hotel in Winchester is the ideal choice for long-term travelers. We're conveniently located near Interstate 81 and the attractions of downtown Winchester, VA. Our hotel is only a short drive from a variety of attractions. The interactive Discovery Museum and the Old Court House Civil War Museum are just few of the many museums just miles from our hotel. Winchester's historic, downtown district is the perfect place to shop and see the history of the town, or you can head outdoors to explore the beautiful Shenandoah Valley area. Business travelers will benefit from our convenient location near American Woodmark, Rubbermaid, H.P. Hood, Kraft, Shenandoah University, Trex, Winchester Medical Center and other businesses in Winchester. Lodging here also gives you easy access to our 24-hour business center with copy, fax and print services. We go beyond the other hotels in Winchester to offer you the amenities extended stay travelers want, such as free laundry facilities, a Candlewood Cupboard convenience store and a 24-hour fitness center. Every suite features a fully equipped kitchen, triple-sheeted bedding, a 32' TV with a DVD player and a workspace with an over-sized desk, a speakerphone and free high-speed Internet access. Call today to learn more about the great deals available at our pet friendly, extended stay hotel in Winchester, Virginia. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Winchester

Address: 1135 Millwood Pike, Winchester, VA 22602-4313
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Price Range: $99 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Winchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Winchester Hotel Winchester
Candlewood Winchester
Winchester Candlewood Suites
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay