We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton

Save
Share
5641 Indian River Road, Virginia Beach, VA 23464-5247
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$164
View deal
Traveluro
$157
View deal
Travelocity$164
Booking.com$164
travelup.com$182
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (543)
Room & Suite (372)
Dining (107)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 07/21/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Updated 07/21/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#40 of 117 hotels in Virginia Beach
Location
4.1
Cleanliness
4.1
Service
4.1
Value
3.9
The timeless Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton is a Virginia Beach resort that pampers guests with the comforts of home, concierge attention and hi-tech conveniences. Select guest rooms with fireplaces and views of the serene lake and lovely Colonial garden are especially unforgettable. The Founders Inn and Spa features a wealth of excellent amenities and guest services including comfortable rooms and suite accommodations, in-house restaurants, a spa and fitness center, a shuttle service, pet-friendly rooms, complimentary wi-fi, special event spaces and meeting venues, to name a few. Whether it is a business stay, a family vacation, or a life event, we are looking forward to a chance to serve you at The Founders Inn and Spa near Norfolk, Virgnia.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Billiards
Patio
Kids stay free
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Waterslide
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
Pedicure
Solarium
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish, Bulgarian and 5 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
1764Reviews29Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 804
  • 427
  • 243
  • 150
  • 141
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Dal147 wrote a review Yesterday
New York City, New York16 contributions8 helpful votes
Room was horrible - dirty bathroom, lampshades were at least 30+ years old - stained and filthy, furniture was like something that sat in someone's attic for years, No bellhops to help with luggage - had to drag luggage out the back door and over a brick walk to get to the building where my horrible room was. The spa was nice - but not overly accommodating. Staff was rude and inept.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Book a different hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
13Rugrats wrote a review Aug 2021
Cowden, Illinois12 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
The hotel was nice. The buffet in the restaurant was great for breakfast and lunch. These were included in the conference we attended so I can’t comment on the cost for these. My only complaint was the hot tub wasn’t opened and the outdoor pool closed at dusk.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Georges, Sales at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded Aug 10, 2021
13Rugrats, Thank you very much for your kind comments and for sharing your feedback with us. Sincerely, Melissa Georges
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tatiana L wrote a review Sep 22
7 contributions
I stay at many Hilton hotels due to my line of work and my loyalty to the brand, but I rarely ever feel this welcomed by hotel personnel. My special interaction began with Judith’s help in finding tea on property. She directed me to her coworker in the restaurant, Christa, who opened a neatly, organized tea box with at least 10 teas to choose from. Both greeted me with a warm smile and made me feel at home. This was all in addition to my spotless room and lovely experience in the salt water pool and spa. Founders went above and beyond in cleanliness, but overall FRIENDLINESS <3 Thanks ladies. Without knowing my Diamond Status, they treated me like Diamond.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Georges, Sales at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded yesterday
Wyagirl, We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. It is always our goal to have our staff assist guest with anything they need during their stay. We are so glad to hear that we were able to get your tea. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed your clean room. We have a dedicated housekeeping team who works hard every day to make sure our room are clean. Sincerely, Melissa Georges
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
C Town wrote a review Sep 18
11 contributions1 helpful vote
I wanted to like this hotel as it claims to be a Hilton managed property but sadly the quality and customer service are severely lacking. We had two rooms reserved and called to see if we could get an early check-in for one to drop bags and food, which normally can be done easily through the app, but was told it was impossible to know the night before. Luckily one of the rooms was ready early but was told we'd get texted when the second was ready. No texts, no communications, went back to the front desk at 4:30pm inquiring why we still couldn't get in. No apologies for their delays. In the meantime, the door of the other room broke and we couldn't get in. We made reservations for the shuttle for Friday, confirmed with multiple people and were left a voicemail that they were no longer able to provide us the shuttle. The manager dodge the calls and anytime we visited the front desk. Don't make a commitment to your guests if you aren't going to follow-through with them. Lastly, asked a few days in advance for a late checkout for the room we had a late check-in to and was told we'd need to ask the morning of. Called first thing in the morning and to confirm this was still possible and no help was given and ultimately was hung up on.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Georges, Sales at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 1 week ago
Carena T, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us. We are only able to accommodate early check-ins and late check-outs if we have the rooms available. We always try our best, but when the hotel is busy we are not always able to accommodate these requests. We should have apologized for the delay and inconvenience that we caused you so I am apologizing for that. Sincerely, Melissa Georges
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angie Michele wrote a review Sep 13
1 contribution
I can't emphasize enough how disappointing my stay was. It was my ONE night to relax and recharge away from my children after giving birth to twins in 2021 (I have 3 kids, ages 3 and under). My husband was treating me to spa and stay. What a slap in the face to be given the **absolute worst** room in the entire place. I will NEVER recommend this hotel to friends of family. As a military spouse I will NOT recommend this place to host our upcoming Christmas party for the squadron. I hope you use this as a teachable moment to staff; treat guests the way you would want to be treated if you were having your first vacation since 2018. Thanks
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Georges, Sales at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 1 week ago
Z6473HBangelas, Every Mom in my hotel is trying to figure out how to get in touch with you. We are so sorry that your visit was not what you deserved. We want to speak with you and make it up to you. So many of us are tired mom's (some with twins) and we know the importance of time away and just recharging for a night. This review does not provide us with your name so please email me directly at melissa.georges@foundersinn.com. We promise to do better next time.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kegtho G wrote a review Sep 5
2 contributions
As a diamond Hilton Honors member, I rate this hotel below average. No upgrade available, no late check out available, no bottle water at check in, no reserved Diamond parking spots… the shuttle does one trip to the beach per day. They will not make a special trip for a group of people although the shuttles are just sitting all day outisde the hotel. The breakfast is a joke and overpriced. The pool was nice, but they don’t offer towels, you will have to bring your own. The room was clean and the bed was very comfy. The lobby is usually busy because there is always a wedding going on. When I go to other Hilton owned hotels, I feel welcomed. In this hotel, they don’t try to go the extra mile to please anyone. I filled out the door hanger to get fresh towels for the next day. I was told they usually don’t check them. This hotel is good if you just need to sleep and walk around the beautiful garden. Other than this, I think it is overpriced.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Avoid the $30 breakfast
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Georges, Sales at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 2 weeks ago
I want to personally thank you for your loyalty to Hilton and I apologize that you were not recognized while you were on property. You did visit us on a Holiday weekend so that does limit our upgrades and check out times because we are so busy. Please know that we upgrade our Hilton Honors guests whenever possible. We did have a lot of weddings and events over the weekend. We are glad that you enjoyed the gardens, but it appears we fell short on the breakfast and towels. Your feedback has personally been shared with the Department Heads and they will be researching your feedback. We do not want to disappoint any guest while they stay with us and we are sorry that we fell short on service during your time with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marcellino D wrote a review Aug 2022
Dallas, Texas17 contributions14 helpful votes
I love the colonial theme of this venue, so appropriate given that it is not far from Williamsburg, VA. Lovely room but great amenities- on site restaurant, great fitness center with indoor and outdoor pool. The service, including a shuttle to both airport and beach, is superb. I highly recommend it.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Georges, Sales at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 3 weeks ago
Marcellino D, Thank you so much for your recommendation and for being our guest. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future. Sincerely, Melissa Georges
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Davidc0088 wrote a review Aug 2022
Denver, Colorado1 contribution
This place makes me feel like I stepped back 150 years. The decor and grounds are exceptional, The rooms are great and the food is some of the best I have had. I was so impressed. The bar is like a sitting parlor so it’s not necessarily a cozy place. However their selection of wine and beer was very good.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Georges, Sales at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 4 weeks ago
Davidc0088, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Sincerely, Melissa Georges
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christopher K wrote a review Aug 2022
Arlington, Virginia2 contributions
Grounds are very nice and appeared well kept. Room was on third floor and was nothing special. Cool reception at evening check-in. Morning check-out was much more friendly. Slept well as the room was quiet.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Georges, Sales at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 5 weeks ago
Christopher K, Thank you very much for being our guest and for sharing this feedback with us. Sincerely, Melissa Georges
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
trvlgrl422 wrote a review Aug 2022
New Jersey,USA107 contributions55 helpful votes
We stayed here on the last leg of a multi-state road trip. After reading negative reviews, I almost cancelled. I am so glad I didn't as this resort has so much charm. It reminded me of the cottages in Williamsburg and other historic hotels at colleges. If you are looking for a modern or standard hotel, this hotel may not meet your expectations. There is a main building which houses the lobby, restaurant, bar, and conference center. The rooms are in separate buildings. The room had a modern bathroom and a fireplace. The furniture is older and colonial style. Unfortunately, it was raining so we did not get to see the pool area or property. The garden area was beautiful. The property would be beautiful for a wedding and to house guests. We had dinner at the restaurant. It was a BBQ buffet. It wasn't the best buffet, but it met our needs for the evening as we were too tired to venture out. I would return to this location if in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Georges, Sales at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded Aug 8, 2022
trvlgrl422, We are so glad that you did not cancel either and we thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We hope that you will be able to visit us again the next time you are in Virginia Beach and we will hope for better weather next time too. Sincerely, Melissa Georges
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$152 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the founders hotel virginia beach, founders hotel virginia beach
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaVirginia Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
240
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Which popular attractions are close to The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Nearby attractions include Tidewater Stage (0.2 miles) and GameOn Gaming Center (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Conveniently located restaurants include Swan Terrace Restaurant, The Commonwealth, and Papa's Greek Family Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Does The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton have airport transportation?
Yes, The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.