We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
136 Francis St E, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Fall Getaway Package
$599
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/22
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
Official Hotel$599
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (504)
360
Panoramas (34)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 01/12/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Williamsburg Inn
Updated 01/12/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 74 hotels in Williamsburg
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.8
Value
4.4
Travelers' Choice
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Golf course
Kids stay free
Electric vehicle charging station
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
Tennis court
Walking tours
Babysitting
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Butler service
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Fall Getaway Package
1210Reviews33Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,016
  • 101
  • 47
  • 23
  • 23
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
DEDUGAN wrote a review Sep 21
Surf City, New Jersey27 contributions28 helpful votes
Forbes 5 star my butt. More like 1 star. Our check in experience was awful. Arrived about 12:30, our room wasn’t ready so I asked if another was available, the old guy at check in kept asking (10 times minimum) if I would take “any room” in the hotel. I thought this was odd and said no, but any equivalent room in the main building would be ok. I got the “sold out, 4 weddings, check in time is 4 pm, etc” excuses. Ok. So we went to the golf course restaurant to have lunch and wait. At that lunch I was served chicken that was so under-cooked it was red inside, and along with the pulled pork there was a 5 ounce glob of 100% solid fat, about the size of 3 golf balls. It was disgusting. Back to retry check in and the same old guy kept repeating “would I take any available room?” No. He said he would get a manager. She arrived about 10 minutes later and explained that the person in the room had checked out late (1:30) and the room was being cleaned and she suggested it was probably best to wait until it was ready because it was away from the maddening crowd of peoples at the weddings. At least now I got an explanation. We finally got in about 3:30. I feel that the old guy was trying to hustle me out of the expensive room into a less desirable room, but at the expensive room price; which, if correct was dishonest. Ok, bad lunch and bad check in. Not a good start. On this trip we and 4 lunches and 4 dinners, 2 and 2 at your hotel. Of the 8 dining experiences, the 4 at your hotel were the worst 4 of the 8. It was because of routinely slow service (4 weddings?). At the brunch, service was very slow, but when we tried to pay the bill your machines wouldn’t accept credit card payments. We finally just charged to our rooms but it took 20 minutes and 4 questions of various people before we were told what was going on. I could go on but, I’ve already wasted enough time. Our experience was a terrible experience at your hotel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Leslie Shotwell, General Manager at Williamsburg Inn
Responded 6 days ago
Mr. Dugan, I offer my sincere apologies for the problems that you experienced with your check in as well as your meals here at the hotel. While we do our best to accommodate all guests who arrive earlier than 4pm, we are not always able to do so. I have shared your comments regarding your meals with our food and beverage team so that we can correct these problems that you encountered during your visit with us. In addition, I would very much like to speak with you directly if you would allow me the opportunity to do so. Best regards, Leslie Shotwell
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jdf3361 wrote a review Oct 2020
Fukuoka, Japan116 contributions146 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
I’ve just completed a four night stay at the Inn. Like the rest of the world, my travels have been significantly reduced due to the virus. Since Europe was no longer an option, and after being home bound for nine months I looked for a few days of rest in either Palm Beach or in Williamsburg. I chose Williamsburg as I had traveled here previously and knew that the Inn would be taking exceptional precautions. The entire community of this historic district was operating at limited capacity and while that was disappointing, the crowds were also deminimis. I booked a package at the Inn that included tickets and daily breakfast. From the moment that I drove up and was greeted by a gracious bellman I felt as though I was returning to a friend’s home. Check in was efficient and with the aid of my bellman I arrived in an exceptionally large and luxurious room that overlooked the golf course. The room, as expected, was impeccably maintained and exceptionally nice - all of the necessary amenities with the little added plus of complimentary bottled water and in-room coffee maker. Breakfast was served either on the terrace or a small dining room, was excellent with a great number of options, and the service was attentive without being intrusive. The limited dining options at the Inn, while disappointing, were through an abundance of precaution by the management. I both respected and appreciated that this fabulous hotel was still operating under the new world conditions that we now experience. I have been a donor to the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation for forty years and seeing how admirably the Inn was handling the pandemic made the experience even more rewarding and made me proud to say that I support Colonial Williamsburg. It was kind of so many staff members to take the time to say “thank you” for being there. I look forward to my next visit to the Williamsburg Inn and say to the staff “job well done” despite the most challenging time of our lives. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
