We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Royal Clipper Inn and Suites
Royal Clipper Inn and Suites
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

440 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 430: English reviews
Roanoke
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Looked dumpy on the outside, but the rooms turned out to be OK...with the exception being that one of our rooms didn't have a shower curtain. Staff was notified, but one never got installed. Parking was a pain. Stay there again in the future? Probably not.

Helpful?
Thank VACaver
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The room was sufficient for our family stay. However the parking spaces are very tight. You'll definitely end up with dents on your doors. Some ppl doubled parked in order to avoid dents I'm sure, but this made it more difficult to find parking. Beach is right across the street which was nice and beach store was right next to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Reyna M
DannielleQ, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor! We appreciate your feedback as a valued guest and thank you for your time in leaving us this review. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed our great location with easy access to the beach right across the street! We are lucky to have an excellent location near all of the shops... More 

Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in an efficiency suite for 8 days, and we were generally satisfied with what we got for what we paid. The room was generally clean (except for the stain on a sheet that was a pretty gross). I will say, however, that we will probably not return. We will spend the extra money and get something nicer next... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom S
DannielleQ, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate your feedback as a guest! It is nice to hear that the efficiency suite was large enough to accommodate your group. We are very fortunate to have large rooms so you can comfortably enjoy an extended stay with the ability to cook your own... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Older hotel but nice and clean. Small bathrooms and pool. Close to the beach. Staff friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again. Price was good. Convenient to walk to dining. No continental breakfast but plenty of options within walking distance

Helpful?
Thank jdsidle
DannielleQ, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate your time I'm leaving this review! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our cleaning rooms as well as our wonderful location across from the beach. Our staff strives to provide the highest level of customer service available and we are glad to hear... More 

Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2016

We had a problem with another hotel that led us to book this literally last minute (10 minutes before we checked in!), so we were scared of how this motel would be. It doesn't look like much from the outside, but the rooms were extremely nice and quaint. Clean rooms that look recently updated. We had a great view of... More 

Helpful?
Thank erin_place
DannielleQ, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review and kind words on TripAdvisor! Our guests feedback and opinions are greatly appreciated. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and that your room was clean. Thankfully we have a great location right across from the beach which allows us to keep our rates lower but still have a great view... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile

I paid just under $600.00 for 3 nights, the room was dirty, sheets weren't changed, house keeping was all gone for the day, the nice maintenance man got the laundry guy to get us clean sheets which was nice. However, check-in is at 4, how are all your housekeepers all gone already? Something spilled on the wall, the counter was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Teresa H
DannielleQ, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on trip advisor. Your feedback as a guest is greatly valuable to us! I am sorry to hear about the issues you encountered during your stay. We have addressed these issues with our executive housekeeper to make sure that they do not happen again. Unfortunately the housekeepers do leave... More 

Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2016

Plus: Hotel is clean, fridge, blow dryer (wasn't in great shape but at least they had one), able to have packages delivered from amazon, across the street from beach, and there are choices of restaurants nearby Cons: Pool max is 12 (yes 12), a/c wasn't the best but this place is like a motel more than a hotel, yes you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mommy-Traveler-1967
DannielleQ, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we greatly appreciate your time in writing this review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our great location across from the beach as well as all our amenities. Unfortunately our pool is not the largest so we can only have as many people as the inspectors say we can, for this I apologize. I... More 

Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2016

I have stayed in this motel twice. Both times, the rooms were clean. Granted, it's a small motel, so the bathrooms are small, and the beds are only doubles (king is an option as well), but for the price, I think it's great. Staff was very friendly and let us check in when we got there at 11:30am, as our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amy R
DannielleQ, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a nice review! We greatly appreciate you taking time to leave us feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our staff and our rooms. We are a smaller property, however we always do our best to provide you with a wonderful experience here at the Royal Clipper. We hope... More 

Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2016

Room was clean, comfortable, reasonably priced and one block away from the beach. I will stay there again. My only complaint: the elevator. Elevator was dirty and smelly. They can easily fix that if they wanted to.

Helpful?
Thank esco79ph
DannielleQ, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor! We greatly appreciate your feedback as a guest. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with our convenient location across from the beach and affordable rooms. We have spoken with our housekeeping supervisor about the elevator and taken care of the issue. Thank you for choosing to... More 

Mason, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2016

The room was clean and it was close to the beach which was a plus.They make your bed everyday if you want and give you new towels but they don't change the sheets until you leave! I am use to a place where they change sheets every time they make the beds. The pool is way too small for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank crowleyboys
DannielleQ, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank your time taken to write this review, as we appreciate all the feedback. I am sorry that our housekeeping did not exceed the level of service you would have liked. We will work with our housekeeping department to resolve this issue. Unfortunately the pool is smaller than most, but being right across the street from the beach we find... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

147 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (72)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Double Room (15)
Viewed
King Suite (28)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
Schooner Inn
#51 of 110 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Northeast Virginia Beach
19 Atlantic Hotel
19 Atlantic Hotel
#56 of 110 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Belvedere Beach Resort
#5 of 110 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn & Suites
#37 of 110 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Oceans 2700 Hotel
#55 of 110 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Alamar Resort Inn
#53 of 110 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Address: 36th Street & Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach > Northeast Virginia Beach
Price Range: $75 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Clipper Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Clipper Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Clipper Hotel Virginia Beach
Royal Clipper Motel
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#9 Best Value Hotel in Virginia Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay