We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Black Horse Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Black Horse Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 108: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The B&B was nice, but the staff were excellent. We enjoyed a quiet stay in the country. The B&B was almost empty. There was only one other family there when we were there. We stayed off season and during the week. Enjoyed walking and sitting on the patios with the resident cat.

Helpful?
Thank Jan Y
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2016

My husband and I stayed one night in Great Expectations at the Black Horse Inn. The setting of the B&B is lovely, in the middle of Virginia hunt country. The public rooms are large and were available for guests to relax in. Wine, sodas and water were provided. The cheese tray was grocery store cheese but the grapes were delicious.... More 

Helpful?
Thank real_in_philly
BlackHorseMadam, Owner at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

All of your comments have been shared with our team for a look at how we can continue to raise the bar. Our goal is to resolve all guest concerns as quickly and thoroughly as possible. We are sorry our room accomodations fell short of your expectations and hope to have an opportunity to extend our hospitality in the future. More 

Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2016

Stayed here over the weekend. Full Disclosure. I am not really a fan of B&B. This is a very nice property with nice views. Would make for a nice event venue. The rooms were well appointed. Bed was ok, not great but fine. We opted for Brunch at Popular Springs rather than eat breakfast, but it smelled good. It's an... More 

Helpful?
Thank ghasenei
BlackHorseMadam, Manager at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you coming to The Black Horse Inn for a visit! We are glad you had fun and appreciate your nice thoughts. More 

Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016 via mobile

We had such a nice visit at the Black Horse Inn. Delightful room, lovely breakfast and a nice glass of sherry to top of the night. Beautiful surroundings and great care by the inn keeper! Thanks for helping with the prosecco so are picnic was complete!

Helpful?
Thank MHPinDE
BlackHorseMadam, Owner at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your anniversary weekend with us. We are very thankful for your thoughtful review and insights regarding your stay at The Inn. Our staff is inspired by hearing guest stories like yours and your comments keep us along our chosen path of reaching for perfection for your anniversary... More 

Pennington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
112 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2016

This is an old coaching inn, recently renovated -- not a lot of historic pieces, more contemporary furniture, but very nicely done. We arrived in a thunderstorm and a bit later than expected and had to wait some time in order to check in -- no one seemed to be around. Eventually that was settled and the proprietor offered an... More 

Helpful?
Thank nassau2
BlackHorseMadam, Owner at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your compliments. We are glad you could be with us and pleased that your experience here was all that you hoped for. We look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
254 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015

Great location and restful! The owners are friendly and you can enjoy the view of the yard/garden too. Of course breakfast was good and served with a smile. We really enjoyed ourselves and cannot wait to return.

Helpful?
Thank Gator G
BlackHorseMadam, Owner at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughtful and thorough review. We are honored to read your comments on our service, food and accommodations. Your feedback serves as a reminder to all of us, how important our passion is and how crucial hospitality is, to everyday life. More 

Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015

I am getting married at the Black Horse Inn in September 2016. My mother was in town for Thanksgiving and I thought we'd spend one night there so she could experience the venue. As always, the hospitality was superb! We stayed in the bridal suite--Great Expectations--which was lovely and comfortable--which include a working fireplace in the room, an attached porch... More 

Helpful?
Thank dirtyred71
BlackHorseMadam, Owner at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your compliments. We are glad you could be with us and pleased that your experience here was all that you hoped for.We LOVED working with you and we are glad you had an opportunity to celebrate your wedding weekend with us. We appreciate your kind words describing your stay and our service. Thank you for your review. More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015

We cannot thank Lynn and Kathi at the Black Hose Inn enough for the AMAZING weekend at the Black Horse. Our 1st Anniversary event went perfectly and everyone had a wonderful time. The ballroom was stunning, so warm and elegant and perfect for a group that size. The Inn stay was divine (I am definitely coming back and staying in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lesley Y
BlackHorseMadam, Owner at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you coming to The Black Horse Inn for a visit! We are glad you had fun and appreciate your nice thoughts. More 

new york
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2015

I stayed here as a solo traveller for 2 nights midweek in fall foliage season. I came because I ride horses and am very interested in Virginia fox hunting and the equestrian region. I had a terrific time! I stayed at the Hunt Box cottage next to the barn, which came complete with the friendly barn cat. Everything is very... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank jjellison
BlackHorseMadam, Owner at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

What a delight it was to spend time with you! We love our equestrian guests! Time is going by so quickly and soon it will be the start of another fox-hunting season. I can't wait to ride with you again. It was certainly a delight! More 

Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2015

The Black Horse Inn is a treasure. Finding it "by accident" was a true joy. We annually attend the Warrenton Horse Show on Labor Day Weekend and found that the BHI was available so two of us drove the short drive out Meetz Road and found what I consider a National Treasure. From the moment we entered the massive house... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
BlackHorseMadam, Owner at Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Nancy, It is always a compliment when we have repeat cutomers! Thank you for your thoughtful and review. We are honored to read your comments on our service, food and accommodations. Your feedback serves as a reminder to all of us, how important our passion is and how crucial hospitality is, to everyday life.We look forward to your next stay... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warrenton
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Warrenton
Hampton Inn Warrenton
#1 of 6 in Warrenton
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
5.0 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
4.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Warrenton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Warrenton
11.2 mi away
Value Place Gainesville
Value Place Gainesville
#2 of 2 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
19.7 mi away
Salamander Resort & Spa
Salamander Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Middleburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Black Horse Inn, Warrenton, Virginia is the ideal escape for business meetings, brainstorming sessions or revitalizing retreats. The natural solitude of this historic, hunt-country estate encourages effective meetings and creative thought. Just 45 minutes from Washington, D.C., this spectacular setting will lead to creative ideas and a clear mind to tackle even the most difficult tasks and problem-solving sessions. Ten rooms with private baths, corporate center for 200. Lunches and dinners upon request. Team-building activities, WiFi & televisions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Horse Inn

Address: 8393 Meetze Rd, Warrenton, VA 20187-4340
Location: United States > Virginia > Warrenton
Price Range: $213 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Horse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Horse Hotel Warrenton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay