We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Fort Magruder Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Fort Magruder Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

365 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 365: English reviews
Sandefjord, Norway
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel was in poor conditioin, including rooms and hallways.. The air conditioning wasn't sufficient for Tidewater summers. Rooms felt damp. Some hotel staff were helpful, others not so much. Plumbing and electrical issues in the room were not fixed when they were reported.

Helpful?
Thank vagentlemant00
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Room was clean when we arrived towels were replaced on second night but no further cleaning was performed or offered. Bathrooms are extremely small making it very difficult to maneuver. The hotel is being remodeled. I'll skip this one for the next trip.

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
Dedham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It could be due to the renovations taking place at the hotel but I was not impressed. The check in took forever and the staff was fairly rude. It was very noisy and the beds were terrible. The sliding door on to our balcony was bolted shut with a heavy enough lock for a maximum security prison. The breakfast that... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Brian R
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My family and I reserved two rooms at this hotel for two nights. At first they couldn't even find a reservation for one of the rooms. They told us to go ahead and just stay on the one room and they would get back to us. I refused and when they finally found the second reservation they weren't even apologetic.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank nikinicole28ar
Carol S, Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fort Magruder Hotel Guest, Thank you for staying at the Fort Magruder Hotel. I apologize for the issues you had at the front desk and your rooms. Our internet company did have a company wide outage and the internet is working full speed now. We are going through a hotel wide renovation and all the issues you noted are... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hotel is being renovated and it needs it! While the rooms are dated they are fairly in good shape. The A/C didn't work well in my 1st room & I had to move to another room. Also my room was pretty noisy near the road & railroad tracks. Moving to the back of the property was much quieter then my... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jay H
Carol S, Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jay H, Thank you for staying with us at the Fort Magruder Hotel. Sorry about the inconveniences you had with the A/C and the noise from the trains . I am glad you were able to move to another room that was better. Our proximity is quite conducive to William and Mary as well as Colonial Williamsburg and Busch... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Run down too small no amenities too small lack of staff too small bad coffee management not present....rarely do I have issues with hotels, these guys just don't care obviously, stay away! There are many many hotels that are available in the area and this one could care less about competing for your business

Helpful?
Thank Chris W
Cape May, NJ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The best thing I can say about this place is that the beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. It is under major construction! The poor girl in the make shift lobby didn't even have AC. Never saw a pool. I felt like all guests were all shoved into one building. Very noisy too! You could hear kids crying... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jadael69
Carol S, Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fort Magruder Guest, Thank you for staying with us at the Fort Magruder Hotel. I apologize for the issues you had with the noise. I am happy to know that you felt the beds were comfortable and clean. As we go through our renovation, we are ensuring our rooms are in good condition. Any deficiencies we currently have will... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was under construction while we were here and left a lot to be desired. Check-in took forever and the staff at the front desk was bordering on rude. The room had the door out to the balcony dead-bolted shut and they would not open it for us. And the breakfast that was provided was so poor we skipped... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brian R
Carol S, Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brian R, Thank you for staying at the Fort Magruder Hotel. While we are undergoing a renovation, there is no excuse for our staff not being friendly. As well, there is no reason why we would not open the balcony door for you so I have definitely followed up on both of these issues. I apologize for the inconveniences... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel has great potential but is currently undergoing renovations which caused some minor setbacks. The rooms were clean and comfortable but could use a microwave to go with the fridge. Check in was slightly confusing as the front desk was in a hotel room that had its door removed. I actually was in the overflow front desk area for... More 

Helpful?
Thank JTChase336
Carol S, Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fort Magruder Guest, Thank you for staying with us at the Fort Magruder Hotel and your kind and constructive remarks. With our renovation going on we are operating with a few obstacles but doing our best to not inconvenience our guests. The ventilation in the indoor pool is now complete and our outdoor pool will be operational in a... More 

Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and I stayed at this hotel for a few days while visiting Busch Gardens. The hotel was a decent price and close to Busch Gardens. The front desk was friendly and quick to resolve issues. My biggest complaint was the breakfast policy changing on us. When we booked and checked-in, free breakfast was advertised. There is also a... More 

Helpful?
Thank TDN888
Carol S, Manager at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fort Magruder Hotel Guest, Thank you for staying with us on your visit to Busch Gardens. Our proximity to Busch Gardens and Colonial Williamsburg is ideal. Thank you for mentioning our friendly staff. We have changed how we serve breakfast and apology you were not notified. We are undergoing an extensive renovation right now and soon the fitness center,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

163 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (129)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn Historic
Rodeway Inn Historic
#38 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Historic District
Clarion Hotel Historic District
#62 of 79 in Williamsburg
3.0 of 5 stars 290 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#47 of 79 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Fort Magruder Hotel and Conference Center is beautifully set in a wooded area and landscaped around the site of an original redoubt from the Battle of Williamsburg of 1862. The Hotel is conveniently located only minutes away from Historic downtown Colonial Williamsburg, the College of William and Mary, 2 miles away from beautiful Busch Gardens and 3 miles away from Water Country USA. The four-story hotel comprises of 303 guest rooms and Suites and 26,000 square feet of meeting/exhibit space. The hotel offer an array of features and amenities including a heated indoor pool with hot tub, Fitness Center, Complimentary Business Center, Complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet Service and Pet Friendly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fort Magruder Hotel

Address: 6945 Pocahontas Trail, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Williamsburg)
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Price Range: $78 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Magruder Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Fort Magruder Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Williamsburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay