We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton

Save
Share
5641 Indian River Road near the campus of Regent University, Virginia Beach, VA 23464-5247
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Booking.com
Hotels.com
FindHotel
$112
$99
View Deal
SAVE $13
Travelocity
Hilton.com$101
Hurb$112
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (499)
Room & Suite (323)
Dining (111)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 07/27/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Updated 07/27/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#33 of 110 hotels in Virginia Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The timeless Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton is a Virginia Beach resort that pampers guests with the comforts of home, concierge attention and hi-tech conveniences. Select guest rooms with fireplaces and views of the serene lake and lovely Colonial garden are especially unforgettable. The Founders Inn and Spa features a wealth of excellent amenities and guest services including comfortable rooms and suite accommodations, in-house restaurants, a spa and fitness center, a shuttle service, pet-friendly rooms, complimentary wi-fi, special event spaces and meeting venues, to name a few. Whether it is a business stay, a family vacation, or a life event, we are looking forward to a chance to serve you at The Founders Inn and Spa near Norfolk, Virgnia.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Kid-friendly buffet
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
Pedicure
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Bulgarian, Filipino and 4 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee

Location

Full view
1,627Reviews23Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 766
  • 411
  • 221
  • 124
  • 105
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Kunch P wrote a review Sep 27
14 contributions2 helpful votes
Entire staff was great besides the front desk manager. He was very rude. If you see the attached pictures you can see the mold in the shower. During a pandemic when cleanliness is so essential they did dropped the ball and did nothing to resolve the issue. A sweater was found under the bed as well. I hope upper management decides to do some re training.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Georges, Sales at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded today
kunchp, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I will send the pictures along with this information to our Executive Housekeeper so she can review this with her team. Upper Management is taking this very seriously and we will address it with the entire housekeeping department. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing
Read more
Kim M wrote a review Sep 22
Maryland2 contributions
We have stayed here many times and recently had a few issues with our rooms. This visit started out the same but little did I know that actually discussing these issues with Alan the manager, things were rectified immediately. He could have not been more professional and courteous. The entire staff from the front desk, cleaning, and restaurant are exceptional! We look forward to our next stay!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Georges, Sales at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 5 days ago
kminop, Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention so we had an opportunity to fix it. We are so glad Allen was able to turn your visit around and we are also looking forward to your next stay. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing
Read more
amandaestep wrote a review Sep 6
2 contributions
I have several chronic health conditions and woke up this morning to water dripping into the middle of room 3115 at Founders Inn in Virginia Beach VA. I am now sick as a result and had to go home today as a result. The front desk person claims to be the manager and she says I cannot be issued any type of refund. I spent an hour online trying to find the phone number for booking.com because she told me that the Founders Inn is not responsible for addressing refund requests and that booking.com is responsible, even though the leaking air conditioner is sending me home early sick one day into my first break from work since COVID-19 started in March.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Georges, Sales at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 3 weeks ago
amandaestep, We are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with. Your reservation was made with booking.com and not the hotel, so unfortunately this slows down the process of being able to assist you. We also had to contact this company to assist you with getting your refund and we spoke to them about not charging you for an early departure fee. Booking.com has your payment along with your reservation details so that is why we are not able to immediately rectify the situation at our front desk. We are working for you with booking.com to get you the resolution you are hoping for. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing
Read more
Launa Duffy wrote a review Sep 3
Salisbury, Maryland1 contribution
Founders Inn and I have a beautiful history. My grandparents spent every anniversary here, my mother had her bridesmaids weekend here, my 16 and 21 birthdays were spent with friends here. There was something always special and glitzy when we went to the founders inn for a weekend. Upon my last stay a month ago I was wondering where did all the beauty and the glam go? I know this hotel has begun to age in the last ten years as I have but upon my last visit I saw carpets horribly stained and matted with dirt. This wasn’t in just our room it was from the lobby, to the hallways, to the guest room, to the presidential suite. When Hilton purchased this property they made a big deal about upgrading it but I can’t see any upgrades besides maybe new mattresses. I was so worried it look different now I realize it would have helped if they updated some of the very old worn furniture in the rooms. The pool area looks somehow more bare than before. The spa and restaurants once a place that offered you the most delicious and easonal delights in beverages, meals, and spa treatments now hollow shells with not the customer service that was once there. I mean what is this hotel without their field greens salad?? Lastly, the front staff was completely rude, a place I was once a regular at now treated me like a stranger and lost my business for good.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Georges, Sales at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 3 weeks ago
426launad, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Yes, we became a hotel managed by Hilton, but not owned by Hilton, a little over a year ago. During that time, many upgrades have been made. I am sure you noticed our new restaurant furniture. new furniture in the guestroom building lobbies, and the beautiful addition of our Commonwealth Room. Our function space and meeting rooms also received new paint and carpet over the past year. We were in full renovation mode until March 2020. I am sure you are aware that a pandemic hit and we had to put all of our renovations on hold. We already have two model show rooms ready and were getting ready to renovate all of the other rooms right as Covid caused everything to pause. It hit the hospitality industry hard. We opted to put the renovations on hold and focus on keeping our employees employed. Our Spa and Restaurant are forced to have limited offerings under the Executive Order put in place by our Governor. It was not our intention to offer limited services, but it in necessary to keep our guests and employees safe. Safety is our number one priority. It is also our hope to get back to where we left off with the renovations once our business levels allow. I truly hope you do not write us off for good because some really exciting changes are going to be taking place! Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing
Read more
GardeningMom42 wrote a review Sep 2
Exton, Pennsylvania199 contributions91 helpful votes
We tried to book a room here and the only way to do it is through Reservations. com. When I received the confirmation, it said we were booked for some hotel in Oregon! I called back to Reservatoins.com and they said that they only rooms left at Founders Inn were pet-friendly rooms. We have severe dog allergies in our family. So although they messed up the reservation, and now had no room for us, we still had to eat the $19.99 reservation fee. After a few days, I did not get a cancellation email or a refund, so I called back. Each rep has been very difficult to understand (accents) and they're rude. They said they would resend the cancellation email and that it would take up to 30 days (THIRTY!) to get my refund. Meanwhile, it's on a credit card with interest. That's insane! Why 30 days?! There is no way to talk to anyone at the Founders Inn directly. When we have to make a reservation in the future, we will book at another Virginia Beach hotel near Regent...one that hires real employees with better attitudes that can get the reservation right.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Melissa Georges, Sales at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 3 weeks ago
GardeningMom42, I am sorry that you had this experience, but you are wrong that we only use Reservations.com. The Founders Inn and Spa has our own reservations department that work 7 days a week, on-site at our hotel. In addition to that, we rely on Hilton Reservations for our overflow calls. Each agent is very familiar with our hotel and amenities. You seem to be using a company that does not have any affiliation with our hotel or control over our room types and availability. That is the frustrating part when our guests book with outside companies. Hilton has price match guarantee, so you would have received the best price contacting our hotel directly. Again, we are very sorry that you had a bad experience, but this experience was not with our hotel or our employees. It is a shame that we now have a one star review when you never even had the pleasure of staying at our hotel or speaking with our wonderful employees. 757-424-5511 is our hotels direct number for future reference. Sincerely, Melissa Georges Director of Sales and Marketing
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$101 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the founders hotel virginia beach, founders hotel virginia beach
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaVirginia Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
240
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Which popular attractions are close to The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Nearby attractions include Tidewater Stage (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Conveniently located restaurants include Swan Terrace Restaurant, The Commonwealth, and Waffle House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Does The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Thai, Greek, Romanian, Korean, and Filipino.