We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

814 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 801: English reviews
Morgantown, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A great place to stay for visiting the colonial triangle (Jamestown, Williamsburg, Yorktown) and not overly expensive. Their breakfasts are very good and the staff is friendly. Getting to and from the motel is a bit of a challenge without using GPS, but GPS makes it relatively easy. A lot of amazing restaurants nearby that aren't overly expensive either.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Harvey E
Austintown, United States
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Hotel was a good value and included and indoor pool and hot continental breakfast in the morning. Best feature was location, which was less than a five-minute drive from Colonial Williamsburg and about a fifteen-minute drive to Busch Gardens. There were many restaurants within a short drive, as well. The hotel itself had good staff and was kept clean. The... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
Roxboro, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Check-in was smooth, staff was helpful, room was clean and quiet. The hotel was close to Colonial Williamsburg allowing for easy access over two-day visit. Also location allowed for easy access to area restaurants, James River Plantations and James River Ferry.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Marilyn H
Silver Spring, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel itself is nice for the price but the staff was so rude that I felt like I was an inconvenience to them whenever I needed something. Otherwise, the hotel is just minutes from Colonial Williamsburg and many shops. I loved the location.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Brad D
Alexis W, AGM at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review

Good Morning, I first would like to say "Thank you" for taking the time out of your day to let other guest know about you stay with us at the Best Western Plus Historic Area. We would like to deeply apologize for any inconveniences that we may have caused you during your stay here. It is very rare that we... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

first we had to change from our original room since the AC unit made a terrible noise then the second morning there my wife and I see the housekeeper in the hallway she has the nerve to ask if we wanted the room cleaned we didnt know what to say it was just not professional at all we came back... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Edward L
Alexis W, AGM at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for you review of our property the Best Western Plus Historic Area. I would like to deeply apologize for your experience that you had encountered here during your stay. Our main goal is to make sure that our guest feel like they are at home during their stay and to know that we did not exceed... More 

Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was a positive experience from the moment we arrived. They had our room ready early. The daytime receptionist had already actioned our room requests and noted our BW membership. She answered all our questions and had answers to questions we were about to ask. Maps, directions and leaflets to everywhere we needed. The room was well furnished including unusually... More 

Helpful?
Thank foodrover
Alexis W, AGM at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you so much for your kind review of the Best Western Plus Historic Area. We appreciate the time you took to let our future guest know about your stay. We are delighted to know that you were pleased with all of our amenities and our friendly staff. We strive as a property to deliver the best service... More 

durham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just spent 2 nights here in order to see Historic Williamsburg. The lobby and breakfast area have clearly just been refurbished and are lovely but whilst the rest of the hotel is very clean, it tends to be dark and quite dated. The receptionists are wonderful and so are the waiters who keep the breakfast area spotless and... More 

Helpful?
Thank stokerej
Alexis W, AGM at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you so much for giving us your feedback about your stay here at the Best Western Plus Historic Area. We are ecstatic, to know that you were pleased with our staff, breakfast, the new updates, and your room . We hope we can continue to serve you, if you decide to visit Williamsburg in the future. If... More 

dover, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

this hotel is a very nice place to stay,rooms nice and clean,beds and pillows comfortable.excellent breakfast,helpful staff,hotel centrally located.stayed here many times and never was disappointed.would recommend this hotel to anybody visiting the area.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Larry M
Alexis W, AGM at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time out to let our future guest know about your stay at out property the Best Western Plus Historic Area. We really do appreciate the time you took out of your day. We are very pleased to know that our staff was friendly, I will rely those compliments to them. Our breakfast is... More 

Havre de Grace, Maryland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I previously rated this hotel. My daughter goes to school in Williamsburg, and we are BW rewards members. This is the closest BW to school. The power went out during the pass through of Hermine this past Saturday. Wife was in the tub when the power went out. Total blackout, and no emergency power whatsoever. Not sure how this is... More 

Helpful?
Thank bluejay377
Paradise, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Dirty room, stain in carpet, finger nails on floor , leaking sink faucet, broken dining chairs, rug ripping up near window in dining area..... Must say indoor pool was great except for leaking ceiling.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ellen S
Alexis W, agm at BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you for choosing the Best Western Plus Historic Area for your trip in Williamsburg. We are happy that you choose us over our competitors. I am sadden to hear about the upkeep of your room. We here at the Best Western Plus always ensure that all of our rooms are cleaned and ready for our guest. I... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#6 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 631 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the center of Williamsburg. The hotel is within walking distance to several restaurants. All rooms come with a microwave and refrigerator. Continental breakfast is included. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn

Address: 201 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2920
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Price Range: $66 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Best Western Williamsburg
Waller Mills Inn
Williamsburg Best Western
Waller Mill Inn Williamsburg Va
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay