We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Old Waterstreet Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winchester
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Old Waterstreet Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 101: English reviews
North Hero, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent hosts, accommodations and food. We stayed in Mr. Moore's Study and found it clean and comfortable. We walked to the Historic District and the city center. Great place to relax and enjoy Winchester, VA

Helpful?
Thank holidayharbor
Rockville, VA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2016

Just came back from three days (two nights) at the Old Waterstreet Inn. Jeannie handled our reservations very well. Due to an unexpected family situation, she was not able to be there to welcome us upon arrival. She did, in fact, call and text ahead of time to alert us of this, allow us an earlier check-in, left a key,... More 

Helpful?
Thank JandRRockville_VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile

A lovely B&B, this has been our fourth stay at the beautiful restored home and each stay was delightful. The rooms have been lovely with a comfortable bed and bathroom, also always very clean. The Inn is located in and excellent part of Old Winchester, easy walk to excellent restaurants and specialty shops. We love the outside patio with fresh... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deborah H
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2016

We were lucky enough to stay in the Cortland Room at this beautiful B&B. The room was absolute perfection! Jeannie was a wonderful host and even had a place for us to store our bikes. The proximity to downtown was perfect! I was also madly in love with the staircase.

Helpful?
1 Thank aggiegrl7
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2016

The Inn is gorgeous, with historic value and charm. Our room was clean, very pretty, and cozy. (It is not a foofy or a country-style place). We absolutely loved how the owners decorated, with a blend of modern and Victorian decor. And the space is light and airy. It was nice sitting outside near the trees and flower gardens. But... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline314
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016

The building is beautiful and very nicely decorated but the owner made us feel very uncomfortable. We were not allowed to use the front door, she was very picky about rules, the waste baskets weren't emptied. We were there four nights and she wanted us to sign up everyday for breakfast. We said we'll be there every day at 8:30... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie B
bbjeanne, Owner at Old Waterstreet Inn, responded to this review

It is dismaying as an innkeeper when we work so hard and guests like these sisters choose to write this review. We were very busy while they stayed with us, and so we had a sign up sheet for breakfast , as I can't serve everyone at once. They told me the first day they would always eat at 8:30,... More 

West Chester, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2016

I would give this inn only 2 stars but the suite was nice and it is in a great location. However the owner is selling and clearly does not want to be in business anymore and it shows. She is very worried about how guests treat the property and has a long list of rules. There are notes everywhere telling... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
bbjeanne, Owner at Old Waterstreet Inn, responded to this review

I spoke at length to the husband when he called to book, and I explained to him that as a small inn, I don't stock non dairy items. We rarely get vegans, but we accommodate them the best we can. He still chose to book . He said she would bring her own eggs, although being vegan she would eat... More 

Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2015

We live in urban Northern Virginia, and my wife decided we should take a few days away from home in early November to see the autumn leaves in western Virginia. Through an online search, she found the Old Waterstreet Inn in Winchester. We booked the Winesap Room for two nights. The weather was with us -- it was mild and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank George M
bbjeanne, Owner at Old Waterstreet Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the complimentary review, we appreciate it very much . It was a pleasure having you as our guests! More 

Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2015

We stayed in the Cortland Room, which is absolutely beautiful with a private porch right off the room. Even though its an old house, it was very quiet. It was very peaceful to sit out there. Jeannie was a great host and her food was delicious - especially her french toast! The location of the house is within walking distance... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank shayer21
bbjeanne, Owner at Old Waterstreet Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, and for the nice comments. The French toast is one of my favorites too! I'm glad you enjoyed the location, and the service. Guests like you make it easy ! More 

Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2015 via mobile

We spent one night in the Cottage Suite. Very convenient to park the car in their lot and walk to the restaurants and shops just down the street. Our room was clean and quiet and we slept well. We enjoyed breakfast which was almond encrusted amaretto French toast with real maple syrup, fresh fruit, and vanilla yogurt with fresh orange... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Paris44
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.4 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#6 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#5 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A lovely 1840 home in the heart of Winchester's historic district. Walk to the quaint pedestrian street in Old Town, where you'll find shops, great restaurants, and nightlife. The casual elegance creates a charming, relaxed atmosphere. A full breakfast is included, as well as complimentary soft drinks, tea, and light snacks. Wine and cheese package available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Waterstreet Inn

Address: 217 W Boscawen St, Winchester, VA 22601-4117
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Price Range: $115 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing