We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Fort Magruder Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Fort Magruder Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

378 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 378: English reviews
Eufaula, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Arrived at this facility for a conference but found that the rooms were both musty and poorly laid out. Bathroom was extremely small. Rooms were musty and there was mold in the bathroom. Key cards kept losing their information and WiFi authentication needed to be reset many times. Property was undergoing a long needed renovation but rooms provided were sub-standard.... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dighistory
Joseph G, Front Office Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Fort Magruder Hotel & Conference Center to hold your conference. We appreciate your recent feedback about your visit to the property. I apologize that you encountered some issues during your stay. Please know that we are working diligently with our staff to improve service and to give our guest the best experience possible. On... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Part of the hotel looks great. The staff is friendly and they do their best to keep everything clean and in order. My toilet did not work so well in my room it sort of only flushed good at night. Weird. Pool and Hot tub made this the best stay.

Helpful?
Thank Brenda G
Joseph G, Front Office Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brenda G, Thank you for choosing Fort Magruder Hotel & Conference for your travel needs. I want to sincerely thank you for leaving such a nice review of our staff and hotel. With renovations currently going on, we do our best to make sure each and every guest feels at home when they stay with us. I will make... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel has mold, i have two kida with asthma no way i was staying here! It stinks in here, soon as I entered the room it felt like bugs were crawling on me, the room was dusty dirty! I checked out within 15 minutes I will never ever book this hotel again...beware of this the mold! If I could... More 

Helpful?
Thank Johnetta M
Joseph G, Front Office Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Johnetta M, Thank you for staying with us at Fort Magruder Hotel & Conference Center. It saddens me to hear about the issues you encountered during your stay. I have taken your concerns to the appropriate departments to ensure these issues don't happen to any other guest. Thank you for letting us know. I am not sure if you... More 

Dysart, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel a few years back and liked it so much we rebooked, what a mistake that was. The Hotel is under renovation and the information that they have posted on their website had a tiny little disclaimer.... so small as to be virtually undetectable. Consequently the main lobby, kitchen ,restaurant and half the parking are closed. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ziggy W
Joseph G, Front Office Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ziggy, Thank you for choosing Fort Magruder Hotel & Conference Center during your travels to Williamsburg Va. I am very sorry to hear that you had and item come up missing during your stay. I have spoken with the Housekeeping Executive to make sure there are policies put in place to ensure this will not happen again. I apologize... More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

They are still finishing up their renovations so I guess that is why the rooms were so cheap. The place was not lacking in customers. They have some free coffee downstairs in the morning and that was nice. For the price, it seems to be a really good deal. Everything seemed to be maintained. The rooms had some updated bathrooms.... More 

Helpful?
Thank BabHou228
Joseph G, Front Office Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Fort Magruder Hotel & Conference Center. I would also like to thank you for such a kind review of our hotel. It really means a lot to us when guest are able to enjoy the little things because of our current renovation going on. I will pass along your comments about the bathroom to... More 

Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location about a mile from Colonial Williamsburg and halfway between Jamestown and Yorktown historical sites. They are currently renovating the dining area and you can tell they are improving the hotel in other areas. There was a monkey house smell in the hallway to the lobby (which was in a temporary location, just a room), other than that it... More 

Helpful?
Thank lapearl521
Joseph G, Front Office Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us at Fort Magruder Hotel & Conference Center. Thank you also for leaving such a kind review of our hotel. I apologize that you were not made aware of breakfast not being available during your stay. We do now offer complimentary coffee and tea in the morning next door to our temporary lobby.... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We checked in on Saturday August 20, 2016 and checked right back out within 10 minutes. Putting aside the fact the hotel is being renovated (no big deal), the hotel is filthy, stinks of mold and there was a bucket against the wall collecting dripping water. (I'm assuming from an a/c unit). For the 3 minutes we were actually in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia M
Joseph G, Front Office Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alicia, Thank you for staying at Fort Magruder Hotel & Conference Center. It saddens me to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay with us. I will be speaking with our housekeeping department about your concerns to make sure rooms are thoroughly cleaned and inspected to prevent this from happening with our future guest. I would really... More 

Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not sure of if things changed or if other reviewers had unreasonable expectations. For $122./nite we were very pleased with our stay. The hotel was packed with William & Mry move in families. The help was courteous, the room was clean and of an average size, the gym was GREAT. We will be back.

Helpful?
Thank calebccastro
Joseph G, Front Office Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us at Fort Magruder Hotel & Conference Center. Also, thank you so much for leaving such as nice review of our property. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us along with our staff! Thank you again for letting us know about your experience, and I hope that... More 

Finksburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile

We were just there For the weekend of Aug 13th. Our family had a total of 4 rooms. One room took hours to get into because lock would not work. They would re-key 4 times! Then finally sent mechanic who finally replaced the lock. Total time was 4hours. Then we had one member of our family have $150 taken out... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank V6105NAjosephc
Joseph G, Front Office Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Fort Magruder Hotel & Conference Center for your travel needs. I am very disappointed to hear about the issues you encountered during your stay. Please know that the issues you experienced are not acceptable and I will be discussing these things with the housekeeping and engineering department to prevent them from happening to our... More 

Verona, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2016

We stayed here overnight after going to bush gardens. It is very close and was nice to relax after a long day at the park. We ended up staying longer than expected at Bush Gardens so did not get to use the pool. Currently it is undergoing renovations so the office area is an old room. We had a king... More 

Helpful?
Thank twister2223
Joseph G, Front Office Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Fort Magruder Hotel & Conference Center for your travel needs. I am so happy to hear that you had and enjoyable stay with us! On the other hand, it saddens me that you were not able to enjoy our wonderful pool. Hopefully next time you can experience it. Our housekeeping department will be so... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

161 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (134)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)
0.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn Historic
Rodeway Inn Historic
#38 of 79 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
1.3 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#42 of 79 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#41 of 79 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Historic District
Clarion Hotel Historic District
#60 of 79 in Williamsburg
3.0 of 5 stars 315 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Fort Magruder Hotel and Conference Center is beautifully set in a wooded area and landscaped around the site of an original redoubt from the Battle of Williamsburg of 1862. The Hotel is conveniently located only minutes away from Historic downtown Colonial Williamsburg, the College of William and Mary, 2 miles away from beautiful Busch Gardens and 3 miles away from Water Country USA. The four-story hotel comprises of 303 guest rooms and Suites and 26,000 square feet of meeting/exhibit space. The hotel offer an array of features and amenities including a heated indoor pool with hot tub, Fitness Center, Complimentary Business Center, Complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet Service and Pet Friendly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fort Magruder Hotel

Address: 6945 Pocahontas Trl, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4759 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Williamsburg)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Price Range: $79 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Magruder Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Fort Magruder Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Williamsburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay