We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Tappahannock
Post
Inbox
Search

Essex Inn

Save
203 Duke St PO Box 2038, Tappahannock, VA 22560-2200
Visit hotel website
E-mail hotel
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Lol.travel
Agoda.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (68)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (6)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Four rooms and four suites all with en suite bathrooms, luxurious amenities and Wi-Fi. All have working fireplaces, cable TV, air conditioning, hair dryers, irons, luxurious linens and plenty of oversized soft towels. Guests have access to a refrigerator and microwave, a screened-in porch and a private brick courtyard for outdoor relaxation and smoking. Wi-Fi is available throughout the property. A full, three-course breakfast is included along with afternoon snacks, wine and beer.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Street parking
Free internet
Wifi
Public wifi
Internet
Bar / lounge
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Canoeing
Game room
Hiking
Board games / puzzles
Fax / photocopying
Couples massage
Massage
Solarium
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Seating area
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
133Reviews0Q+A43Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 122
  • 6
  • 2
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The main house was beautiful and quant. We stayed in the carriage house. It was dated and has cockroaches. The inn keeper was very accommodating and apologetic and gave us a different room. That room was clean, and bug free, but dated and had stained carpets. The shower water had a strong sulfur smell in the morning. I don’t plan on returning.
Read more
Response from Janet C, Owner at Essex Inn
Responded Sep 16, 2019
I am very sorry that you were inconvenienced during your stay. We are dealing with the bug issue, which unfortunately does happen from time to time, especially in older buildings. We are very aware that the suites do need to be updated, and plan to refurbish in the near future. As for the water issue, I have not had any other guests commenting on any kind of sulfur smell, but will certainly check on it. Perhaps you might consider another visit in the future and enjoy a room in the main house. Thank you. Janet Owner
Read more
My husband and I stayed in the main house in a king room that was absolutely beautiful and authentically decorated. Janet's hospitality and local recommendations were so helpful and made our stay very enjoyable. She really puts time and effort into ensuring the quality of your stay. The inn had/provided plenty of drinks and snacks to keep us going and satisfied all day. The ambiance and peacefulness of the main house, especially in the evening, really made our stay quite relaxing. There are so many wonderful pieces of history throughout the house that would really excite any traveling historian. I think it's a perfect place to enjoy some quality time with family and friends, like we did, or even a wonderful stop along your way to another destination.
Read more
We were greeted by two people who informed us that they were not the Inn staff and they did not know what they were doing and were only there filling in since there was a sudden death in family. This instantly made us uncomfortable, we offered to leave and book somewhere else and were told no, they could not cancel our reservation. We politely made small talk and then were asked about the how towels worked at hotels. After explaining this and and other "hotel" related questions, we smiled and tried to make the best of a bad situation, then went to our room. The next morning when we got up we were sent to the local cafe up the block for breakfast, due to there being no cook on the premises. I could not eat 99% of the menu due to it being an egg restaurant and the Inn was notified prior to our arrival that I am allergic to eggs. The final day of our stay the other guests were served pancakes, a handful of blueberries, a cup of yogurt and 3 pieces of bacon. Instead of creating one plate just for me the Inn adjusted everyone's menu to my allergy. The fact is that we have stayed at dozens of Bed and Breakfasts and have never experienced this. My spouse and the other guests could not enjoy a wonderful meal that was promised to them is unacceptable. Our sympathies to the Inn for their loss, but honestly the best thing was for the Inn to cancel our reservations and re-book them at a time when they had time to process the loss that is going on.
Read more
Response from Jeff C, Owner at Essex Inn
Responded Jul 3, 2019
Hi there, this is Janet responding to your concerns above. I am so sorry to hear that your stay was not what you expected. It is true that we recently experienced a loss at the Inn and thank you for your kind thoughts. Being that this loss was a sudden and unexpected one, we did the very best we could to not disrupt any of our guests' previously planned stays, even considering the difficult nature of the situation. Our goal is always to provide the best customer service possible. I regret that you feel you did not experience this. I do want to be clear that we absolutely do not refuse cancellations of reservations at any point in time. This is not, and has not been our policy. Had you made your concerns about the general experience and the food options provided for you known to us at the time of your stay, we would have been able to make other arrangements for you. We do generally adjust menus to allow for guests' preferences, and made some adjustments to accommodate you as you requested. I hope you and your family have a safe and happy Fourth of July. -Janet
Read more
Celebrated our Wedding Anniversary at the Essex Inn in Tappahannock, Va on the beautiful middle Peninsula. It was an outstanding experience! Jeff started out upon our arrival by recommending and reserving a dinner for us at a great local restaurant. The accommodations were outstanding in an old historic Inn and servants' quarters. All rooms were historic and authentic. We had an original fireplace and wooden hand crank laundry machine in our suite. The breakfasts were fantastic, local farm fresh eggs, bacon and vegetables! The chorizo egg pudding was the best by Jeff, owner, husband, former DC area restaurateur and gourmet cook. His restored kitchen that they designed in the homes former basement is so well done in the style of the esrlyntimes of the home. Janet, wife and co-owner was a gracious host and so warm and sincere. Both were like family. Much to do in the area with much history and nautical views of the Rappahannock River. The greatest part of our visit was the warm, sincere hospitality by Jeff and Janet. We will go back and recommend this for others! Tom and Roxanne Carroll, Massanutten, Va.
Read more
Response from Jeff C, Owner at Essex Inn
Responded Jun 9, 2019
We had such a good time getting to know you and are so glad that you had such a wonderful experience. We can't wait to host you again!
Read more
We thoroughly enjoyed our second stay at the Essex Inn. The innkeepers , Janet and Jeff, have done a wonderful job of refreshing the Inn. We found the garden / patio area a lovely place to relax in the evening. We also like the new exterior lighting which highlights the house quite nicely. We stayed in the Kitchen Suite and in the Beige Room in the main house. We found both rooms charming, inviting and clean. Both rooms have their advantages and offer a different experience. Breakfast each day was varied , well prepared and tasty! Janet and Jeff work hard to accommodate their guests to ensure a pleasant stay. We appreciate their commitment to preserving this piece of history and to becoming a productive part of the community. Tappahannock is a lovely historic town that deserves a second chance!!
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaTappahannock
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Essex Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Essex Inn?
Nearby attractions include Essex County Museum and Historical Society (0.08 miles), Thyme In A Basket (0.2 miles), and Tappahannock Art Gallery (0.04 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Essex Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Essex Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Essex Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, barbeque facilities, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Essex Inn?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Essex Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include NN Burger Tappahannock, TO DO CAFE & SEAFOOD, and Java Jacks Coffee House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Essex Inn?
Yes, guests have access to yoga classes during their stay.
Is Essex Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Tappahannock.
Are pets allowed at Essex Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Essex Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting DAW Theater (0.05 miles).