6 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Leslie Shotwell Noble, General Manager at Williamsburg Inn
Responded Nov 16, 2020
How do I begin to thank you for your very thoughtful review of your time at the Williamsburg Inn. First, thank you for choosing us as your first trip after your time of being home bound. We are honored to know that you were sure that we would be taking the precautions needed to keep you safe during these difficult times. I am so glad that we made you feel as though you returning to a friend's home and that you were comfortable in your room and enjoyed your meals with us. Thank you for your heartfelt "job well done" especially during these very challenging times. Thank you for your many years of support to Colonial Williamsburg and we look forward to welcoming you home on your next visit to Virginia. Best regards, Leslie Shotwell Noble General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Keith Standley wrote a review Sep 19
2 contributions
Excellent in every way. From the moment you arrive until they all bid you farewell. We having been staying there for many years and the whole staff have become like family. It is always bittersweet when we have to go home.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from paula kipp, Guest Services / Front Office at Williamsburg Inn
Responded yesterday
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Williamsburg Inn through Trip Advisor. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a valued guest, your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sara D wrote a review Sep 19
Dallas, Texas1 contribution
Our room was large and comfortable, the staff friendly and it was exceptionally convenient to be able to walk through Colonial Williamsburg and come back to the hotel to relax. The Terrace Room was delicious - be sure to make a reservation in advance.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from paula kipp, Guest Services / Front Office at Williamsburg Inn
Responded yesterday
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Williamsburg Inn through Trip Advisor. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a valued guest, your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Harold S wrote a review Sep 18
1 contribution
My wife and I stayed at the Williamsburg Inn and it is by far the best 5 Star hotel we have ever stayed at, and we have been to many 5 star resorts. The hotel and the room we stayed in was beautiful. Everyone from the housekeepers, to the concierge, and bellmen were extremely helpful. We learned so much from Enid, the concierge that helped us plan our stay. She is a native of Williamsburg and her father is the Master Silversmith at Colonial Williamsburg. What a small town! She was genuine and able to tell us so many things about the town. We have never experienced customer service at this level at any other 5 star hotel. Highly recommend the Williamsburg Inn. Cannot say enough good things about the service.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from paula kipp, Guest Services / Front Office at Williamsburg Inn
Responded yesterday
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Williamsburg Inn through Trip Advisor. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a valued guest, your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marilyn P wrote a review Sep 14
Parsippany, New Jersey140 contributions52 helpful votes
We decided to spend my 72nd birthday at Colonial Williamsburg. We could not afford to stay at the Williamsburg Inn so we picked the Woodlands Hotel near the Visitors Center. August/September are very hot & humid in Virginia. We had a lovely dinner at the Inn restaurant. Our server was Sydney. We had purchased individual Colonial Williamsburg Yearly Pass. We received a nice discount on our meal. Everything was served in an elegant manner. The prices were very expensive. But, we knew that before we arrived at the restaurant. My husband had Pork Tenderloin. He said it was delicious. I had the vegetarian pasta meal. It was excellent. To make meals affordable, we make sure to limit the meal. We always bring leftovers back to our hotel room that always have a refrigerator. This makes sense for us. We had enough for a lunch. It was fun to walk around this beautiful hotel. There were pictures of former Presidents visiting the Inn. We even saw the pictures of Queen Elizabeth2 ‘s visiting in the 1950’s. Our only complaint at the Inn was that there wasn’t beer on Tap. My husband & I always share a beer at dinner
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from paula kipp, Guest Services / Front Office at Williamsburg Inn
Responded yesterday
Thank you for your outstanding review! I'm sorry about the bar not having beer on tap. Happy Birthday to you!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Norms_Transportation wrote a review Sep 5
Charlottesville, Virginia71 contributions
This is a fantastic 5-star hotel, top notch service, excellent food, delightful, friendly, helpful, professional staff and an overall lovely experience! The wife and I are already planning our next trip there!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from paula kipp, Guest Services / Front Office at Williamsburg Inn
Responded yesterday
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Williamsburg Inn through Trip Advisor. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a valued guest, your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kate wrote a review Sep 4
7 contributions3 helpful votes
I stayed at the Williamsburg Inn in August 2022. My mother and two elementary-aged children stayed in a Junior Suite for 4 nights. It was our first time staying here, and we absolutely loved it. Our suite was very clean. It was beautifully furnished. The bathroom was large with a nice marble shower, double sinks and a nice clean soaker tub. There were multiple highlights of the hotel in addition to the lovely room: (1) The service. Everyone from the housekeepers, to the concierge, to the bellmen were extremely courteous, helpful and efficient. My mother is elderly and had trouble walking to some of the sites, and the bellmen would drive us to and from our destinations near the grounds. The concierges assisted with purchasing event tickets and made everything so easy. The staff made our stay absolutely wonderful. (2) The pools. The hotel shares a pool complex with two other "sister" hotels that are easily accessible. One pool is "quiet" and intended for adults. The main pool we used was a nice sized saltwater pool perfect for families. There was also an indoor pool with a large jacuzzi that my kids also enjoyed. It was great to get back from a long day of sightseeing in Colonial Williamsburg or Busch Gardens and spend some time unwinding at the pool. (3) The location. The location is right near Colonial Williamsburg and it is so easy to go for a walk around the town and access attractions. (4) Turndown service. Each night, housekeeping came to turndown our room. This included setting up the sofabed my children were sleeping on with their stuffed animals, as well as turndown for the king bed with our slippers on either side and a complimentary bottle of either Baileys or amaretto and two chocolates. It was such a special touch. I have stayed in 5-star hotels in Rome, Paris, Vegas, Chicago, NYC, Atlanta, Philadelphia and D.C. The Williamsburg Inn, however, beats them all with the exceptional service.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Hotel can be a bit of a maze, so if walking is an issue for you, request a room near the elevator.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from paula kipp, Guest Services / Front Office at Williamsburg Inn
Responded yesterday
Thank you for the outstanding review! We cant wait to welcome you back to Williamsburg!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nowakthad wrote a review Aug 2022
Virginia Beach, Virginia1 contribution
The location is very easy to get to. There is so much to do in Colonial Williamsburg as well being very historical and interesting. The shopping is great and the local restaurants where we ate at were all terrific. And, of course the close proximity to Busch Gardens is certainly a bonus! We stayed at the Williamsburg Inn for our Anniversary. The Staff was kind and welcoming. The food was exceptional, the Hotel is wonderful with a great pool that our kids and grandkids loved. And, the Golden Horseshoe Golf Club was spectacular! Cheers Williamsburg Inn. YOU ROCKED IT. See you next year!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from paula kipp, Guest Services / Front Office at Williamsburg Inn
Responded yesterday
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Williamsburg Inn through Trip Advisor. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a valued guest, your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service. Happy anniversary.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JMWoodmiller wrote a review Aug 2022
Hawthorne, New Jersey1 contribution1 helpful vote
Splurge for the Williamsburg Inn, and get a good room. It is worth every penny. Absolutely amazing rooms, service, grounds, and location. We slept so well we forgot we were in a hotel each night. Go for the gusto and book this place. Just do it.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from paula kipp, Guest Services / Front Office at Williamsburg Inn
Responded yesterday
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Williamsburg Inn through Trip Advisor. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a valued guest, your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$554 - $742 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
williamsburg inn-colonial williamsburg hotel williamsburg, williamsburg hotel
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaWilliamsburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
62
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Williamsburg Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Williamsburg Inn?
Nearby attractions include Colonial Williamsburg Musket Range (0.2 miles), R. Charlton Coffeehouse (0.3 miles), and Colonial Williamsburg Magazine (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Williamsburg Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Williamsburg Inn?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Williamsburg Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Williamsburg Inn?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Williamsburg Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include King's Arms Tavern Dining-Colonial Williamsburg, Shields Tavern, and Josiah Chowning's Tavern.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Williamsburg Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Williamsburg Inn have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Williamsburg Inn offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Williamsburg Inn?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Williamsburg Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Williamsburg Inn offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.