We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Colonies at Williamsburg

Save
Share
5380 Olde Towne Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23188-1922
Hotels.com
Trip.com
Expedia.com
View Deal
Snaptravel
Booking.com
Travelocity
View all 12 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (295)
Room & Suite (104)
Pool & Beach (53)

About

#3 of 13 Specialty lodging in Williamsburg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Perfect for your next family vacation, The Colonies at Williamsburg boasts residential-style accommodations consisting of two- and four-bedroom condominiums with full kitchens and electric fireplaces designed for maximum comfort. Kitchen, living room and dining room areas in each suite are integrated for entertaining and enjoyment. Resort amenities include indoor & outdoor heated pools with water features, an outdoor hot tub and tennis courts. The resort is just minutes from the most popular attractions in the area including Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, and popular retail outlet stores. Designated suites meet Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) requirements.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Game room
Tennis court
Kids stay free
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Private balcony
Safe
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Flatscreen TV
DVD / CD player
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
596Reviews52Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 324
  • 182
  • 55
  • 24
  • 11
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Happiness24092274508 wrote a review Sep 20
1 contribution
This place was not clean, upkeep and maintenance were poor, social distancing and COVID protocols were lousy. No soundproofing so we heard EVERY word and EVERY slammed door in the 4 unit townhome. Too many people were allowed in the room beneath us so it was ridiculously loud and disruptive! Shower drain didn't work, lights didn't work, had to clean several things ourselves, Had to grill in the dark because there are no lights near the gas grills. Broken down, beat up golf cart parked at the front entrance the entire week. I could go on and on - this place is not well taken care of!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Suzanne B, Guest Services / Front Office at The Colonies at Williamsburg
Responded 5 days ago
Hello there. The safety and well-being of all of our guests, owners, visitors and staff is our number one priority, followed by customer satisfaction. We have been implementing several sanitary protocols at The Colonies at Williamsburg. Some of them include Sanitizing each unit after guest departure and before housekeeping enters the units, Deep cleaning and disinfecting of all hard surfaces including furniture, countertops, appliances, cabinets, sinks, showers, bathtubs and toilets, Scrubbing and steam cleaning all grout and tile, Shampooing carpets in all units and hallways, and Performing preventative maintenance in all units. We have forwarded your review to the General Manger and we hope to make it up to you in the future.
Read more
Sal D D wrote a review Aug 2020
Shrewsbury, Pennsylvania6 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed in a two bedroom unit Aug, 2 to 9, 2020. Very nicely furnished and appointed. Two bathrooms were very large. My only disappointment was the amenities at the swimming pool, there was none. No snack bar, drinks, foods, absolutely nothing, not even a bottle of water. The only other complaint is that we were on ground level floor and no one was above us until our last night. Thank goodness for that, it sounded like a herd of horses were above us.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Suzanne B, Guest Services / Front Office at The Colonies at Williamsburg
Responded Aug 11, 2020
Thank you for your review. We loved having you as our guest. It sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed our two-bedroom suite. You had everything you needed in there - including all the space. We are sorry if you were disappointed to find out that we did not have any additional services or amenities at the swimming pool. We used to have poolside activities for guests, but due to the Coronavirus pandemic, we have had to stop offering that. Hopefully, in the future, we can bring it back. We hope to make it up to you in the future. Stay safe.
Read more
Discover49373790657 wrote a review Aug 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
The location is a great spot to explore the area, however if you are looking for 5 star accommodation this is not the place for you with lazy and poor attitude front office staff, poor communication and rooms that are not cleaned to a 5 star level. The property is fine with a nice indoor/outdoor pool however games in the game room are broken and limited.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Suzanne B, Guest Services / Front Office at The Colonies at Williamsburg
Responded Aug 10, 2020
Thanks for your review. We are sorry if we fell short of your expectations. Our staff cares for all of our guests and owners. However, due to the current pandemic that we are still facing, many of our amenities and services have been limited. We wish you great future vacations.
Read more
jjddss22 wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution3 helpful votes
My family and I are RCI members, and we booked this trip based completely on the information on the RCI website as well as The Colonies website. No where was there any indication we would be limited to ONE HOUR PER DAY at the pool! That information was shared with us at check in, and I was told by staff at the pool that it will be strictly enforced. I called RCI and spoke with a supervisor named Zack, and he refused to return our exchange fee or our exchange trading power - he claimed RCI is NOT RESPONSIBLE for the resorts in their network. It makes me wonder what exactly I am paying for - I could save my money and use AirBNB or VBRO. We were sold a bill of goods by The Colonies and RCI!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Suzanne B, Guest Services / Front Office at The Colonies at Williamsburg
Responded Aug 10, 2020
Thanks for your review. Our resort's website currently features a COVID-19 Travel Advisory notice with information on all of our resorts and what amenities and services have been limited due to the current pandemic. This is updated periodically as more information comes from the resorts' General Managers. As of today, this advisory was last updated on July 14, 2020 and for the information about The Colonies at Williamsburg, it states "All onsite amenities are now open for our owners and guests with the exceptions of the whirlpool/hot tub, outdoor pool water features and slides, and indoor pool basketball. The swimming pools will be at 75% capacity limit; free swim is available. Reservations will be required for the pools to maintain occupancies and social distancing, which are strictly enforced. The fitness center has a maximum occupancy of 3 people at a time. The poolside gas barbeque grills can be used for prep & cooking only, and then the guests must go back to their units for eating. For the use of the basketball court and children’s playground, it is one family at a time only. The game room has a maximum of 4 people at a time. The business center has a maximum of 2 people at a time. Face masks must be worn while in any public indoor area." If guests or owners would like more information on the resorts, they are encouraged to contact the resorts directly. We hope this clears things up and we wish you great future vacations.
Read more
jared G wrote a review Jul 2020
San Antonio, Texas77 contributions23 helpful votes
We spent a week over the summer at the Colonies. I'm not saying that I wouldn't go back, but rather that I have no desire to do so. The room was nice. The master's bed was fairly comfortable and the room of decent size. The master bathroom had a good sized shower, but the tub was in the secondary bathroom. The second room was also of decent size. The kitchen was stocked with the basics and everything worked. So the room itself was good. The amenities were not really usable. The pool was "open" but it really wasn't. You could schedule 30 minute time slots and none of the kids stuff was on. When we checked in, we were told everything would be on Wednesday, but that never happened. Instead we went to the James River and were able to swim all day for next to nothing. We utilized our pool times too, but it was all very "meh." Parking was extremely limited, and we were not given a parking pass when we checked in. The person helping us was distracted by something else going on, and we weren't directed to the second station we were supposed to visit. We got a phone call a couple days into the trip threatening to tow our car. My wife told me that the lady was very rude. Once we got that sorted out, parking was still a problem and we reported it numerous times. People were parked without the correct tags, which is why they threatened to tow us. The door bell system made things a little interesting too. We kept having people from other suites, or people visiting other suites ring our bell. The big issue... half way through our visit there is a ring on the doorbell early in the morning. I heard the door bell ring and by the time I was out of bed and dressed someone had entered the room and left. My daughter, who had been sleeping in the living area saw a man come in and leave. A few minutes later there was another ring at the door, and it was a gentleman and someone from the front office. We had been checked out 4 days early. We got it settled in the hall, and I came back in and settled my panic'd daughter. A short time later there was another ring. This time it was the cleaning staff who didn't get the message that we had not checked out. All this before most of the room was awake. Nothing in my experience leads me to feel the need to return. The room was decent and clean though.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Suzanne B, Guest Services / Front Office at The Colonies at Williamsburg
Responded Jul 21, 2020
Thank you for this very detailed review. We appreciate you taking the time to share all the positive aspects of our resort that made your stay so much more memorable. Your comments help us to continue to work on those areas that may need improvement. We apologize for the doorbell ringing a lot in your suite. Your review has been forwarded to the General Manage and we hope to share our hospitality with you again in the future.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$181 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaWilliamsburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
300
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Colonies at Williamsburg
Which popular attractions are close to The Colonies at Williamsburg?
Nearby attractions include Williamsburg Premium Outlets (0.7 miles), Patriot Plaza Premium Outlets (0.7 miles), and New World VR (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Colonies at Williamsburg?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at The Colonies at Williamsburg?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Colonies at Williamsburg?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at The Colonies at Williamsburg?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Colonies at Williamsburg?
Conveniently located restaurants include Giuseppe's Italian Restaurant, Olde Towne Pizza & Pasta, and Oceans & Ale.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Colonies at Williamsburg?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Colonies at Williamsburg?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does The Colonies at Williamsburg offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Colonies at Williamsburg?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Colonies at Williamsburg?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Colonial Williamsburg (3.4 miles), Bassett Hall (4.2 miles), and Governor's Palace (3.6 miles).