We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Historic Powhatan Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Historic Powhatan Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,836 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,827: English reviews
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Me and my husband stayed at Powhatan Resort when we went to Bush Garden for Halloween. We arrived there around 11pm for check in and I was surprised that they had a line for check in so late at night where we had to wait about 20min. After the wait we went to our room (where the bad experience started)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JackieGehrig
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort! It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you, and we are so grateful you chose The Historic Powhatan Resort as your destination to Stay Vacationed.™ We do apologize for your experience in the first unit. The request for a fireplace is...

Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A quick getaway for our family each year to start off the Christmas season. We have always enjoyed our stay! Clean rooms and friendly staff always makes us come back each year. This year, marks our 7th year. We especially love the easy location to Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mpapas2013
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort! It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you, and we are so grateful you chose The Historic Powhatan Resort as your destination to Stay Vacationed.™ All of our Team Members here look forward to welcoming you in the future!

Denton, Texas
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We selected this resort for a weekend getaway with family to enjoy holiday in the park at Williamsburg with our grandkids. We were a bit skeptical at first as we reserved a two bedroom stay for under $125/night. We had seven people...four adults and three kids, and all were just fine in our two bedroom suite. This is a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarkMM55
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! At Diamond Resorts International®, it is our goal to provide you with Affordable Luxury and Priceless Memories, and it seems like we were successful based on your review. We hope to welcome you and your family back to The Historic Powhatan Resort in the future!

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

The resort was fine. But if you give them your contact information, you'll get non-stop phone calls and emails soliciting diamond resorts timeshares. This ruined everything nice I remember about the resort.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 142Wizard
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed over thanksgiving, was a xmas gift to us from relative. The property was beautiful and very clean and comfortable. We felt obligated to hear sales pitch for property time share . It was a horrible 2hr and 5 minutes. The sales person (Jennifer) did not accept that we did not and could not afford to buy into time share...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

• Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort! It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you, and we are so grateful you chose The Historic Powhatan Resort as your destination to Stay Vacationed.™ All of our Team Members here look forward to welcoming you in the future!

Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

This resort was absolutely amazing! we had an updated 4 bedroom suite. I would recommend these suites for a better experience. The wifi is not the best as the service was very spotty. The location is close to everything we needed. I would book directly through their website, as going through a third party like VRBO can be a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank islandsuga
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort! It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you, and we are so grateful you chose The Historic Powhatan Resort as your destination to Stay Vacationed.™ All of our Team Members here look forward to welcoming you in the future!

Lakeland, FL
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my first stay at a Diamond resort and I was completely blown away by our accommodations! I called an hour prior to check-in and asked for a second floor updated unit. I was courteously told absolutely, and that I could even check in early. Upon arrival, I was very impressed with the pristine landscaping. Everything was absolutely gorgeous!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FLLovestoroam
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort! It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you, and we are so grateful you chose The Historic Powhatan Resort as your destination to Stay Vacationed.™ All of our Team Members here look forward to welcoming you in the future!

Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed At this resort over thanksgiving and the following weekend. Great accommodations and surroundings to walk. Great central location. Units are veery cozy. Restaurant was an unexpected treat on thanksgiving dinner - they had a buffet available.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Scott A
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort! It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you, and we are so grateful you chose The Historic Powhatan Resort as your destination to Stay Vacationed.™ All of our Team Members here look forward to welcoming you in the future!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Let me start off by saying we are Diamond owners. This is a wonderful resort. We did however get the not updated rooms. Carpet was below average, furniture other than the bed was not wonderful. TV in master suite was a 19" tube? ?? No tv at all in small bedroom. The wifi was terrible. No HBO just standard cable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mailman511
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! At Diamond Resorts International®, it is our goal to provide you with Affordable Luxury and Priceless Memories. We are in the middle of a 7 year renovation plan. We have completed 300 out of 845 units and are about to begin another 88 in December. Our goal is to continue to make the needed renovations...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I needed a room for one night for my kids and I to sleep (and only sleep) before going to Jamestown the next morning. I arrived at 10:30pm with two young children already sleeping in the car. When I walked in, the lobby was full completely filled with people and a long line to check in. I was told by...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Laura J
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,142 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (868)
Viewed
Room/Suite (278)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (125)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Other (326)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (261)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Children's Pool (2)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (1)
Viewed
Pool (4)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Condo (148)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.9 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 79 in Williamsburg
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
3.1 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
1.5 mi away
Greensprings Vacation Resort
Greensprings Vacation Resort
#27 of 79 in Williamsburg
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Little Piece of American HistoryVirginia is one of the best places to visit if you are a history buff and want to learn more about the birth of a nation and see relics from days gone by. Williamsburg is a 170-acre historic town that has been restored to its original English condition. The Historic Powhatan Resort offers guests a little piece of colonial history with the restored Manor House (circa 1735). Nestled among 256 acres of beautiful woodland, this resort is loaded with fun things to see and do, and learn a little bit of American history. Rest, Relaxation, and a Whole Lot MoreIf you are looking for a resort that has all kinds of things to do, then you need look no further than The Historic Powhatan Resort. Here you can enjoy both indoor and outdoor swimming pools, tennis courts, an outdoor pavilion, and even a playground for the kids. Each three-bedroom suite has a fully equipped kitchen with a two-burner stovetop, a private balcony and a loft for the ultimate in relaxing vacations.If you are looking for a great meal, you can find it at The Historic Powhatan Bar & Grille, where you will find a casual family dining atmosphere for both breakfast and dinner. Open seven days a week, The Historic Powhatan Bar &Grille has an outdoor patio where you can enjoy a nice, cold drink while watching the peaceful pond (weather permitting, of course). During the breakfast buffet, enjoy being entertained by the resort's very own "first lady", Martha Washington, who will regale guests of all ages with amusing and entertaining stories.Whether you are looking for rest and relaxation, or fun and excitement, you can have it all at The Historic Powhatan Resort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Historic Powhatan Resort

Address: 3601 Ironbound Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188-2442
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Price Range: $81 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Historic Powhatan Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 845
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your The Historic Powhatan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Historic Powhatan Hotel Williamsburg
Historic Powhatan Hotel
Sunterra Powhatan Plantation
Powhatan Plantation Williamsburg Va
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Historic Powhatan Resort staff and other travelers.
46 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (46)

Questions? Get answers from The Historic Powhatan Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“ask for updated suites”
 of 5 bubbles islandsuga, 1 week ago | Read review
“All ground floor units have a private deck; not all upper units have balconies.”
 of 5 bubbles debhateswinter, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Get an upper unit if you can”
 of 5 bubbles havanesehouse, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for a unit that has been renovated.”
 of 5 bubbles pattykay13, Nov 2, 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor for handcap.”
 of 5 bubbles kc2cp, Nov 1, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay