We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Royal Clipper Inn and Suites
Royal Clipper Inn and Suites
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

435 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 426: English reviews
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a problem with another hotel that led us to book this literally last minute (10 minutes before we checked in!), so we were scared of how this motel would be. It doesn't look like much from the outside, but the rooms were extremely nice and quaint. Clean rooms that look recently updated. We had a great view of... More 

Helpful?
Thank erin_place
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I paid just under $600.00 for 3 nights, the room was dirty, sheets weren't changed, house keeping was all gone for the day, the nice maintenance man got the laundry guy to get us clean sheets which was nice. However, check-in is at 4, how are all your housekeepers all gone already? Something spilled on the wall, the counter was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Teresa H
Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Plus: Hotel is clean, fridge, blow dryer (wasn't in great shape but at least they had one), able to have packages delivered from amazon, across the street from beach, and there are choices of restaurants nearby Cons: Pool max is 12 (yes 12), a/c wasn't the best but this place is like a motel more than a hotel, yes you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mommy-Traveler-1967
DannielleQ, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we greatly appreciate your time in writing this review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our great location across from the beach as well as all our amenities. Unfortunately our pool is not the largest so we can only have as many people as the inspectors say we can, for this I apologize. I... More 

Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed in this motel twice. Both times, the rooms were clean. Granted, it's a small motel, so the bathrooms are small, and the beds are only doubles (king is an option as well), but for the price, I think it's great. Staff was very friendly and let us check in when we got there at 11:30am, as our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amy R
DannielleQ, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a nice review! We greatly appreciate you taking time to leave us feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our staff and our rooms. We are a smaller property, however we always do our best to provide you with a wonderful experience here at the Royal Clipper. We hope... More 

Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room was clean, comfortable, reasonably priced and one block away from the beach. I will stay there again. My only complaint: the elevator. Elevator was dirty and smelly. They can easily fix that if they wanted to.

Helpful?
Thank esco79ph
DannielleQ, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor! We greatly appreciate your feedback as a guest. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with our convenient location across from the beach and affordable rooms. We have spoken with our housekeeping supervisor about the elevator and taken care of the issue. Thank you for choosing to... More 

Mason, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was clean and it was close to the beach which was a plus.They make your bed everyday if you want and give you new towels but they don't change the sheets until you leave! I am use to a place where they change sheets every time they make the beds. The pool is way too small for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank crowleyboys
DannielleQ, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank your time taken to write this review, as we appreciate all the feedback. I am sorry that our housekeeping did not exceed the level of service you would have liked. We will work with our housekeeping department to resolve this issue. Unfortunately the pool is smaller than most, but being right across the street from the beach we find... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at Royal Clipper this past week for a Dance Convention and want to say it was a great location on the strip and the staff was just as helpful and pleasant and nice as can be. This hotel is not on the beach nor have an ocean view but......the ocean is about 20 steps across the street and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beverly M
DannielleQ, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review and kind comments! Guest feedback is greatly appreciated. Our staff aims to go above and beyond what is expected from customer service professionals and we will pass your comments on to them. Our location across the street from the beach is very convenient and because it is not one of the oceanfront high rise... More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Vacationed here with my girlfriend's family, who had a time share, on the beach near 5th Street. It was a gift and we were booked through AAA, whom said this Inn was a 3.5 Star location.....not(more of a 2-2.5)! Early check in, was not an option, as we arrived 4 hours early due to traveling from a few states away.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael H
DannielleQ, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Your feedback as guest is greatly appreciated. I would like to apologize for the billing issues you encountered as there seems to have been some sort of miscommunication from AAA. However we do not recommend booking though a third party booker as it can complicate billing issues more. When booking directly... More 

Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016

Clean room, but small (full beds only). Staff very friendly and responsive. Full time staff is excellent, but some of the housekeeping staff skip rooms / tasks - We had to call to get room cleaned on more than one occasion. Convenient Location across street from beach / boardwalk. All in all, we will be back as the value for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth P
DannielleQ, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Guest feedback is always very appreciated! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us at our convenient location as well as found our staff tobe kind. I see you mentioned our beds beings smaller, however we do offer rooms with one king size bed as well. We have brought the issue of housekeepers... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2016 via mobile

It's kinda of a you get what you pay for. I will say the room was clean but staff the first evening/night was rude. We had an efficiency for 6 but they only have us 6 pillows and told is we couldn't have more and our toilet broke that first evening and the guy on shift said he would call... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sara N
DannielleQ, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Clipper Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. Your feedback is very much appreciated. I apologize that you had an unpleasant encounter with one of our team members and we have had a meeting with our staff to remind them this is not acceptable. We are glad you enjoyed our location right across the street from the beach that helps... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

145 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (65)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (72)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Double Room (15)
Viewed
King Suite (28)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
Schooner Inn
#50 of 111 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 378 reviews
Belvedere Beach Resort
#6 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 428 reviews
Northeast Virginia Beach
19 Atlantic Hotel
19 Atlantic Hotel
#59 of 111 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn & Suites
#36 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Alamar Resort Inn
#51 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanfront Vir...
#17 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Royal Clipper Inn and Suites

Address: 36th Street & Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach > Northeast Virginia Beach
Price Range: $77 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Clipper Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Clipper Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Clipper Hotel Virginia Beach
Royal Clipper Motel
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay