We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

209 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 208: English reviews
Cumberland, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The rooms are clean and staff is nice. But the "Hot Breakfast" is a joke. Lobby is small and the angle they took the pool picture on makes it look bigger than what it is. The location was nice on 5th st. real close to the ocean and walking distance from stores.

Helpful?
Thank Amanda R
howard j, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, your feedback and your comments regarding your stay. We appreciate that you've taken the time to share the ways that we have impressed you and the ways that we can improve we want you to know that the matters you mentioned are being addressed to our management. I do thank you for bringing this matter... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

First of all the breakfast is not continental, I heard a young child ask for cream cheers to put on a mini bagel and there wasn't any! They were nice enough to move us three times at our request and in each room we found dirt, first room had Cheerios in the chair under the cushion, the second room had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
howard j, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach, responded to this review

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the housekeeping issues that you encountered during your stay in our hotel. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we want to assure you that the housekeeping issues which you have brought to our attention are being addressed with renewed efforts to improve upon our policies to ensure that... More 

Manassas, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was pretty good, we were on the 6th floor with the balcony and nice view. The pool was not what we expected, breakfast sucked but overall it was good

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank dinoras517
howard j, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, your feedback and your comments regarding your stay. We appreciate that you've taken the time to share the ways that we have impressed you and the ways that we can improve we want you to know that the matters you mentioned are being addressed to our management. I do thank you for bringing this matter... More 

Frederick, Maryland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel looked nothing like the photo. There was dry cereal no pastries and juice for breakfast, which the website clearly stated free breakfast. There were two very small tables to eat your cereal and drink your juice right beside the check in desk. NOT WORTH THE MONEY I PAID AT ALL.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank V4286YCericab
howard j, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach, responded to this review

Thank you again for taking the time to share this experience. I am sorry to hear that you did not thoroughly enjoy the breakfast options, and I want to let you know that we take your suggestions to heart and are reconsidering the available choices. We want you to experience the best value for your money, to feel comfortable, and... More 

Kannapolis, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wow! Very disappointed on swimming pool :( In the picture, it looks big but it was not! The employees are all nice, excellent review for them. Room is clean except for carpet. Needs to be shampooed because there was a smell when we went to bed. Thank you.

Helpful?
Thank airapa
howard j, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, your feedback and your comments regarding your stay. We appreciate that you've taken the time to share the ways that we have impressed you and the ways that we can improve we want you to know that the matters you mentioned are being addressed to our management. I do thank you for bringing this matter... More 

Wayne, West Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Advertised as ocean view but sets behind 2 big high rises. Tried to charge me an "early check in fee" at 2:15pm! Ridiculas ! Then a $5 resort fee! Continental breakfast Was a joke, 2 pieces of toast and some cereal was all we had to pick from. Elevator is straight from the 60's, one extremely small elevator for 6... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank lisamaynard
howard j, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, your feedback and your comments regarding your stay. I apologize that you are not made aware of the additional charge on your stay. I will discuss this concern to the management so they can assist with this thoroughly. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make... More 

Columbus, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good hotel- very clean! Great location! Could have better coffee and breakfast but overall it was perfect for a few nights. Also, great view of the ocean and really short walk!

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank A7243GOannc
howard j, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments and review regarding your most recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location, our high standards of housekeeping and breakfast offered. We're glad you had a great time with us and we look forward to serving you again. More 

Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First off the pool isn't that big so don't get excited. The hotel so isn't worth 150 maybe 125 and that is because of the location. Also you will not get a nice ocean view from the sun desk you will see a corner of the ocean. The room is clean floor and bed wise however there was some spots... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
howard j, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your perspective of our hotel’s accommodations and services! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location, our high standards of housekeeping and our friendly and welcoming staff. Your comments regarding the ways we can still improve are just as important, and we can't wait to show you how we have taken them to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
Northeast Virginia Beach
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#76 of 111 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
Oceans 2700 Hotel
#57 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Alamar Resort Inn
#51 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#36 of 111 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,669 reviews
Schooner Inn
#50 of 111 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 378 reviews
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#53 of 111 in Virginia Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Free Breakfast
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a NON SMOKING HOTEL with all new renovated rooms just opened as Howard Johnson on June 29th 2015. We are only one street over from the virginia Beavh ocean front with a ocean view fron our 6th floor balcony. Many bars and restaurants within walking distance and many outdoor activities nearby. Live bands and concerts are a must see. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach

Address: 512 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3522 (Formerly Flagship Resort Inn)
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Price Range: $76 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Howard Johnson Virginia Beach At The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flagship Hotel Virginia Beach
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay