We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn South Hill

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Inn South Hill
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

27 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 27: English reviews
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I would stay again but only for a night sleep not of I had to stay several days. Rooms smelled of mold, shower curtain had mildew, A/C seemed to need to be cleaned/new filter. The little old couple that was doing housekeeping was very nice. Some of the members in my group refused to stay and went to another local... More 

Helpful?
Thank cjmom1989
Salem, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I found ourselves exhausted after his overnight journey to make a freight delivery. Normally we try to drive back home, but this trip was a long one with lots of back roads and potential hazards. We are occasionally on a budget and we always try to find the best deal for our sometimes "slim pickings" cash flow.... More 

Helpful?
Thank oceanpark1929
NEWBERRY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Having left home at 4:10 that morning to avoid Memorial Weekend traffic, I arrived early, expecting to have to cruise the town for a few hours before claiming the reserved room. But I was allowed to wait while they cleaned it, and the manager (I think he was) even waived the early fee so I could go in and crash.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ArielasMom
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review

Dear ArielasMom, On behalf of the staff and management, I would like to personally thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed our clean rooms and friendly service. The next time you are in the area, we would love to have you stay here with us again! Regards, Manish-Manager Americas Best Value Inn-South Hill,... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

This was one of the dirtiest hotels we have ever stayed at! Although this was a low budget hotel and we stayed there for only one night, it was one of the worst experiences we have had. The bed sheets were not clean and we found several hairs on the bedsheets. The blankets looked like they had not been washed!... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank A S
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review

Dear A S, We appreciate your feedback regarding your experience with us. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We have recently hired and trained new housekeepers. We hope that future travelers will notice these improvements. Once again please accept my sincerest apologies. Regards, Manish-Manager Americas Best Value Inn-South Hill, VA More 

Travelers are raving about these South Hill hotels

Belcamp, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel is not fancy but was adequate for our needs. They honored the price in the discount booklet and provided free wi-fi. The room was worn but had a refrigerator and microwave. It was difficult to get the air conditioning to maintain a steady temperature and it was noisy. They offered a continental breakfast of cereal, pastries and fruit.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Joan1221
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review

Dear Joan1221, I appreciate the fact that you took time to share your experience with us. I am thrilled that we were able to meet your needs. If you ever return to the area, we would love to have you stay here with us again! Regards, Manish-Manager Americas Best Value Inn-South Hill, VA More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

l will never stay here again they couldn't give me a room for FREE this location looks nothing like the pictures posted the only thing that matched the pictures were the bedspreads needs to be shut down some rooms had the windows busted out HORRIBLE I checked out early

Helpful?
1 Thank punabear
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review

Dear punabear, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am sorry to hear that you did not have a memorable experience with us. I apologize for the issues with the storage room window. There was some vandalism on the property. However, we fixed the issues as soon as we could. I hope that you give us another opportunity... More 

Suffern, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is a low budget hotel. Which was known on the onset. In addition to the bathroom ceiling having a whole and the ceiling in the main part of the room having some popcorn some flat surface and the the front desk calling you before 9 AM while your on vacation to ask if you would like housekeeping services there... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Vseward
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review

Dear vseward, On behalf of the management of Americas Best Value Inn, I would like to personally address the issues you mentioned regarding your stay. At this time, we no longer accept pets. However, at the time of your stay, we did require a pet fee. This is to cover the cost of servicing the room upon departure. We reserve... More 

Rome City, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I stayed here for a single night when my business brought me to the area. I called around on my way out and discovered that this motel had the lowest rates in the area and my total bill came to just under $50. I stayed in a room just a few doors down from the lobby and it was clean,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Rick D
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review

Dear Rick D, Thank you for sharing your experience with us regarding your stay in November 2013. Sorry for taking so long to respond. I am pleased that you enjoyed our clean and comfortable rooms at affordable prices. We hope that you visit us again in the future. Regards, Manish-Manager Americas Best Value Inn-South Hill, VA More 

Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This inn is absolutely disgusting and should 100% be shut down. Our room was so disgusting, the beds were not even made, let alone clean. We demanded our money back and went to Best Western Plus down the road (MUCH BETTER!). Americas Best Value was sketchy, dirty, not safe, and the service was horrendous. DO NOT STAY HERE!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie S
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review

Dear Leslie S, On behalf of the staff and management, I would like to personally apologize for the housekeeping issues you encountered during your stay. We have recently hired and trained new housekeeping. We hope that these improvements will enhance the experience for our future guests. Regards, Manish-GM Americas Best Value Inn-South Hill VA More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This motel should be closed down. It seems that they are either in the process of renovating or fumigating. I wasn't sure, but was advised that all of the furniture was stacked up outside because the furniture was being replaced. Good news, but there is no excuse for a dirty room. The sheets and pillowcases were yellow and did not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Set1234
abvisouthhill, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn South Hill, responded to this review

Dear Set1234, Thank you for sharing a traveler opinion with us. As you had mentioned, we did recently renovate our facilities including new mattresses, dressers, desks, chairs, lounge chairs, luggage boxes, ottomans, headboards, pictures, night stands. I apologize for the mess during these renovations-this was a 2 week project. I apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during this time. Regards,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Hill hotels
0.3 mi away
Days Inn South Hill
Days Inn South Hill
#4 of 7 in South Hill
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 7 in South Hill
3.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn South Hill
Hampton Inn South Hill
#1 of 7 in South Hill
4.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS South Hill Inn
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Hill I-85
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in South Hill
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Americas Best Value Inn of South Hill. Our 2-story, exterior design Inn features 47 guestrooms nicely furnished with amenities including free wireless high-speed Internet access, coffeemaker, microwave, hairdryers, cable TV with HBO, mini-fridge and iron and ironing board upon request. Complimentary continental breakfast served daily. Inquire about our Senior, Fisherman, and Truckers Rates. Minutes away from Lake Gaston and John H. Kerr Dam and walking distance from Brian's Steakhouse, Restaurants, Shopping centers, and Cinema. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn South Hill

Address: 623 E. Atlantic Street, South Hill, VA 23970
Location: United States > Virginia > Mecklenburg County > South Hill
Price Range: $54 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn South Hill 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn South Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay