We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Historic Powhatan Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Historic Powhatan Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,833 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,824: English reviews
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The resort was fine. But if you give them your contact information, you'll get non-stop phone calls and emails soliciting diamond resorts timeshares. This ruined everything nice I remember about the resort.

Helpful?
Thank 142Wizard
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed over thanksgiving, was a xmas gift to us from relative. The property was beautiful and very clean and comfortable. We felt obligated to hear sales pitch for property time share . It was a horrible 2hr and 5 minutes. The sales person (Jennifer) did not accept that we did not and could not afford to buy into time share... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helen S
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

• Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort! It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you, and we are so grateful you chose The Historic Powhatan Resort as your destination to Stay Vacationed.™ All of our Team Members here look forward to welcoming you in the future! More 

Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This resort was absolutely amazing! we had an updated 4 bedroom suite. I would recommend these suites for a better experience. The wifi is not the best as the service was very spotty. The location is close to everything we needed. I would book directly through their website, as going through a third party like VRBO can be a lot... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank islandsuga
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort! It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you, and we are so grateful you chose The Historic Powhatan Resort as your destination to Stay Vacationed.™ All of our Team Members here look forward to welcoming you in the future! More 

Lakeland, FL
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my first stay at a Diamond resort and I was completely blown away by our accommodations! I called an hour prior to check-in and asked for a second floor updated unit. I was courteously told absolutely, and that I could even check in early. Upon arrival, I was very impressed with the pristine landscaping. Everything was absolutely gorgeous!... More 

Helpful?
Thank FLLovestoroam
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort! It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you, and we are so grateful you chose The Historic Powhatan Resort as your destination to Stay Vacationed.™ All of our Team Members here look forward to welcoming you in the future! More 

Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed At this resort over thanksgiving and the following weekend. Great accommodations and surroundings to walk. Great central location. Units are veery cozy. Restaurant was an unexpected treat on thanksgiving dinner - they had a buffet available.

Helpful?
1 Thank Scott A
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort! It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you, and we are so grateful you chose The Historic Powhatan Resort as your destination to Stay Vacationed.™ All of our Team Members here look forward to welcoming you in the future! More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Let me start off by saying we are Diamond owners. This is a wonderful resort. We did however get the not updated rooms. Carpet was below average, furniture other than the bed was not wonderful. TV in master suite was a 19" tube? ?? No tv at all in small bedroom. The wifi was terrible. No HBO just standard cable.... More 

Helpful?
Thank mailman511
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! At Diamond Resorts International®, it is our goal to provide you with Affordable Luxury and Priceless Memories. We are in the middle of a 7 year renovation plan. We have completed 300 out of 845 units and are about to begin another 88 in December. Our goal is to continue to make the needed renovations... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

I needed a room for one night for my kids and I to sleep (and only sleep) before going to Jamestown the next morning. I arrived at 10:30pm with two young children already sleeping in the car. When I walked in, the lobby was full completely filled with people and a long line to check in. I was told by... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Laura J

Travelers are raving about these Williamsburg hotels

Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

My family and I have stayed at the Historic Powhatan Resort several times over the years, and I can say that it used to be better, in my opinion. It is still comfortable for a week long stay; however, we saw some things that made the stay a little less enjoyable. First - the positives - the location is a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank GaryvM
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! At Diamond Resorts International®, it is our goal to provide you with Affordable Luxury and Priceless Memories, and it seems like we were successful based on your review. We hope to welcome you and your family back to The Historic Powhatan Resort in the future! More 

Forest, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The grounds are beautiful, the staff is super friendly and professional (at all costs say no to the presentation and the Visa gift card! Why waste your time listening to a high pressure sales pitch when you're there to enjoy Colonial Williamsburg?!). The units are spacious and clean but the living room furniture, cabinetry and bathroom fixtures need updating badly.... More 

Helpful?
Thank TallyHoMexico
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort! It is our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you, and we are so grateful you chose The Historic Powhatan Resort as your destination to Stay Vacationed.™ All of our Team Members here look forward to welcoming you in the future! More 

Roanoke, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed here two years In a row for a weekend girls and kids trip. The resort has a nice layout with a cute coffee shop on grounds. There was plenty of space for everybody to spread out. Convenient to everything

Helpful?
Thank Richelle F
KevJohnson2016, General Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review

The biggest compliment we can receive is a guest who wants to return! Thank you for sharing your feedback and for choosing to spend your hard-earned vacation at The Historic Powhatan Resort. We will definitely make sure to share your feedback with our team here! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,142 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (868)
Viewed
Room/Suite (278)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (125)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Other (326)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (261)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Children's Pool (2)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (1)
Viewed
Pool (4)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Condo (148)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.9 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 79 in Williamsburg
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
3.1 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
1.5 mi away
Greensprings Vacation Resort
Greensprings Vacation Resort
#28 of 79 in Williamsburg
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Little Piece of American HistoryVirginia is one of the best places to visit if you are a history buff and want to learn more about the birth of a nation and see relics from days gone by. Williamsburg is a 170-acre historic town that has been restored to its original English condition. The Historic Powhatan Resort offers guests a little piece of colonial history with the restored Manor House (circa 1735). Nestled among 256 acres of beautiful woodland, this resort is loaded with fun things to see and do, and learn a little bit of American history. Rest, Relaxation, and a Whole Lot MoreIf you are looking for a resort that has all kinds of things to do, then you need look no further than The Historic Powhatan Resort. Here you can enjoy both indoor and outdoor swimming pools, tennis courts, an outdoor pavilion, and even a playground for the kids. Each three-bedroom suite has a fully equipped kitchen with a two-burner stovetop, a private balcony and a loft for the ultimate in relaxing vacations.If you are looking for a great meal, you can find it at The Historic Powhatan Bar & Grille, where you will find a casual family dining atmosphere for both breakfast and dinner. Open seven days a week, The Historic Powhatan Bar &Grille has an outdoor patio where you can enjoy a nice, cold drink while watching the peaceful pond (weather permitting, of course). During the breakfast buffet, enjoy being entertained by the resort's very own "first lady", Martha Washington, who will regale guests of all ages with amusing and entertaining stories.Whether you are looking for rest and relaxation, or fun and excitement, you can have it all at The Historic Powhatan Resort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Historic Powhatan Resort

Address: 3601 Ironbound Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188-2442
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Price Range: $82 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Historic Powhatan Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 845
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Historic Powhatan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Historic Powhatan Hotel Williamsburg
Historic Powhatan Hotel
Sunterra Powhatan Plantation
Powhatan Plantation Williamsburg Va
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Historic Powhatan Resort staff and other travelers.
46 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (46)

Questions? Get answers from The Historic Powhatan Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“ask for updated suites”
 of 5 bubbles islandsuga, 1 week ago | Read review
“All ground floor units have a private deck; not all upper units have balconies.”
 of 5 bubbles debhateswinter, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Get an upper unit if you can”
 of 5 bubbles havanesehouse, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for a unit that has been renovated.”
 of 5 bubbles pattykay13, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Ground floor for handcap.”
 of 5 bubbles kc2cp, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay