We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Historic Powhatan Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Historic Powhatan Resort
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,918 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,908: English reviews
Start your review of The Historic Powhatan Resort
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

BEWARE! We own a time share in Aruba, and needed to use up our week so we thought we'd stay at this resort with our family to visit our daughter and extended family for Easter. We did ask for a newer unit as we read all the reviews, and they said the newer units are very nice. Unfortunately we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly V
Amanda_Foley, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort! It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you, and we are so grateful you chose The Historic Powhatan Resort as your destination to Stay Vacationed.™ Please know that we will be looking into everything you outlined here regarding our indoor pool....

ny-sean
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great place to stay while visiting Williamsburg; we had a two bedroom with full kitchen; living room and two bath unit on first floor. Plenty of room to relax. Unit was very clean and well decorated. Grounds were beautiful; there was so much to do at resort; you do not need to be at the parks everyday. We played mini...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ny-sean
Amanda_Foley, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

The biggest compliment we can receive is a guest who wants to return! Thank you for sharing your feedback and for choosing to spend your hard-earned vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort. We will definitely make sure to share your feedback with our team here!

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The resort accommodations were acceptable and a level of quality consistent with their posted rates. However, since our stay, my wife and I have been bombarded on our cell phones by the most obnoxious, persistent sales calls, trying to get us to accept some new and wonderful promotion from Diamond resorts. They mask the number from which the call so...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lkf
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort! It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you, and we are so grateful you chose The Historic Powhatan Resort as your destination to Stay Vacationed.™ We are very sorry if our team members have annoyed you via the phone. That is...

East Concord, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were in Florida on spring break, and drove up to Williamsburg and stayed at the Historic Powhatan Resort for two days on our way home. We did go a little out of our way to stay here (we live in NY), but as Diamond Owners, we stayed here to use up some points that were expiring. As Diamond Owners,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

The biggest compliment we can receive is a guest who wants to return! Thank you for sharing your feedback and for choosing to spend your hard-earned vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort. We will definitely make sure to share your feedback with our team here!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The service at check in was super nice and easy. The room for two of us was bigger than our apartment at home, full kitchen with dishwasher fridge and oven, washer dryer, two bathrooms and a private deck. Our favorite part was the Rec center - tennis courts, mini golf, fitness center and super easy to rent equipment for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allegra C
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

The biggest compliment we can receive is a guest who wants to return! Thank you for sharing your feedback and for choosing to spend your hard-earned vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort. We will definitely make sure to share your feedback with our team here!

Merritt Island, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our spacious 2bd town home. Balcony was a bonus. Enjoyed dinner @ the restaurant. Initial check in was easy, but then we had to make it thru "concierge." Dear Lord! They promise you EVERYTHING just to get you to sign up for their presentation. Oh, & they save your presentation seats by asking for $20!!! No thanks,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julezvm
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort! It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you, and we are so grateful you chose The Historic Powhatan Resort as your destination to Stay Vacationed.™ All of our Team Members here look forward to welcoming you in the future!

Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this resort about 10 years ago. New owners remodeled and updated resort. We got the reservation through RCI and requested and got a quiet top floor unit away from the pool. Two bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, fireplace, remodeled, new furniture. Three wall mounted flat screen TVs. Kitchen had dishwasher and microwave. Also washer/dryer in unit. Wifi was excellent....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pnemiller
Amanda_Foley, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort! It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you, and we are so grateful you chose The Historic Powhatan Resort as your destination to Stay Vacationed.™ All of our Team Members here look forward to welcoming you in the future!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After a tiring 8h drive with a lot of traffic and delays we finally arrived! I am Very impressed by the resort! The suites are amazing!!! The check was quick and kids were excited by how amazing the resort looks. The cookies were delicious.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fahima B
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! At Diamond Resorts International®, it is our goal to provide you with Affordable Luxury and Priceless Memories, and it seems like we were successful based on your review. We hope to welcome you and your family back to The Historic Powhatan Resort in the future!

Apex, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

We own at Powhatan resort, and have enjoyed many short vacations there over the course of the last 17 years. The condo units have been, by and large, very nice, with some really good and a few not quite (though with most or all upgraded now, all have been good lately). The units are spacious, the furnishings are good, and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RobertBofApex
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! At Diamond Resorts International®, it is our goal to provide you with Affordable Luxury and Priceless Memories, and it seems like we were successful based on your review. We hope to welcome you and your family back to The Historic Powhatan Resort in the future!

Sevierville, Tennessee
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited with our family which included a 17yr old, 7yr old, and two adults. Our room was a 2 bedroom suite. The indoor pool was awesome for the kids since the outdoor pool was closed since it was too cold. The location is perfect for traveling to Williamsburg, Yorktown, and Jamestown. Very nice friendly staff! Very close to Food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GLucas759
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

• Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort! It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you, and we are so grateful you chose The Historic Powhatan Resort as your destination to Stay Vacationed.™ All of our Team Members here look forward to welcoming you in the future!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,189 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (902)
Viewed
Room/Suite (289)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (138)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (54)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Other (334)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (261)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Children's Pool (2)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (1)
Viewed
Pool (4)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Condo (148)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
3.0 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
3.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 74 in Williamsburg
1,023 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wedmore Place
Wedmore Place
#14 of 74 in Williamsburg
362 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Little Piece of American HistoryVirginia is one of the best places to visit if you are a history buff and want to learn more about the birth of a nation and see relics from days gone by. Williamsburg is a 170-acre historic town that has been restored to its original English condition. The Historic Powhatan Resort offers guests a little piece of colonial history with the restored Manor House (circa 1735). Nestled among 256 acres of beautiful woodland, this resort is loaded with fun things to see and do, and learn a little bit of American history. Rest, Relaxation, and a Whole Lot MoreIf you are looking for a resort that has all kinds of things to do, then you need look no further than The Historic Powhatan Resort. Here you can enjoy both indoor and outdoor swimming pools, tennis courts, an outdoor pavilion, and even a playground for the kids. Each three-bedroom suite has a fully equipped kitchen with a two-burner stovetop, a private balcony and a loft for the ultimate in relaxing vacations.If you are looking for a great meal, you can find it at The Historic Powhatan Bar & Grille, where you will find a casual family dining atmosphere for both breakfast and dinner. Open seven days a week, The Historic Powhatan Bar &Grille has an outdoor patio where you can enjoy a nice, cold drink while watching the peaceful pond (weather permitting, of course). During the breakfast buffet, enjoy being entertained by the resort's very own "first lady", Martha Washington, who will regale guests of all ages with amusing and entertaining stories.Whether you are looking for rest and relaxation, or fun and excitement, you can have it all at The Historic Powhatan Resort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Historic Powhatan Resort

Address: 3601 Ironbound Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188-2442
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Price Range: $106 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Historic Powhatan Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 845
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Historic Powhatan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Historic Powhatan Hotel Williamsburg
Historic Powhatan Hotel
Sunterra Powhatan Plantation
Powhatan Plantation Williamsburg Va
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Historic Powhatan Resort staff and other travelers.
54 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (54)

Questions? Get answers from The Historic Powhatan Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Go to another resort.”
lkf, 1 week ago | Read review
“These are older units and sound from above can be noticed... ask for a 2nd floor to avoid elephants.”
RobertBofApex, 1 week ago | Read review
“Family friendly with great Williamsburg location.”
252jdb, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“This trip was feb 2016. The three bedroom is no more than a two bedroom with the attic, which has no windows. Don,t like that at all.”
shirleyrobertmoore, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Consider staying elsewhere until they change their timeshare gimmicks.”
joshuah480, Mar 17, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question