We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
301 Greenville Ave, Staunton, VA 24401-4642
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$123
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/26/22
Expedia.com
$123
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/26/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
$99
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/25/22
Travelocity$123
Hotels.com$123
ZenHotels.com$1,267
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (248)
Room & Suite (21)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 08/11/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 08/11/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 19 hotels in Staunton
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.3
Value
4.3
Travelers' Choice
The Blackburn Inn & Conference Center is a tranquil historic hotel in Virginia less than a 5-minute walk from the excitement of downtown Staunton and the Shenandoah Valley. Savor relaxation and rejuvenation while easily exploring the local area, accessing nearby event hubs, shopping, dining, and more. You won't find a better B&B in Staunton, VA!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Restaurant
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Patio
Walking tours
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Telephone
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English
391Reviews1Q+A61Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 245
  • 84
  • 37
  • 18
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
CarolinaTrekkers wrote a review Aug 12
Greensboro NC550 contributions768 helpful votes
We have stayed many places. This may be the most unforgettable. It is an imposing beautiful facility that was once a mental hospital, wholly and tastefully modernized and renovated into hotel rooms. Grounds impressive. Our room (208) was squeaky clean and modern in every way., and June at the desk was most welcoming. Slept great. The hotel is a short 5-10 minute walk to an historic downtown, served by many nice restaurants and sights. (The small diner at the hotel, mainly open for breakfast, cannot compete.) Wandering around the floors, with their local art, couches, etc., is recommended. Price very fair. We plan to try to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We liked the ground floor.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
touringgal wrote a review Dec 2020
US23 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favorite
I recently had a fantastic overnight stay at the Blackburn Inn during a trip through the Shenandoah Valley. The inn is stunning, with beautifully restored Jeffersonian architecture and an imposing setting. The rooms are perfectly updated with every modern convenience, very clean, and very comfortable. I booked a "cozy queen" as I was traveling alone, and it was more than enough space for my needs. Terrific bathroom too. During these crazy pandemic times, the inn has implemented thorough safety protocols -- in fact, I was able to stay overnight without seeing another person! Touchless check-in and check-out, and capacity restrictions that meant there were not too many other guests. I felt perfectly safe and secure here. Many thanks, Blackburn Inn!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at The Blackburn Inn
Responded Dec 24, 2020
We are pleased to hear that you loved our Inn as much as we do. We are glad that our thorough cleaning protocol helped you feel comfortable and secure during your stay. Although we do love interacting with our amazing guests in person, we are happy that you were able to take advantage of our contactless options. Thank you for providing us with your feedback, and choosing our property. We hope that on your next visit we are able to put a face to such an amazing review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kate A wrote a review Aug 5
Middletown, Connecticut262 contributions74 helpful votes
The hotel was beautiful, clean and affordable! The staff at the front desk were extremely welcoming and friendly. We stayed for 1 night in a room that had a Queen bed and separate living room area with a pull out sofa. The pull out sofa is good for 1 person, not 2 so we had to make some adjustments to make sure our family of 4 could sleep comfortably. We would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Request additional bedding for a family of 4. The pull out sofa does not fit 2 people unless...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brooke Kennedy, General Manager at The Blackburn Inn
Responded 1 week ago
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Blackburn Inn & Conference Center. Thank you for choosing our property and providing your feedback. We look forward to your next stay at our property.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Howard A wrote a review Aug 5
London, United Kingdom9 contributions1 helpful vote
We stopped at the Blackburn for 3 days, the rooms were small but finished to a high standard. The historic building has been lovingly restored with modern rooms and fittings to a high standard. That's the good bit. Negatives were that the advertised bistro was closed meaning that you have to go in to town to eat. Restaurants are not close enough to walk so expect to drive. Also in the time we were there our room wasn't cleaned, beds not made up and towels not replaced. If you like unmade beds and using the same towel for 3 days this is the hotel for you but fell below our expectation for the price of room at 135 dollars. We informed the hotel and they said that cleaning every 3 days was their policy. Review would have been 4 stars but we can give this simply due to the poor service.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brooke Kennedy, General Manager at The Blackburn Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for choosing our property and providing your feedback, Howard A. We apologize for any frustration you experienced with our stay-over service policy. Stay-over service is automatically scheduled for the 3rd day of your stay but can always be requested via phone or by visiting the front desk for same day service. We aim to provide the best service in the best environment so we will be reviewing your feedback and our stayover policy to ensure our guests expectations are met.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kristy R wrote a review Aug 5
1 contribution
I was traveling alone and my boyfriend saw the renovated photos of the inn and he Was like wow this looks really nice I wonder why it’s so cheap? Upon my arrival I realized before looking at any of the history the vibe of the place was very heavy. Theyve done a good job with painting and renovating and adding cute boutique touches but that doesn’t cover up the doom and misery left behind there. As I was walking in a couple I was leaving in the middle of the night and I tried to brush it off… once in my room it felt a little off. There was just a horrible feeling lingering. I tried to relax But then the TV didn’t work. I suddenly felt such an overwhelming feeling of being watched and some thing telling me to get out. I decided to Google the history and Read some of the reviews here and I knew it was time to get the hell out of there! I don’t think refunds are given for being haunted but it should definitely be mentioned prior to booking. Some people enjoy ghost hunting but I am not one of those people… I am definitely not a proclaimed medium or anything of that nature but I am sensitive to certain things and if you are traveling alone be weary the place smells great and looks pretty but what is that covering up? Not to mention the large graveyard with unmarked graves behind the hotel. Book with caution.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Rachel B wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
My husband and I stayed here last night, and I fell in love with this place. We had a “soaking tub” room, and the room was more than spacious, and the soaking tub was wonderful! The room was impeccably clean and tidy, and everything was in excellent working order. I was so happy to see that so many of the old features had been preserved. It only added to the ambience. Not to mention, all the staff we encountered were extremely helpful and friendly. Since my son now lives in Staunton, I will be staying here regularly. Thank you for a wonderful experience, Blackburn Inn!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brooke Kennedy, General Manager at The Blackburn Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
We are thrilled to hear that you loved your first stay at The Blackburn Inn & Conference Center. Thank you for choosing our property for your stay and providing your feedback. We love our spacious Deluxe Soaker Tub rooms just as much and the preserved architecture throughout the property. We will be passing the kind words regarding our staffs friendly and helpful service to them, we know it will make their day. We look forward to your continued stays at our property.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dori Fish wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Well, I needed to stay there for one night with my 10 months old baby. I couldn’t put him down on the floor to crawl around because it was just too dirty. One small dirty rug on the floor and that’s it. Honestly I didn’t even feel comfortable to walk around barefoot. I’ve got a queen room in the basement and it really smelled like humidity and mold. Just like those old basements. The stairs have dangerously small steps. I was terrified to use them while holding my baby. The building is not very stroller accessible! It’s hard to open all the doors alone to get to the ONE elevator they have. I’ve got some snacks but there is no way you would know the prices without asking a staff member. Thighs I liked: -It was quiet! Even tho I’ve got a room by the stairs in the basement, I still enjoyed a very nice and quiet night. -The property is nice. The grass is freshly cut, you can tell they pay attention to it. -The bedding and the bathroom were clean. -AC worked well.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brooke Kennedy, General Manager at The Blackburn Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for providing your feedback and choosing our property for your stay. We apologize for any frustration you experienced during your stay. We will be reviewing this issues to ensure they are resolved.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kds44 wrote a review Jun 2022
Winston Salem, North Carolina59 contributions22 helpful votes
We loved our weekend stay at Blackburn. As expected (from previous reviews) our room was smaller than the norm but well designed. Our bath was modern and spacious. We also enjoyed a light breakfast each morning on the long front porch, overlooking the grounds. Overall, it was a lovely setting in all ways. The wood flooring in the rooms is original, meaning they creak. You likely will hear people on the floor above you. This was not a problem for us - only noting it so you won’t expect a perfectly quiet room.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brooke Kennedy, Other at The Blackburn Inn
Responded Jul 8, 2022
We are happy to hear that you loved your recent stay at The Blackburn Inn & Conference Center. Thank you for choosing our property and providing your feedback. We look forward to your next stay at out property.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ceejaysquared wrote a review Jun 2022
Blacksburg, Virginia12 contributions12 helpful votes
The main hotel building is lovingly renovated, though exposed concrete as the floor in our ground floor was a little off putting. The bathroom was obviously newly renovated, and the room was scrupulously clean. Room itself was very small. Bed was comfortable, TV was new.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brooke Kennedy, Other at The Blackburn Inn
Responded Jul 8, 2022
We are happy to hear that you loved your recent stay at The Blackburn Inn & Conference Center. We aim to provide the best service in the best enviornment and we are happy to see that reflected in your review. Thank you for choosing our property and providing your feedback. We look forward to your next stay at our property.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicole L wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
+1
We stayed one night on a road trip, but wanted so badly to stay longer after we realized what a treat we were in for when we checked in. This was our first stay here, and we had a wonderful time. I had such a pleasant stay that I am going plan a full weekend getaway here in the future. We did not make it to the spa or get to experience the on site dinner offered on Friday and Saturday nights, which I am looking forward to experiencing in the future! We went to the roof at night and were treated to a pleasant view, and the gorgeous spiral staircase was an experience in itself. The decor is amazing. A beautiful blend of modern amenities while still highlighting the original historical details. Our room was cozy, yet sleek and modern. The bathroom is what dreams are made of. The hallways smelled very good too. Very clean and fresh, yet subtle and not overpowering. The staff was pleasant and accommodating. We were greeted warmly at check in. We had breakfast with wonderful service, and I had the pleasure of meeting the operations manager during checkout and was able to tell her how much we enjoyed our stay. I will 100% be back to stay and highly recommend you stay here as well.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brooke Kennedy, Other at The Blackburn Inn
Responded Jun 13, 2022
We are happy to hear that you loved your recent stay at The Blackburn Inn. We loved reading your review, and it was a pleasure to get to meet you in person at check-out. We can't wait for your weekend getaway at The Blackburn Inn. Thank you for choosing The Blackburn Inn & Conference Center and providing your feedback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$108 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaStaunton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
49
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Blackburn Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Blackburn Inn?
Nearby attractions include Crack The Code Escape Room (0.3 miles), American Shakespeare Center (0.3 miles), and Trinity Episcopal Church (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Blackburn Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at The Blackburn Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Blackburn Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a free welcome drink during their stay.
Is parking available at The Blackburn Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Blackburn Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Split Banana, Zynodoa, and Mill Street Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Blackburn Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is The Blackburn Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Staunton.
Are pets allowed at The Blackburn Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Blackburn Inn offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Blackburn Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Woodrow Wilson Presidential Library and Museum (0.4 miles).