We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ocean Sands Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ocean Sands Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

297 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 294: English reviews
Trenton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First, let me say, the ocean view is fantastic. Other than that, the rooms sucked. The bed, including the pullout sofa were TERRIBLE. The kids felt every spring. Wasn't very clean, and no I'm not very picky, but I shouldn't have found someone else's hair in the tub on the bathroom floor. You have to go get the toilet paper... More 

Review collected in partnership with Armed Forces Vacation Club

Helpful?
2 Thank Mayra F
Charles W, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review on trip advisor. The issues your mentioned are being rectified. Thank you for bringing them to our attention. I hope with your next visit we will be able to provide you with the Great Family Vacation Experience you and your Family deserve. More 

Dale City, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is in an amazing location on the boardwalk with a complete kitchen (dishwasher, full-sized fridge and a combo microwave/convection oven). While the hallways were quite warm and the main elevator was a bit small for the luggage carts (didn't realize there was a freight elevator I should've used), the rest of the hotel is great and I couldn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank ATaylor2020
Charles W, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank You for your recent review on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to see that we were able to provide you with a Great Family Vacation. We look forward to hearing from you again soon to plan your next Stay with us. More 

St. Marys
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is by far one of the most awful places I stayed in. The room was dirty. There was dirt on the dining room table and crumbs underneath the table. The refrigerator looked like it hadnt been wiped down in months. Our bathroom was missing the shower curtain. When we called to get the shower curtain, we also asked for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Baraka w
Charles W, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Trip advisor. Your comment are important to us and are being taken into consideration for improvement. I hope you will reconsider and will give us another opportunity to provide you and your family with a Great Family Vacation. More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is awesome. It's halfway between the 2nd Street Playground and the end of the boardwalk at 40th Street. It is a location that makes walking to both ends of the strip a breeze. The amenities of the room are fair. No complaints about the microwave, refrigerator, AC, TVs, stoves, and/or couches. Given that the unit is smaller, we... More 

Helpful?
Thank ShawnNic A
Charles W, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank You for your recent and fair review of our Resort on Trip Advisor. I assure you the issues are being looked into. This is why we ask for review so we can work on these areas. The small elevator does have a maximum cap. of 5 people and it does seem to get over loaded. We are looking into... More 

Richmond, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We only stayed for 2 nights. So the breakdown: Customer service: I was greeted by very friendly staff., Check out was quick but I felt rushed, was not given a receipt. Was told that the 100.00 deposit would be applied only for any damages however it was charged out regardless and I am waiting on it to be credited back... More 

Helpful?
Thank jlipscomb7
Charles W, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank You for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Please accept my apologies for the deposit situation and we are able to provide your bank with a release letter for faster recovery. The other issues are being addressed as well. We did jus put in a new wifi program and are still working on getting the kinks out. I hope... More 

Eastlake, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a disappointment to show up tired and ready for vacation only to find nothing but a run down filthy place for you and your family to stay. Should I mention mold on the shower curtain. The buildup of filth due to lack of cleaning efforts. I had to demand they come and clean again while we had to leave.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank allysmygirl
Charles W, General Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest and recent review on trip advisor. I do apologize for us not meeting your expectations during your stay with us. I assure all issues have been addressed and we are making changes to correct them. I hope you will reconsider and give another opportunity to wow you with our changes and provide you with a... More 

Moorefield, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Gabby was wonderful. She was so helpful and tried to do everything we asked. Could not have asked anything more!!!! The units were very nice. The new roof on the pool was a really nice improvement and the balconies are great.

Helpful?
Thank twshockey
Charles W, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor Review. Gabby seems to be making a lasting impression on our guest and setting an example for all of our teammates to follow. It was a pleasure to see that she assisted in providing you with a Great Family Vacation Experience. We look forward to hearing from you soon to plan you next... More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After a seven hour car ride in traffic, and my three-year-old getting extremely, violently carsick....we arrived at Ocean Sands in search of refuge and cleaning supplies to, clean our van and our child's car seat . Specifically, April and Gabby, in the front office/Lobby met us with kind words and provided us with all necessary cleaning supplies in order to... More 

Helpful?
Thank smccarthy2902
Charles W, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor Review. It was a pure joy to read how my staff (April and Gabby) were able to assist you during your time of need. I hope your trip home was more pleasant. We look forward to hearing from you soon to plan your next Great Family Vacation Experience. More 

Haddam, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my husband have been coming here for the last 6 Years Place very spacious two bath rooms oceanfront View kitchen area with large refrigerator stove living room and a kitchen table to have breakfast and lunch we eat out for dinner staff very accommodating help me get on the Internet after hour staff came to the room and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
Charles W, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

Welcome back and thank you for the Review on Trip Advisor. What a joy to read that we continue to provide you with a Great Family Vacation each year. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Flushing, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location. Unit was small, outdated and needed some maintenance upgrades. Bed was very uncomfortable. The couch needed to be replaced as well. No laundry facilities in unit, but on the floor above or below. The staff was friendly and check in was very smooth. The staff did not pressure you to buy a time share. Again, great location right... More 

Review collected in partnership with Armed Forces Vacation Club

Helpful?
1 Thank David G
Charles W, Manager at Ocean Sands Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We do have plans for upgrading our units accessories but at the time we are still recovering from our major construction of our balconies in which we just added last year. Please bear with us and reconsider staying with us again soon. I is always a pleasure providing our Guest with... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

126 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (119)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Atrium Resort
Atrium Resort
#41 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#63 of 111 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia B...
#19 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#34 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capes Hotel
Capes Hotel
#32 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 370 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villa...
#61 of 111 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Johnny Mananas
Johnny Mananas
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar, American, Seafood, Pub
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Staying at a VSA Resort gives you all the comforts of home without having to mow the lawn, do the dishes, or fold the laundry. We love having fun with our guests and strive to give each person–big and small, young and young at heart–the best vacation memories possible.The Ocean Sands Resort is located in the heart of the Virginia Beach Oceanfront directly on the boardwalk, the 104 unit smoke-free resort features a Caribbean theme and family-oriented atmosphere. All vacation units are two-room suites with kitchenettes.You are invited to experience the ONLY PURE Allergy Friendly suites in Virginia that have gone through a comprehensive process to dramatically improve the air quality and nearly eliminate most irritants. A PURE room is an allergy-friendly, healthy alternative for every guest.On site amenities include:• 24 hour front desk service• Daily activities for all ages• Indoor Pool• Indoor Jacuzzi• Fitness Center• Restaurant • Activities Center & Gaming Room• Sun Patio• On-site parking• Complimentary guest laundry facilities• Complimentary wireless internet access• Complimentary tanning • Harris Teeter on-line shopping & grocery deliveryUnit amenities include:• Queen size pillow-top mattress• Full size sleeper sofa• Kitchenettes with smooth top burners, convection/microwave oven, dishware, cookware, glassware and utensils• Full size refrigerator• Dishwasher• 2 flat screen televisions ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Resort

Address: 2207 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3233
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Price Range: $111 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sands Hotel Virginia Beach
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay