We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Washington
Post
Inbox
Search

Foster Harris House B&B

Save
189 Main St P.O. Box 333, Washington, VA 22747
Visit hotel website
E-mail hotel
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (157)
Dining (45)
Videos (1)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Just steps from the world-renowned Inn at Little Washington in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, the Foster Harris House offers comfortable, refined country inn accommodations in an enchanting setting. Each queen bed guest room has exquisitely soft linens, spa robes, and a private bath with a rainfall shower. Included with your stay is a lavish, unhurried four-course gourmet breakfast.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free internet
Free breakfast
Hiking
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Wifi
Internet
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Farsi, German
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
643Reviews1Q+A99Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 623
  • 15
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Pleasant experience and Klaus is one of a kind. Our room was beautiful and comfortable with updated bathrooms. The breakfast was delicious. We had a four course breakfast that hit the right spot. Klaus couldn't have been a better host.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
+1
Property's Favorite Review
My husband and I stayed at Foster Harris for our anniversary weekend, and had a wonderful time. The area is simply beautiful and very peaceful. The B&B is lovely, and we were greeted almost as if by magic by our host, Klaus. With handshakes and smiles, he gave us a brief tour of the facilities and left us to our comfy room. Our only concern with the area was the lack of Verizon cell service. Klaus has an ingenious solution - he provides his guests with a cell phone (apparently Sprint works in Little Washington) pre-programmed with his number and a welcome text containing all of the pertinent information including the wifi signal and the code to get into the house after hours. In the evening he served champagne in the parlor for his overnight guests as well as his dinner guests. It was a lovely opportunity to meet the others and have pleasant conversations with folks from all over. By bed time I was thrilled with the place, but found the bed to be extremely uncomfortable. We let Klaus and Gisele know in the morning during our delicious breakfast, and they were horrified that we hadn't been comfortable. While we were out during the day they moved a new mattress into the room. They told us they had tested the bed, found it to be "bad" and replaced it! We had an incredible night's sleep that night - the bed was amazingly comfortable. Now that's service. Finally, the dinner. The dinner is optional, fairly expensive, and worth every penny. They served a 7 course dinner taking into account my husband's and my restrictions (he doesn't eat pork and I'm a pescatarian). I'm pretty picky and this was one of the best meals I've ever had. The Inn at Little Washington is the blocks away, and extremely difficult to get reservations. This is a wonderful alternative. Thanks to Klaus, Gisele, and their staff for their hospitality and service. We'll recommend again and again and will be back.
Read more
Response from KLSGIS, Owner at Foster Harris House B&B
Responded May 11, 2019
Dear kishagd, Thank you so very much for your very positive and detailed review. We do appreciate it very much. In addition, we personally had such an enjoyable time with you and your husband and we can't wait for you to return soon. Best wishes, Klaus and Gisele
Read more
My wife and I along with our 3 adult children stayed at the Foster Harris House over a long weekend. The property was clean and each room was nicely decorated. It was quiet and our breakfasts were delicious. We have some dietary restrictions and Klaus the owner was very accommodating. The location was close to Shenandoah where we spent our days hiking the beautiful trails. I would definitely come back by ourselves or with our children.
Read more
We enjoyed our stay at the Foster Harris House very much! Our room was comfortable and cozy, with fresh cookies in our sitting room both mornings. Klaus, the host, was so welcoming and friendly; it's obvious that he loves what he does! He fixed a delicious breakfast and this is where my only suggestion is: we weren't asked if we had any dietary preferences. As I move closer to becoming a vegetarian, it's pretty important. Other than that, my husband and I both highly recommend this B&B in beautiful Virginia!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from KLSGIS, Owner at Foster Harris House B&B
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear lmniece77, Thank you very much for your excellent review. I am very happy that you had an enjoyable stay and am only sorry, that we didn't learn of your dietary preferences. I do realize how important that is and you are making a very good point. Just FYI, the following paragraph is included in all our written confirmations: "Please do let us know, if we can arrange for or provide anything to make your visit more comfortable and enjoyable. In case you do have any dietary restrictions, it is very important that you do advise us in advance" I enjoyed meeting and serving you and am looking forward to your next visit. Best wishes, Klaus
Read more
We booked our stay at the Foster Harris House after we were informed that our original B&B across the street , The Middleton inn, had been sold after we made our reservation. We were refunded our deposit and the Foster Harris House was a recommended replacement although it was more expensive probably because we were staying over on a Saturday night as we were having dinner at the Inn at Little Washington. Upon arrival after a few minutes we were greeted by the owner who was very personable and enthusiastic about his property. We were shown our room and were a little surprised as to the rather small area and furnishings to include the seating area and the lack of a television. The bathroom was a little tight and the lighting and mirrors made shaving a bit of a challenge to say the least. The only treats were two cookies and two bottles of water which was a little disappointing and surprising as we were accustomed to a bottle of wine at other B&B's and perhaps chocolates or some other sweets. When we left for dinner a glass of wine would have been a nice touch as would a glass of sherry upon on our return but neither were made available to us and we assume the other guests. The gourmet breakfast was a small ginger scone, a small yogurt and fruit cocktail a small crepe with an egg inside, one strip of bacon and a spoonful of potatoes followed by a small slice of a pudding cake. It was nice but nothing special as it was rather skimpy. A Mimosa was poured but 9:00 am is a little early for us. The owner and an assistant prepared breakfast for everyone. Maybe it is us after reading some of the other reviews but for $459 plus tax we were expecting a little more and to be honest left disappointed. Our experience wasn't horrible but did not meet our expectations after previous stays at the Middleton Inn across the street.
Read more
Response from KLSGIS, Owner at Foster Harris House B&B
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear jpete, By the way my name is Klaus. I remember you to be a very nice couple and I enjoyed meeting and serving you. I do feel bad that we didn't meet your expectations. But frankly, we love our Inn and we are confident that we are providing a top quality product and personal service. Best wishes, Klaus
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$290 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaWashington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Foster Harris House B&B
Which popular attractions are close to Foster Harris House B&B?
Nearby attractions include R.H. Ballard Shop & Gallery (0.2 miles), Wine Loves Chocolate (0.2 miles), and River District Arts (4.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Foster Harris House B&B?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Foster Harris House B&B?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, blackout curtains, and a walk-in shower.
What food & drink options are available at Foster Harris House B&B?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Foster Harris House B&B?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Foster Harris House B&B?
Conveniently located restaurants include Foster Harris House, Inn at Little Washington, and Tula's Restaurant and Bar.
Is Foster Harris House B&B located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Washington.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Foster Harris House B&B?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Farsi.
Does Foster Harris House B&B have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.