We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,033 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,018: English reviews
Start your review of Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
 Click to rate
Blue Ridge, Georgia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had to wait as the lobby was full and finally they called another person to check us in. No reference to the parking garage, NO hot water in the shower. This was highly unusual as we stay at Hampton Inns on vacation a lot. We were very disappointed in this hotel. Loud maids woke us up each morning slamming...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank susan p
HOTEL’S FAVORITE REVIEW
Reviewed November 2, 2016

Checked in here at the last minute after a very bad experience at another Atlantic Ave hotel. Cheerfully greeted by Hadia who helped arrange the best available room for us- a king suite on the 9th floor starting the next day. The next day we checked in, and had a few (minor) issues with the room location. As we were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bill H
About Hotel's Favorite Review
George L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very happy to hear that Hadia made you feel at home and were attentive to your needs. This is really one of the things that we try to excel in at our hotel. Hoping to see you again soon! Kind Regards,

Williamsburg, United States
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great place, highly recommend it everyone was very friendly and very professional the breakfast was great, they were very knowledgeable of everything we needed including the areas of interests restaurants, places to shop, and attractions

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank donj381
Sicklerville, New Jersey
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is an excellent choice to stay in VA beach and enjoy all the are has to offer. This is my first time staying at this hotel and I was very impressed on the location and amenities offered. I highly recommend this property for visitors looking for a high quality place to stay.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Demetrius B
Manassas, Virginia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We enjoyed our stay very much. The staff was sweet and accommodating. The restaurant was very good. There was a playground on the beach so very kids friendly. Will definitely return to the hotel if we go back to Virginia beach, Va.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 70colleen
Traphill, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this Hampton. It is everything you expect from a Hampton: Clean, Welcoming, Well Staffed, Well Appointed. Location on the VA Beach boardwalk is excellent and there are several great restaurants nearby.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jolly4us
Petersburg, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was down here a couple of weeks ago for a charity event. I was running late, so I called the hotel to see if my guess could get in their rooms. I was thankful that they allowed them all to get in early. I instruction the Front Desk staff to keep the rooms all under my name and DO...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KingDavis28
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location, just a quick walk to the beach, amazing balcony view and free breakfast. The hotel did happen to run out of coffee during breakfast one morning, it was sorta disappointing mainly because we are a coffee obsessed family, however the woman who was trying to take care of things while keeping everyone content was doing the best job...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cristinachianti
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Old, run down rooms and bathrooms, noisy ACs, terrible lighting, smelly rooms and hallways. Suite doors between rooms lets you hear everything in the room next door. Nice ocean view but for the money it is not a good value.Looks and feels like a budget hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John_Galt_VA
George L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this review

Dear John Galt, Thank you for your review. We’re sorry we didn’t provide the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the issues encountered, and we’re working with our team to ensure the situations don’t happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you’ll stay with us again...

Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was my worst experience with a Hampton Hotel. The heat pump was extremely noisy, the phone didn't work and there was no place to hang wet towels. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was good. The parking was easy to reach. The room was clean and comfortable. The little refrigerator was fine. The...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doug R
George L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South, responded to this review

Dear Doug R, I sincerely apologize for the noise issue encountered during your stay. As well, I regret that your phone wasn’t working and there was no place to hang towels. Our guests’ comfort and safety is my number one concern. Your review will assist in correcting issues in the future. I do hope that the next time you are...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

453 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (165)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (41)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (225)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Beach (3)
Viewed
One King Bedroom Suite (69)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)
Viewed
Two Queen Bedroom with Oceanfront View (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
995 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#22 of 109 in Virginia Beach
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hampton Inn Oceanfront-South is one of the few oceanfront hotels in Virginia Beach located directly on the boardwalk. Right outside our doors, you'll find the sandy shores of the beach, bicycle rentals, and beautiful scenery. We are attached to the 11th Street Taphouse so stop in for a bite and a drink after a day in the sun. Every room in our hotel has an ocean view so you will never miss a sunset or sunrise from your balcony. Enjoy free hot breakfast with Hampton's signature waffles and oatmeal every morning plus free wireless internet to keep you connected. Our guest and accessible rooms have the comforts of home with the clean and fresh Hampton bed plus a refrigerator and microwave. As always, your stay with us is backed by the 100% Hampton guarantee. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South

Address: 1011 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Price Range: $106 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct and Booking.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#30 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South staff and other travelers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Stephenson
8 months ago
Joppa
Alexandria, Virginia
over a year ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Upper floors have less noise from the below.”
  • View From Room
  • Sunrise
  • Sunrise
  • Sunrise
 of 5 bubbles cristinachianti, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Rooms with a view are worth the upgrade - great size balcony for overlooking the ocean!”
 of 5 bubbles bwade924, Jan 10, 2017 | Read review
“The rooms on the southern end may be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles ConnieC261, Jan 2, 2017 | Read review
“All rooms appear quiet and face the Atlantic Ocean with a magnificent view.”
 of 5 bubbles rockytravel, Dec 28, 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors have the best views”
 of 5 bubbles 82christinaj, Oct 11, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question