We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
331 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2922
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Stay 2 or more nights and get 20% off
Booking.com
$99
View deal
Expedia.com
Only 1 left at
$99
View deal
Lol.travel
$89
View deal
Comfort Inn$99
Travelocity$99
Trip.com$160
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (156)
360
Panoramas (23)
Room & Suite (176)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 12/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway
Updated 12/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 74 hotels in Williamsburg
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.5
Value
4.6
Travelers' Choice
Welcome to the new Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway! Get in touch with a slice of history while basking in southern hospitality at the Comfort Inn(R) Williamsburg Gateway hotel in Williamsburg, VA near Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens. Our non-smoking family hotel in Williamsburg puts guests within steps of popular attractions like: Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Williamsburg Premium Outlets, William and Mary, and Williamsburg Winery Get going with a great breakfast. Start your trip to Williamsburg with our free hot breakfast offering everything from eggs, waffles and meat to healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit. Soak up the sun on our patio deck or take a dip in our oversized seasonal outdoor pool. You can also break a sweat in our 24-hour fitness center or take care of family needs in our guest laundry facilities. All guest rooms offer a coffee maker, desk, sitting area, microwave, refrigerator, iron and board. Some rooms feature a sofa sleeper, in-room tea and coffee and kitchenette.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct For Lowest Price!
1232Reviews42Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 753
  • 352
  • 89
  • 26
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
sjulia wrote a review Sep 26
73 contributions62 helpful votes
We always stop here on our way from New York to Florida. I’ve noticed the last two times it is progressively declining in value. I guess you get what you pay for. We stopped here on our way to Florida and now we are here two weeks later on our way home from Florida. It saddens me to give this place a neg review. It’s located in a very nice area and close to colonial Williamsburg. The staff are friendly as usual. The Lobby is clean and neat. The rooms themselves are not what they used to be. I’m laying here on a bed of rocks writing this review as I cannot sleep due to how incredibly uncomfortable the mattress is. It’s actually causing me pain in my hip and ribs laying on it. There are some stains on the carpet, which is just not necessary as they could easily be cleaned. The bathroom is in need of some fixing up. The bathroom is so incredibly small im not sure how to even bath my daughter in it. I’m sad because I used to like this hotel but I don’t anymore. It’s not comfortable at all and needs improvements It’s a good price due to it not being a weekend I suppose. If I had to pay a Penney more I would be even more upset. I just can’t wait till morning to get out of here. I’m exhausted !!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Depending on your expectations , I wouldn’t stay here again. The bed is beyond uncomfortable...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lynne wrote a review Jun 2022
Fredericksburg, Virginia55 contributions23 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Stayed here last June when we celebrated our anniversary. Our regular hotel was full. Clean room, quiet, perfect location-close to restaurants, the outlets, the historic area--great stay! Maid service was available if requested, otherwise you could pick up clean towels, etc. at the desk. Very friendly desk clerks.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Naresh Naran, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway
Responded Jun 15, 2022
Dear Labassist: Thank you for your review. Happy Anniversary! - Thank you for kind words. We will pass on your compliments and comments to our staff. We hope to see you again. Regards Naresh N General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karla V wrote a review Sep 6
Ellington, Connecticut105 contributions14 helpful votes
We had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for 1 week. The room we had booked was exactly what we received. The room and the entire hotel was clean, quiet, conveniently located to all major attractions and restaurants. The management and staff were friendly and attentive. Housekeeping was excellent. The hot breakfast was above our expectations. The pool was wonderful and towels were provided. We were very pleased with our stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Naresh Naran, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Karla V: Thank you for your review. Karla it was a please to meet you all. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and you were able to take advantage of our amenities. It was great to hear that your room was clean and quiet. we will pass on your comments and compliments to our staff. We hope to see you again soon. Regards Naresh N General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Iain wrote a review Sep 5
Montana2 contributions1 helpful vote
Background: Originally we had reservations to stay at the Radisson Hotel in Williamsburg, VA on the same street, but when we arrived and checked into our room, it was Full of ANTS. Ants on the carpeting, ants on the bed, and ants on the desk. The hotel clerk, did not inform us that the room had recently been fumigated. After we confronted him, he did apologize and offer us a room for one night, but that was not what we had agreed to. We were staying in the area for 3 nights. We left the Radisson Hotel immediately and were told that we would receive a full refund within in the next several days. Shortly, we found the Comfort Inn and spoke to Michele who was very understanding and accommodating. She found us one room for one night and suggested we speak with Sam the next morning to see if we could stay for two more nights. He was able to allow us to stay in the same room for two more nights.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Naresh Naran, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear TEMPUS-EDAX-RERUM Thank you for your review. It was great to hear we could accommodate you in such short notice, especially during our busy time. We are very pleased to have Michele on our staff, she is a great asset and a great employee. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and Sam was able to extend your stay with us. Please feel free to call upon us on your next trip to Williamsburg. Regards Naresh N. General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ashton wrote a review Aug 2022
Maple Shade, New Jersey6 contributions1 helpful vote
Clean, quiet and perfect central location! 4 mins from Colonial Williamsburg, 15 from Busch Gardens & 22 mins from Yorktown. It was clean, easy check in/out. Breakfast was a great quality for being complementary!! Bagels, eggs, bacon/sausage, muffins, yogurt. Pool was clean and rarely packed. Gym was minimal but clean and empty. Many restaurants and stores within a short quick drive or even a long walk. The area was very quiet but also felt safe. I would definitely stay here again. For the price it was a great quality.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Naresh Naran, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway
Responded Aug 23, 2022
Dear Ashton: Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room to be clean and quiet. It was great to see that you were able to take advantage of our amenities, breakfast , our pool and fitness center. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon. Regards Naresh N GM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mike B wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions
Clean, comfortable and quiet. All staff members were very friendly What more can you ask for. Oh yeah, a great hot breakfast. The perfect location in the heart of Williamsburg the shopping area with many great restaurants nearby. Oh
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Naresh Naran, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway
Responded Aug 20, 2022
Dear mikebF4077NL: Thank you for your review. WE are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found your room to be clean and comfortable and quiet. It was nice to see you took advantage of our hot breakfast and the sites and shopping Williamsburg offer. We hope to see you again soon. Regards Naresh N
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Krystal wrote a review Jun 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia3 contributions4 helpful votes
My card was charged too much at check in, and when I attempted to explain it to the clerk she continued to tell me it was $100 for incidentals when it was actually another $500. Hoping to see if those charges fall off. On my second night I was awaken out of my sleep at 4am because the police was apprehending and detaining a couple in the hallway. This entire fiasco lasted until 6am… so needless to say I didn’t get any sleep. They are shouting and talking loudly the entire two hours. I asked the front desk about compensation due to the inconvenience but they acted clueless. Outside of those two incidents everything was okay. I probably wouldn’t stay here again since I didn’t feel like my time, and money, or comfortability was respected
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Naresh Naran, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway
Responded Aug 20, 2022
Dear Krystal: hank you for your review. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Upon you check in you had 2 room reservations, each room was authorized for 501.82. Upon check out, you left your keys and departed, your authorization of $50.00 for each room was dropped off. We do apologize, that you were disturbed by the police at 5am, we do wish that all our guests to respect everyone's quiet hours. Again, we do apologize that you had a rough morning at 5:30am. Regards Naresh N
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Go634086 wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Pleasently surprised. Only stayed one night but splurged for the suite. Kids got their own bedroom and bathrooom. Even has tv rooom with microwave, small fridge and breakfast table with 4 chairs. We were able to tuck our kids in and relax while the slept. Nice perk after a long day if driving and walking around Jamestown!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Naresh Naran, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway
Responded Jun 20, 2022
Go634086: Thank you for your review. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you had a suite that you all could relax. We hope to see you again soon. Have a great summer. We appreciate the "shout out " to go for the suite". Regards Naresh GM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nute26 wrote a review Jun 2022
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania113 contributions105 helpful votes
Place is very clean and a nice place to stay. However, the check in is horrible!!! Arrived and went in to register and the desk Clark was on the phone, I assume on business, at least I hope so. After nearly 15 minutes he hung up. This is uncalled for!! He could have asked his phone party to wait. Next I was told they needed my credit card, even though I paid for the room when I booked it. I asked why and was told it was needed for the $50 miscellaneous damage fee. WHAT, I’ve traveled all over and never been charged for something like this! I was told I would get it back upon check out. Time will tell!!! As in nearly every place I stay all your information is entered on booking, not this place, everything was put in at the time of registration. All in all, from the time I went thru the door until left it was at least 25-30 minutes. Unheard of! Life is short, enjoy everyday.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Naresh Naran, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway
Responded Jun 15, 2022
Dear nute26: Thank you for your review. It is great you hear that you found our hotel "very clean and a nice place to stay". We do apologize that you found your check in process "horrible". We so authorize $50.00 for every guest at check in. The only way to authorize, is to request your card at check in, this is for any incidentals. During your check in and our front desk requesting your card, was minimal. You had insisted to call your bank to verify your authorization, this now did take time, since you were insisting to call them, hence it took "25-30 mins". Upon check out your $50.00 authorization was dropped off. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We wish you the best for your future stays. Regards Naresh General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MikeAllenNashville wrote a review May 2022
Nashville89 contributions26 helpful votes
In the area for an couples trip. Booked a 3 night stay based on TripAdvisor reviews & a very reasonable price. We were pleasantly surprised how clean & well kept the facility was & were very pleased with the room. The staff was friendly & welcoming. Breakfast was enjoyable & consistent each morning. Would not hesitate to recommend to family & friends. I believe the recent bad reviews posted are for another location just down the street.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Naresh Naran, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway
Responded May 27, 2022
Dear MikeAllenNashville: Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you had enjoyed your stay with us and that you had found our hotel to be clean and well kept. We will pass on yur compliments to our staff, especially our breakfast hostess. We appreciate your referrals and look forward to your return. Regards Naresh GM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$77 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
days inn historic area hotel williamsburg, days inn colonial, days inn williamsburg virginia, days inn historic williamsburg, williamsburg days inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Days Inn Historic Area
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaWilliamsburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
116
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway
Which popular attractions are close to Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway?
Nearby attractions include Silver Hand Meadery (0.7 miles), Whitley's Peanut Factory (0.5 miles), and Pirate's Cove Adventure Golf (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Yaca French Restaurant, Sal's By Victor, and Amiraj.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Williamsburg.
Are any cleaning services offered at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Colonial Williamsburg (0.9 miles), Bassett Hall (1.7 miles), and George Wythe House (1.0 miles).
Is Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.