We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
718 Jamestown Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-3914
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$209
Priceline$209
Travelocity$209
Hotels.com$209
Tripadvisor$209
StayForLong
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (148)
Room & Suite (35)
Dining (17)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.8
Value
4.6
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
This Historic Century Old Estate is now an Award Winning Bed and Breakfast in Williamsburg Virginia. This Romantic Inn is one of Williamsburg's most significant historic homes and is the oldest home currently operating as an elegant B&B in the City of Williamsburg. Enjoy unique suites, beautiful sitting rooms, manicured grounds and just a 4 block walk to Colonial Williamsburg. Historic and Romance Packages available.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Wifi
Special diet menus
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Seating area
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English
676Reviews3Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 583
  • 63
  • 18
  • 7
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Haley J wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
My boyfriend and I stayed at this lovely, presidential-themed BnB on our weekend vacation to Williamsburg. The lovely couple that hosts the BnB were accommodating. They even gave us their reservation to a tavern in town we were hoping to visit but failed to make reservations to. The breakfast was phenomenal and a joy to look forward to every day. The next time we come back to Williamsburg, we will be returning to the best BnB in town. Thank you for a wonderful stay!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Teddy Roosevelt room was large with an additional seating area.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Keane, Owner at A Williamsburg White House
Responded 3 weeks ago
Haley...thanks so much for the grea review. It was truly our pleasure to meet the both of you! We love what we do and you guys just make it so easy! We try to make sure our guests have dinner reservations due to restaurant staffing shortages in the area so we are so glad you enjoyed the Tavern dining. We look forward to seeing you both again in the future! Debbie
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Josh M wrote a review Nov 2022
5 contributions
This was our second stay at the whitehouse. The first was in the springtime and we were thinking it would be beautiful in the fall. We were right. Everything was perfect. John and Debbie were friendly and hospitable just as before. The property is very clean and well maintained. The mature trees and landscaping are absolutely beautiful. We stayed in the Reagan chambers which came with great accommodations. The walk in shower was a nice size. You do have to walk up about 10 steps to get to the room, so keep that in mind. The bed was comfortable and the room has its own thermostat which is a nice feature. We enjoyed happy hour each evening with wine and baked goods provided by the innkeepers. Breakfast was served each morning and was very tasty (we loved the waffles) I rate this b&b 5 stars all the way. I can’t wait to return. Thank you, John and Debbie, for your hospitality. You’re doing a wonderful job. See you soon!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Keane, Owner at A Williamsburg White House
Responded 3 weeks ago
Josh...thanks so much for the awesome review. It was truly our pleasure to have you come and stay with us again! We are so glad we met your expectations. The Reagan is a new room since you last visited so we are so glad you enjoyed the new walk in shower and all the amenities. We hope to see you again in a different room and I will make sure the waffles are on the menu! Debbie
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephen D wrote a review Oct 2022
Boston, Massachusetts100 contributions70 helpful votes
Just a delightful stay! The rooms are themed around the various presidents-- they're immaculate and tastefully decorated, with the presidential theme never descending into kitsch. Breakfast each morning was one of the highlights of each day, and the inn itself was less than a 15-minute walk to Williamsburg. You could put this in Siberia and a stay here would still be a joy: but the proximity to Williamsburg was a real plus.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Keane, Owner at A Williamsburg White House
Responded Oct 4, 2022
Stephen...Thanks so much! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. I do have to say, I am not sure Siberia would work for me as I am truly a warm weather girl but I will take the compliment. It was an absolute pleasure meeting you. We are so blessed to have a great housekeeping staff to help us keep this great ole'place clean. We hope you get a chance to come back and see us! Thanks for chosing us, we know you have many choices! Debbie
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
david w wrote a review Sep 2022
Dinwiddie, Virginia88 contributions23 helpful votes
Beautiful old home decorated quite nicely. Good parking. Fantastic service. Comfortable and very clean. We stayed in the TDR room which was very private on the third floor. Not a problem with anything. Well landscaped. Breakfast was wonderful all three mornings, and they serve a "GOOD" coffee. We loved the late afternoon baked treats with the wine and port in the reception room. Also, the private Champagne breakfast was great with the hand painted glasses we got to keep. On a side note: Shannon did an awesome job while the owners were gone! Thank you for your hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: TDR is private, but you do have three flights of stairs.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Keane, Owner at A Williamsburg White House
Responded Sep 28, 2022
David, Thanks so much for your review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Shannon is an awesome Innkeeper and we are so glad she took good care of you! We hope you will come back and visit again! Enjoy those glasses! Debbie
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Syd G wrote a review Aug 2022
Alexandria, Virginia2 contributions
My wife and I had a wonderful visit to the Williamsburg White House B&B. Debbie and John could not have been kinder, more professional, or more welcoming. The evening wine was a nice touch, and the breakfast was absolutely delicious. REALLY comfortable bed too. One other thing that really stood out was how clean the inn is. I honestly don’t think I have ever stayed at a cleaner inn or hotel. Amazing.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Keane, Owner at A Williamsburg White House
Responded Aug 9, 2022
Thank you so much for your great review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We will let our housekeepers know that you appreciated all their hard work! We hope you get back to Wiliamsburg again in the future as we would love to see you again! Debbie
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chip F wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
A pleasant, comfortable, and personal stay near the center of Williamsburg. The house and rooms were well kept, and I was treated very personably and warmly. The excellent breakfast served is homemade and made for an enjoyable talk with other guests before starting the day.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Keane, Owner at A Williamsburg White House
Responded Aug 9, 2022
Chip..Thanks so much for the kind review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast conversation. We hope to see you again in the future! Debbie
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gina v wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Gosh, we just got back from such a good time! Accommodations were clean and inviting, we really loved all the history and presidential decor. This was only our 3rd experience with a bed and breakfast, and we totally enjoyed this place. The owners are wonderful (loved listening to John when he gets on a favorite subject!), and Debbie was also enjoyable (and a great cook!). Breakfasts were delicious, and we really enjoyed meeting some wonderful people around the table. Thank you also to Shannon, who helped with breakfast and kept our room up to snuff every day! We typically are in Williamsburg about 6-7 time a year and stay in our timeshare. But they were booked up this time, so we decided to try something a bit different. So glad we did and would definitely return again!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Keane, Owner at A Williamsburg White House
Responded Aug 2, 2022
Gina, Thanks so much for your review! I am so glad your time share was booked! LOL...You guys were awesome and we would love to have you back. I am glad you enjoyed John's conversations. He is a world of knowledge when it come to History and I am sure you got an earful! We appreciate you noticing Shannon's hard work. She is definitely a keeper and works harder than most people I know! We are glad you arrived home safely and look forward to seeing you again in the future! Debbie
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tatum s wrote a review Jul 2022
Wilmington, North Carolina1 contribution
We have visited numerous bed and breakfasts in several cities; it is our favorite way to travel! Out of all of the places we have stayed, A Williamsburg White House is HANDS DOWN our absolute favorite! Everything was beautiful, wonderfully appointed, clean, and the food was to die for! We loved the early evening wine and snacks as well! We also loved the presidential theme! If you are traveling to Williamsburg, you MUST stay at A Williamsburg White House! We plan to come back for our honeymoon!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The Reagan Room is gorgeous and spacious!!! Wonderful bathroom with beautiful walk-in shower!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Keane, Owner at A Williamsburg White House
Responded Jul 6, 2022
Tatum, Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. It is a great old Estate that loves to be filled with guests that appreciate her. We certainly hope to see you for your honeymoon. Best Wishes! Debbie
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sue D wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Our room and the common areas were beautifully furnished and adorned with many historic photos and quips. We enjoyed mulling over the titles of their fabulous collection of history books. We had an opportunity to have a private breakfast in the library but equally enjoyed meeting new friends at the dining room breakfast table. The breakfasts were fabulous! Debbie and John's attention to detail from the daily wine and sweets in the parlor to the impeccably kept gardens shows their passion for their business. Should we visit this area again, we will be back! Thank you Debbie and John!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We loved the west wing.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Keane, Owner at A Williamsburg White House
Responded Jul 5, 2022
Sue. Thank you so much for your review! If John only had more time to sit and read those books in the library! LOL...So glad you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope to see you again in the future! Debbie
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
travelmavensny wrote a review Jun 2022
New York City, New York70 contributions69 helpful votes
This B&B is set back from the road, making it an appealing alternative to some other nearby B&Bs. My room which was pleasant and spacious, but the aging, down-at-the heels bathroom needs a major update, including a drain that drains properly. The major issue however, was the miserably uncomfortable bed mattress - one of those rock hard, cheap mattresses, which robbed me of a good night's sleep. The hard, super thick foam pillows were equally miserable. I woke up in the morning with a major back and neck ache. I did not have this issue at any of the other places I stayed over a 4 day period in VA. A telling sign was the cheap "see-through" toilet paper in the bathroom. If the rest stops on the New Jersey Turnpike can provide decent toilet paper, why can't a $200/night B&B do so?
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Keane, Owner at A Williamsburg White House
Responded Jun 29, 2022
We are sorry to hear you had a terrible experiece at our Inn. We certainly wish you would have brought it to our attention while you were here! You are the first to complain about that mattress as it is actually fairly new and far from "cheap". Once again, we have many pillows and all you had to do was ask us but you never mentioned a thing during your stay. The house was built in 1904 and your bathroom is a favorite of many due to its size! I am sorry, we are not the Marriot and the charm of any old home is the small oddities you find. By the way, the toilet paper is single ply because the entire road we live on has a sewer system that was probably original to Williamsburg, so soft and fluffy would certainly not go down very well. We work very hard at pleasing our guests and all we ask is to let us know of your discontent while you are here so we can fix it instead of voicing you displeasure online after you leave when we have no change to make your stay pleasant.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$204 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
a williamsburg white house hotel williamsburg, a williamsburg white house b&b
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaWilliamsburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

A WILLIAMSBURG WHITE HOUSE - Updated 2022 Prices & B&B Reviews (VA)

Frequently Asked Questions about A Williamsburg White House
Which popular attractions are close to A Williamsburg White House?
Nearby attractions include The College of William and Mary (0.7 miles), Kimball Theatre (0.7 miles), and Williamsburg Art Gallery (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at A Williamsburg White House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at A Williamsburg White House?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at A Williamsburg White House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at A Williamsburg White House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to A Williamsburg White House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rick's Cheese Steak, Amber Ox Public House, and The Hound's Tale.
Are there any historical sites close to A Williamsburg White House?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Colonial Williamsburg (1.5 miles), Bassett Hall (1.7 miles), and Historic Jamestowne (5.0 miles).