We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

101 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 96: English reviews
White Pine, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2016 via mobile

Stayed in ground level room. Street view with no ocean view. Room was clean but very dated. Man at front desk was very helpful & accommodating & this motel is lucky to have him. Front desk checkin closes at 10pm & doesn't reopen until 9am. The a/c is set within the office to be 15 degrees cooler than the outside... More 

Helpful?
Thank TnTravelinGirl
Wise, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

Pros - The location and price were the only redeeming qualities of this hotel in my eyes. The hotel staff was nice enough. Cons - the biggest problem with the room was the refrigerator that was built into the kitchenette. After taking a full day to realize that it was even a mini fridge, it decided not to close for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Corey F
MsJAKoch, Innkeeper at Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our little Hotel. You are right, we are not of this decade. We have been right here serving our guest, new and long time return guest for over Four (4) Decades , 40 years. Our Vintage Efficiency Kitchenettes, all one piece, stove, fridge, sink, and cabinets in beautiful white enameled steel, are original to... More 

Millersville, Maryland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

This is a low cost alternative to the expensive chain hotels right on the beach. Yes the beach is right across the street, it is walk up no elevator. It is a concrete block with iron frame building. No there is no fire hazard here. Ownership has done the best possible to decorate and make the rooms as attractive as... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank meanbear410
MsJAKoch, Innkeeper at Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words regarding our Air-conditioning. We made a major investment in a geo-thermal well to service our Air-conditioning circulator two years ago. We had a very Hot summer season this year, and it did us proud. Thank you for mentioning it. We thought you described us pretty well. We do have the patina of age you... More 

Mamaroneck, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2016

If by "historic" they mean old and poorly maintained, then historic they are. They are all grouped together across the street from the motel, so the location is great -- just cross Atlantic Avenue and you are on the boardwalk/beach. Having the extra space was great, too. Sadly, this is the extent of the pros list. After navigating the creative... More 

Helpful?
Thank Val7777
MsJAKoch, Innkeeper at Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and for noticing the effort and creativity put into arranging free parking for cottages that needed little to none when they were built, close to a century ago. No more space available but much additional parking needed. There are City and privately owned Parking Garages nearby for additional parking. Our Cottage rentals are self catering... More 

Martinsburg, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

Don't let the age of this quaint motel fool you. It is very clean and the people are extremely nice. There are no phones in the room, so if you need something, you have to walk down to the office. This is a walk up hotel, no elevators, but it is only three floors and the view is well worth... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy G
MsJAKoch, Innkeeper at Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to having you with us soon again. More 

Martinsburg, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2016

We stayed w/ Cutty Sark last summer in July 2015, ocean view balcony w/ queen bed, sleeper sofa, and kitchenette. We absolutely LOVED it. It was home away from home. While it does seem the facility is stuck in 80's-90's, we took comfort and enjoyed it. It was clean, comfortable, functional, and the best part RELAXING with just a short... More 

Helpful?
Thank kristih44
Big Lake, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2016 via mobile

Arrived at the Cutty Sark and I'm not happy. After seeing this place in Virginia Beach for years and thinking it would be a nice place to stay, I have come to the concussion that this is not the place for me. The clerk was very rude and they do not provide enough parking to cover the guest they rent... More 

Helpful?
Thank AKSnoqueen
MsJAKoch, Innkeeper at Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel, responded to this review

I am so sorry you were not happy. You spoke by phone to our front desk a number of times and we explained that we only have a little over a dozen units and even though many guest with Handicaps stay with us and are comfortable, we do not have any units designated as Handicapped. Your oversized truck did fit... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2016 via mobile

The efficiency we stayed in was very cute, exactly as pictured in the brochure and on-line listings. We were on the third floor, and it's a walk-up, so the luggage got heavier on each flight going up. The kitchen was small but very useful. We even cooked in one night, and it was great to have dishes, utensils, and cookware... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan_long_island
MsJAKoch, Innkeeper at Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel, responded to this review

What a joy to have folks like you stay with us.....I am posting your comment right now so all our staff can see. You make us very happy. This is our life....Kindest regards and do come again soon. More 

1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2016 via mobile

Kitchen is very old and bathrooms was clean but tub had rust. Beds was comfy to sleep on and was very clean and seen NO bugs anywhere. Was the cheapest place to stay we could find at the time. They do have a small pool and one area outside your room if you need clothes cleaned.

Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
MsJAKoch, Innkeeper at Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel, responded to this review

You are right, the kitchenettes are old, almost 50 years old. They are original to the Building 1969. We treasure them. I hope you enjoyed your stay and that we provided all you needed for a clean, relaxing, very convenient home away from home while you enjoyed our beautiful city of Virginia Beach. Come see us again. More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2016 via mobile

First off, LOVE the location and everyone at Cutty Sark was super nice. I loved sitting on our private balcony in the morning with my coffee and watching the dolphins play. I saw so many dolphins on a daily basis. Bring your binoculars for a better view, but you can watch them without them. The room could use some updating.... More 

Helpful?
Thank smccanless1
MsJAKoch, Innkeeper at Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel, responded to this review

I am so sorry we did not please...I do not remember the pool being closed except during rain, and we have had lot of that. Give us another chance. Kindest regards.. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
Northeast Virginia Beach
19 Atlantic Hotel
19 Atlantic Hotel
#59 of 108 in Virginia Beach
319 reviews
Belvedere Beach Resort
#6 of 108 in Virginia Beach
445 reviews
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
#5 of 108 in Virginia Beach
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Virginia Beach
Royal Clipper Inn and Suites
Royal Clipper Inn and Suites
#40 of 108 in Virginia Beach
442 reviews
Beach Carousel Motel
#70 of 108 in Virginia Beach
134 reviews
Northeast Virginia Beach
Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency
Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency
#72 of 108 in Virginia Beach
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Cutty Sark Motel is located in the exclusive, quite North End of the Virginia Beach Boardwalk and directly across the street from the Ocean. Balconies have wonderful view of the Ocean and the Dolphins who live there. We are only Five (5) minutes from the convention center. Free entertainment nightly at Neptune Park. A great way to start the evening. Shopping, fine dining and live entertainment are but a stroll away. Each guest room has a full equipped efficiency with everything a family of four(4) needs to prepare light meals. Our Historic Cottages will accommodate up to eight (8) persons. Refrigerator, microwave, stove toaster as well as coffee and tea service. Dinette, sleep sofa, color, cable TV with HBO, air conditioning and free wifi. Most rooms have balconies with memorable views of the Ocean. The Cutty Sark is convenient to the Virginia Beach Convention Center( 5 Minutes ) The Cutty Sark is 3 mi from Edgar Cayce/ARE Center, 4 mi from the Virginia Aquarium, 7mi from Oceana Naval Air Station, 1 mi from Old Cape Henry Lighthouse and 13 mi from Norfolk International Airport.Golf, Tennis, Fishing and Boating are close by. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel

Address: 3614 Atlantic Ave, Across the Street From the Ocean, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2707
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Price Range: $113 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cutty Sark Efficiency Hotel Virginia Beach
Hotel Style:
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
9 days ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Cutty Sark Efficiency Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ocean view w/ balcony”
 of 5 bubbles kristih44, Jun 28, 2016 | Read review
“Go elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles a25556, May 12, 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with a balcony. It gives you a bit more space.”
 of 5 bubbles samtinch, Oct 17, 2015 | Read review
“Ocean view, choose rooms 32,33,34. Ask for Jerry!”
 of 5 bubbles kerryo141, Aug 29, 2015 | Read review
“The front rooms have balconies and are located on Atlantic avenue. Rooms on the north side of the building have less street noise.”
 of 5 bubbles mimizh_12, Jun 11, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay