We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton

Save
Share
5641 Indian River Road, Virginia Beach, VA 23464-5247
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
$97
View deal
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Expedia.com$97
Traveluro
Lol.travel$105
View all 22 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (538)
Room & Suite (316)
Dining (96)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 12/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Updated 12/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#40 of 116 hotels in Virginia Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The timeless Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton is a Virginia Beach resort that pampers guests with the comforts of home, concierge attention and hi-tech conveniences. Select guest rooms with fireplaces and views of the serene lake and lovely Colonial garden are especially unforgettable. The Founders Inn and Spa features a wealth of excellent amenities and guest services including comfortable rooms and suite accommodations, in-house restaurants, a spa and fitness center, a shuttle service, pet-friendly rooms, complimentary wi-fi, special event spaces and meeting venues, to name a few. Whether it is a business stay, a family vacation, or a life event, we are looking forward to a chance to serve you at The Founders Inn and Spa near Norfolk, Virgnia.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Kid-friendly buffet
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
Pedicure
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Bulgarian, Filipino and 4 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
1739Reviews29Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 798
  • 420
  • 240
  • 148
  • 133
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
wilverhow wrote a review Jan 11
1 contribution
This hotel has great classical style and potential to be a really quality property; however, the lack of service and attention to detail as well as a knowledgable staff places it near the bottom of any Hilton property I have ever stayed at. This not a hotel that I would recommend to anyone who is seeing quality accommodations.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Georges, Sales at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 6 days ago
wilverhow, We are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us. We are in the process of renovating and it sounds like some of our employees can use additional training. We have a lot of new staff on our team, so we will continue to work with them so they are more knowledgable. Sincerely, Melissa Georges
Read more
Larissa G wrote a review Apr 2021
Weehawken16 contributions10 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
The hotel by far exceeded my expectations. Classic and beautiful. Old fashioned but very well taking care of. What a pleasure to walk in large lobbing and lounging areas beautifully decorated. Very professional s as na experienced staff. Dinning in the elegant restaurant ( excellent food and services too!) and walking in the early morning in the very nice surrounding area ( Regency College) in a walking distance were a big plus. Planing on returning in the summer to enjoy de pool.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Georges, Sales at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded Apr 2, 2021
Larissa G, We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to your next visit when our outdoor pool will be open. Take care, Melissa Georges
Read more
Marie W wrote a review Jan 7
Virginia Beach, Virginia1 contribution
While looking forward to staying at this historic hotel, the quality and service were lacking. A shame as potential nice grounds, and traditional ambiance. However, clear has not been kept up and more disappointing was the service mindset was that of an economy type hotel rather than an beautiful traditional establishment.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Georges, Sales at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 1 week ago
Mayflower12, We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed during your stay. We are doing a room renovation right now and that will help make our hotel a beautiful again. Sincerely, Melissa
Read more
dougluke wrote a review Jan 6
Chesapeake, Virginia1 contribution
Definite odor when entering the foyer area. Tub was full of water. Dead bugs on the bathroom floor. We were very disappointed. The New Years Eve party was great. The foyer in the wings should have a TV.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Georges, Sales at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 1 week ago
dougluke, Thank you for this feedback. We are sorry to hear about the condition of your room and we will be following up with housekeeping regarding this. We are glad that you enjoyed the party and we will research about putting TV's in the foyers of the lodges. Surprisingly, you are the first person to mention this. Sincerely, Melissa Georges
Read more
AyannaSunshine wrote a review Jan 4
1 contribution
God bless America: the half chicken was AMAZING. Thank you, chef. I was all set to give a 1-star because my room was completely unacceptable: Torn curtains and dust ruffles, chipped paint, ironing board but no iron, a disgusting face mask from a previous guest IN MY ROOM…it was pretty bad. However, I’m an artist and this place is BEAUTIFUL. In addition, I’m a foodie and my dinner was so delicious. I know it’s a weird time for all of us. Nonetheless, you have a brand to uphold and represent. Wolverine got mad at these curtains. TOTALLY unacceptable for me to have SHREDDED curtains. I took pics, straightaway because it was highly unusual. In closing, your staff missed a USED FACE MASK FROM A PREVIOUS GUEST!!! Is that how The Tapestry Collection, by Hilton operates? I spent over $350 during my 2 night stay. I COMPLETELY expected better.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Georges, Sales at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 2 weeks ago
AyannaSunshine, We definitely need to find out what room you were in and remove those curtains. We can only guess how they got like that, but our housekeeping staff should have noticed them. We are glad you enjoyed the food, but we are terribly sorry for the curtains in your room. Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback with us so we can get better. Sincerely, Melissa Georges
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$101 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the founders hotel virginia beach, founders hotel virginia beach
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaVirginia Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
240
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Which popular attractions are close to The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Nearby attractions include Tidewater Stage (0.2 miles) and GameOn Gaming Center (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Conveniently located restaurants include Swan Terrace Restaurant, The Commonwealth, and Papa's Greek Family Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Does The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton have airport transportation?
Yes, The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.