We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 92: English reviews
Martinsburg, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Don't let the age of this quaint motel fool you. It is very clean and the people are extremely nice. There are no phones in the room, so if you need something, you have to walk down to the office. This is a walk up hotel, no elevators, but it is only three floors and the view is well worth... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy G
Martinsburg, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed w/ Cutty Sark last summer in July 2015, ocean view balcony w/ queen bed, sleeper sofa, and kitchenette. We absolutely LOVED it. It was home away from home. While it does seem the facility is stuck in 80's-90's, we took comfort and enjoyed it. It was clean, comfortable, functional, and the best part RELAXING with just a short... More 

Helpful?
Thank kristih44
Big Lake, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016 via mobile

Arrived at the Cutty Sark and I'm not happy. After seeing this place in Virginia Beach for years and thinking it would be a nice place to stay, I have come to the concussion that this is not the place for me. The clerk was very rude and they do not provide enough parking to cover the guest they rent... More 

Helpful?
Thank AKSnoqueen
MsJAKoch, Innkeeper at Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel, responded to this review

I am so sorry you were not happy. You spoke by phone to our front desk a number of times and we explained that we only have a little over a dozen units and even though many guest with Handicaps stay with us and are comfortable, we do not have any units designated as Handicapped. Your oversized truck did fit... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2016 via mobile

The efficiency we stayed in was very cute, exactly as pictured in the brochure and on-line listings. We were on the third floor, and it's a walk-up, so the luggage got heavier on each flight going up. The kitchen was small but very useful. We even cooked in one night, and it was great to have dishes, utensils, and cookware... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan_long_island
MsJAKoch, Innkeeper at Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel, responded to this review

What a joy to have folks like you stay with us.....I am posting your comment right now so all our staff can see. You make us very happy. This is our life....Kindest regards and do come again soon. More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016 via mobile

Kitchen is very old and bathrooms was clean but tub had rust. Beds was comfy to sleep on and was very clean and seen NO bugs anywhere. Was the cheapest place to stay we could find at the time. They do have a small pool and one area outside your room if you need clothes cleaned.

Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
MsJAKoch, Innkeeper at Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel, responded to this review

You are right, the kitchenettes are old, almost 50 years old. They are original to the Building 1969. We treasure them. I hope you enjoyed your stay and that we provided all you needed for a clean, relaxing, very convenient home away from home while you enjoyed our beautiful city of Virginia Beach. Come see us again. More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016 via mobile

First off, LOVE the location and everyone at Cutty Sark was super nice. I loved sitting on our private balcony in the morning with my coffee and watching the dolphins play. I saw so many dolphins on a daily basis. Bring your binoculars for a better view, but you can watch them without them. The room could use some updating.... More 

Helpful?
Thank smccanless1
MsJAKoch, Innkeeper at Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel, responded to this review

I am so sorry we did not please...I do not remember the pool being closed except during rain, and we have had lot of that. Give us another chance. Kindest regards.. More 

Carlisle, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for vacation may 2016. Staff was friendly, location was great! Wasn't as clean as I would have liked it to be but we did rush them for an early check-in so that could be why. Did smell kind of weird, we bought air freshener. Good for the price.

Helpful?
Thank Clint_p80
MsJAKoch, Innkeeper at Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel, responded to this review

Even though you were early for check-in, we still would like to have everything perfect for you. I apologize...Most Cordially More 

charleston
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2016

Thankfully I only booked one night at this motel, Saturday, May 7, 2016. The air conditioning had not been turned on yet. There was a microwave in the room but I would have had to move the sofa to plug it in. There was a coffee pot on the table, but no receptacle nearby. The electrical outlets need updated. When... More 

Helpful?
Thank a25556
MsJAKoch, Innkeeper at Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel, responded to this review

I'm sorry you were uncomfortable but we had a very cold and unpredictable spring 2016. We had to have heat available until Mid-May..We do have a new geo-thermal well that supplies water the our cooling system at a constant temperature for comfort. We have charging receptacles on the bedside lamp for convenience, you might not have located them....Hope you enjoyed... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2016

We stayed in the perfect room that gave a lovely view to the ocean. Quaint and friendly spot on 36.5 street. Easy access to food, drinks, and the convenience store. Not to mention a hop skip and jump away to the ocean. The fridge was cold, the water was hot, and our bed was comfortable. If they had toothpaste (since... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shari S
MsJAKoch, Innkeeper at Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel, responded to this review

Can't wait to see you again... I'll buy some toothpaste. Kindest regards, your review makes us try even harder to anticipate the needs and desires of our guest. Thank you. More 

grimsley,tn
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2015

This place is average. Not a great place, not a horrible place. It serves its purpose. It is within walking distance to the beach and shops. There is a kitchenette in each room so you can cook as much or little as you like. Parking is very limited.

Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha T
MsJAKoch, Innkeeper at Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel, responded to this review

Samantha, Thank you for your time taken to write a review of our little Hotel. We try to be consistently reliable for folks like yourself who are looking for a clean, comfortable, homelike facility at a economical rate. Our location is convenient to Restaurants, shops, and entertainment . And, we are across the street from the Beautiful Atlantic Ocean. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
Oceans 2700 Hotel
#54 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Alamar Resort Inn
#50 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Belvedere Beach Resort
#9 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schooner Inn
#53 of 111 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Northeast Virginia Beach
Royal Clipper Inn and Suites
Royal Clipper Inn and Suites
#39 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Days Inn Virginia Beach at the B...
#59 of 111 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Cutty Sark Motel is located in the exclusive, quite North End of the Virginia Beach Boardwalk and directly across the street from the Ocean. Balconies have wonderful view of the Ocean and the Dolphins who live there. We are only Five (5) minutes from the convention center. Free entertainment nightly at Neptune Park. A great way to start the evening. Shopping, fine dining and live entertainment are but a stroll away. Each guest room has a full equipped efficiency with everything a family of four(4) needs to prepare light meals. Our Historic Cottages will accommodate up to eight (8) persons. Refrigerator, microwave, stove toaster as well as coffee and tea service. Dinette, sleep sofa, color, cable TV with HBO, air conditioning and free wifi. Most rooms have balconies with memorable views of the Ocean. The Cutty Sark is convenient to the Virginia Beach Convention Center( 5 Minutes ) The Cutty Sark is 3 mi from Edgar Cayce/ARE Center, 4 mi from the Virginia Aquarium, 7mi from Oceana Naval Air Station, 1 mi from Old Cape Henry Lighthouse and 13 mi from Norfolk International Airport.Golf, Tennis, Fishing and Boating are close by. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel

Address: 3614 Atlantic Avenue, Across the Street From the Ocean, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Price Range: $103 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cutty Sark Efficiency Hotel Virginia Beach
Hotel Style:
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay