We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
125 River Ridge Dr, Pearisburg, VA 24134-2391
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 5 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (191)
Room & Suite (71)
Dining (5)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 2 in Pearisburg
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.8
Value
4.6
Travelers' Choice
Winner of Best of Virginia B & B's season after season, this custom-built inn overlooks the Blue Ridge Mountains and New River Valley. The seven room bed and breakfast offers a peaceful getaway just off HWY 460, 25 minutes west of Blacksburg and only one hour from Roanoke, Virginia. All rooms have private baths, some with jaccuzzi tubs, satellite TV, luxury robes, wireless internet and open to the decks and terraces right from your room. From refreshments on arrival to a full hot breakfast, the inn is perfect for romantic getaways, small gatherings, weddings and honeymoons, family reunions, retreats and business meetings. A Select Registry property since 2002, the Inn offers luxurious linens, custom designed guest rooms and individually appointed amenities for your comfort. Relax, renew and refresh sitting on the balcony or challenge the outdoors fishing, hiking or kayaking the New River. Only two miles from the famous Appalachian Trail.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Internet
Free breakfast
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
283Reviews1Q+A74Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 239
  • 25
  • 7
  • 5
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Scott S wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
The owners were very nice and accommodating. The view was beautiful, the room was very comfortable, and the atmosphere was relaxing and quiet. The breakfast was awesome and different from my norm. My wife and I really enjoyed our stay here during our anniversary weekend. This place was beyond our expectations and well worth our time.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The Angels Rest had a lovely view of the New River.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Tanner wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
So I first must state that I am not the type of person to write reviews. This is the first review I have written on Tripadvisor. Everything I write is simply my honest opinion and my honest remembrance from my first personal first hand experience. I have stayed at The Inn at Riverbend for a total of 21 days since December of 2020. I am a physician and work at the local hospital on periodic assignments. The hospital reimburses me fully for my stay. I have not stayed there for pleasure as most who come to the inn do. Given all that, my review comes from a bit of a different and personal perspective, but I believe it may be one worth providing. First, the positive. The inn is clean. The beds are comfortable. There are free sodas and sometimes cookies put out, which only seems to be the case if there are other customers. Usually, I am alone because it's during the week. Given this, there are usually just sodas. The inn is quiet inside but I have never been there when there are anymore than 2 or 4 other individuals. Other reviews have complained of poorly insulated walls and hearing guests all night. I really can not speak to that and have not experienced that personally. The inn is located in a “neighborhood” of sorts with other large houses on large lots. The views are really pretty of the New River. The drive to the neighborhood is down a road that is much, much less nice than the neighborhood where the inn is located and frankly more middle to lower class in its presentation however indicative of typical small towns in Southwest, Virginia. If you were hosting a party at the inn for any reason, in my opinion, your guests may be less impressed with the drive into the neighborhood than they would be with the actual location of the event. Something to think about if you were to ever choose the inn as an event destination. The view however, when you get to the inn is worthy of being a hosting venue. Not sure what you could do about the mile or so drive through the much less bucolic neighborhood. The train at the bottom of the hill that goes along the New River is active and horn blows from the tracks are present. I have been woken at 330 AM by train horns. I literally wonder out loud why a conductor blows the horn at 330 AM but oh well. It's quaint and disclosed in there website, but it's real and if you are a light sleeper, likely less than optimal. Moving on to the negatives. First and foremost, its EXPENSIVE. I don’t even pay for my stay and I feel embarrassed submitting my bill to the hospital. My most recent stay was 175 a night and I am in the cheapest room and also get a hospital discount. I am not sure what you get for this money and feel that much of the charge is because there really is no other similar option close to Pearisburg. I have chosen to stay here because its close to the small community hospital I serve. In short, I feel like they charge their astronomical amounts because there really is no other close option. There is a not great motel in town that charges 60 dollars a night at present. On principal, moving forward, I will stay there for my assignments to this hospital. My reasoning may become more evident as I write further. So if you were paying so much, assuming you were not getting a “hospital discount” and not in the cheapest room, you would think that the service would be amazing and the hospitality would be over the top. Well in my opinion, it's really not. I have complained to John and Jeanne (the owners) that they are very inconsistent. Some mornings I get a hot breakfast and some mornings I get a cold breakfast of a muffin, yogurt, and the tinniest fruit bowel. When I do get a hot breakfast, its usually an incredibly small portion of a scrambled egg, a literal single piece of bacon or literal single link of sausage, and a dollop of fruit. Reading other reviews, there is a common theme that the portions are incredibly small. I would be really bummed if I was paying out of pocket. In short, their hospitality does not runneth over with regards to the size of the breakfast. What is served is ok, not amazing, but ok but that is just my opinion. John has explained to me that because of my hospital discount, that they can not afford to serve me a hot breakfast consistently however, I believe at 175 a night, they should and I would be served a hot breakfast if I were to stay at a conventional hotel for likely less money, like the Hampton Inn where I typically stay. This becomes increasingly insulting when I have been served a cold breakfast while customers who are paying the full rate get a hot breakfast while sitting in the same dining room. I find this discrepancy somewhat cheap and certainly petty. Next, when you come to the inn, be prepared for signs and rules. There are more signs around telling you to put your dirty utensils here, keep your door to the porch closed, wash mud off your shoes here, don’t put food in this fridge, put food in that fridge, bring food to the kitchen, and what not. I realize that they may have rules and a way of doing things but it all in all makes for a less than welcoming feeling. On my most recent stay, I sat down at a table that looked out over the river. No one else was at the table and the other 2 guests had not even gotten up yet. John told me to sit at the other table that was farther from the window. Not sure why, I guess they had a nicer room or something but it made me feel like a child and a second class citizen. This became even more apparent to me when I saw I was getting a cold breakfast of said muffin, yogurt and fruit and the other customers were getting a hot breakfast. I was reading the reviews and I literally laughed out loud that a patron had the same exact issue that I had. After a one week stay there, I returned home and received a phone call from Jeanne. She asked me why one of the white face washing towels was stained with red. I explained that I was eating strawberries in my room and used the towel to catch the juice. She seemed to be upset that I had stained the small wash cloth. She said that the wash cloth was permanently stained. I could not understand how the event warranted a phone call or that it was not covered in the 5 nights I had stayed there. Fortunately, she did not threaten to charge me $18 for the ruined towel as she apparently did another customer in their review. Also echoed in other reviews, I have never had my room cleaned while I have been there. My stays usually range between 4 and 5 nights and I can not recall my room ever being cleaned during my stay or fresh towels being provided. There is also this issue of the cancellation policy. On one occasion, the hospital inadvertently switched the schedule and needed me at another hospital. I explained to John and Jeanne that the schedule had been written incorrectly and I would not be staying there for the 3 nights I had reserved. They explained to me the cancellation policy and charged me for the full stay anyway. This was done in person. The inn appeared completely empty. The hospital reimbursed me so it wasn’t really any money out of my pocket however the whole incident made me feel like they just wanted their money. You kind of get that sense likewise when they run your card literally 5 days before you check in for the entire amount of your stay. This issue is echoed in multiple other reviews, so don’t for a second think you will not be charged if you are seeking to cancel less than 72 hours before your check in. Which leads me to my last point and is simply my opinion. The inn is fine, its the owners that are not great. They really should not be in the hospitality business and explains why they are seeking to sell the business.They over charge and under deliver and its been shown to me unfortunately in very innocuous and sometimes not so subtle ways. Be aware, this place is about the money and it does not go too much deeper than that in my humble opinion. I feel so strongly about this that I will choose to stay for future assignments at a cheaper motel in town even though my employer will reimburse me to stay at the Inn at Riverbend. It simply is not worth the exorbitant amount they charge in my opinion.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: All the rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Kelley L wrote a review Dec 2021
Columbus, Ohio368 contributions145 helpful votes
We were really looking forward to this stay, which wrapped up the end of our vacation, being on the road for 10 days and heading home. The beds are VERY comfortable! Amenities not over the top, sorry to say. For price paid and reviews, we really expected much more. Towels not replaced. Around 4pm when we asked for new towels, we were told to go get the dirty towels and bring them to them and they would hand us replacements. HUH?! Ok, did that. Could be handled in another way altogether. It made me feel like they were counting towels. Breakfast was not what I was expecting. Photos and review raved about the food. We didn't get the same experience. Second day our French toast was burned and they had nothing else to offer. No batteries in TV remote control either so we had to hunt those down. the views are lovely and the outdoor space was very well planned, too bad it rained the entire time of our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
MichelleTippCity wrote a review Oct 2021
Venice, Florida48 contributions8 helpful votes
The Inn at Riverview is a lovely inn, The view from our room was absolutely lovely. Unfortunately, the couple next door was noisy and when I talked to the Innkeeper about this, she indicated that she never talks to guests about this problem as she then gets bad reviews. I guess she wasn't worried about our review. I did knock on the couple's door and asked them to quiet it down which they did. They turned out to be a very nice couple. The lnn is not insulated well at all because we could hear people walking upstairs and, of course, the couple next door. I've seen other comments about the lack of insulation between rooms. Perhaps the Innkeepers could look into this. We ate dinner at the Palisades restaurant and my dinner was awful. I had the beef ribs which turned out to be all fat. My husband had the chicken which was very good. Overall, the Inn is a lovely place but probably would not stay there again. It was relatively expensive for the experience.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Nancy L wrote a review Oct 2021
4 contributions
The inn is perfect for a relaxing get away. The rooms are luxurious and the decks are awesome. We were disappointed in breakfast the second morning. Fresh fruit was just apples and the French toast was overdone. I would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Gerald K wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
+1
We stayed at this lovely inn because we were visiting family for a graduation celebration. This place is breath taking! The peace and quiet is addicting, the hosts are wonderful people, so are the staff. The breakfast they served was to die for, each day different, fresh, and very healthy. We saw and heard so much wildlife, deer and birds. Just beautiful. Treat yourself to a little heaven on earth. Trust me, you will not forget it. Oh, amd there are so many great wineries near by for exploring.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Michel W wrote a review Jul 2021
Davidsonville, Maryland330 contributions192 helpful votes
Everything about this B&B is top notch. By far the most spectacular, though is the location: the view from every room in the inn over the bend in the new river is spectacular. We spent two nights in the Palissades room (which we learnt is named after the palissade cliffs towering over the river that you can see from the room). Amenities in the room are perfect, spacious bathroom, nice decoration, and we especially liked it that you can control the AC for your own room, so that you’re not dependent on a centrally controlled airconditioning. The room has access to a private section of the deck, which is nice to sit especially in the evening (the morning sun can be hot). It’s clear that the building was designed as a B&B. There are two public spaces, both very spacious, on the top level (where also our room was) breakfast is served. Breakfast is very beautifully prepared and presented and varies day by day. Some dietary restrictions are accommodated (vegetarian). Breakfast is served at 8.30, which for us is on the earlier side but it’s definitely worth the effort of getting ready in time. Coffee and tea (and softdrinks ) are available from 7.30 throughout the day. There are some nice restaurants nearby, follow the hosts’ recommendations. The inn should be a reasoning itself to come here, but there are several attractive (outdoors) activities in the area. We enjoyed the hike to the great falls and spent some time by the river. All in al we had a fabulous stay!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: The palisades room is great. Don’t skip breakfast!
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeanne Jeffers, Owner at Inn at Riverbend
Responded Aug 5, 2021
Michael, thank you for your detailed review of your experience here at the Inn at Riverbend. We do try hard to make sure you not only enjoy the inn, but also the beautiful New River valley. Breakfast is 8:30 so you get to make the most of your day! Regards. John and Jeanne, Innkeepers
Read more
Megan P wrote a review Jun 2021
Charlotte, North Carolina13 contributions
If you are in or around the Blacksburg area, I highly recommend a stay at Inn at Riverbend. The location is absolutely stunning, and it's full of country charm. I didn't meet Jeanne but I met the other owner John and he was so friendly, just nice as can be. The rooms are large, the bathrooms luxurious, and every single room has access to a large wraparound balcony with a stunning view and rocking chairs to enjoy it. Time slows down when you stay here, in a great way. If you want a relaxing escape away from the noise and chaos of the city, look no further than the Inn at Riverbend.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeanne Jeffers, Owner at Inn at Riverbend
Responded Aug 5, 2021
Hi, Megan and thank you for taking your time to leave a review. Sorry you did not get to meet me, but I was probably in the kitchen preparing your breakfast! Regards, Jeanne
Read more
ElaineandEd wrote a review Jun 2021
Winter Haven, Florida44 contributions44 helpful votes
We stayed at the Inn at Riverbend from June 7 through June 9. Overall, we were dis-appointed with our stay. While the Inn is beautiful as is the gorgeous scenery, the owner's of the Inn did not seem to cater to the customers. When we first got there, the first thing they were interested in was closing out the bill. Then there were signs about eating in your room, and everytime you came out of your room, they were checking to see what you were doing. You felt that tou were intruding. Breakfast was OK at best. I feel we were overcharged for the service we received.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeanne Jeffers, Owner at Inn at Riverbend
Responded Aug 5, 2021
Sorry to hear you were disappointed. Many inns have the policy of a deposit when making the reservation and collecting the balance upon arrival to make check out easier for the guest. Privacy is respected as a policy as is good service, so thank you for letting us know you feel we did not measure up to your expectations.
Read more
Shug40 wrote a review Jun 2021
Orange, Texas504 contributions34 helpful votes
+1
We stayed at the Inn at Riverbend for our 49th wedding anniversary. Excellent Bed and Breakfast. Jeanne and John are great hosts. Jeanne helped my husband surprise me with a fresh flower bouquet that was beautiful. Delicious breakfast served each morning. Views from the deck area are spectacular! We stayed in the Palisades room. Very comfortable with excellent views from rocking chairs on deck outside our room. You could not find a nicer place to stay! We have stayed in numerous Bed and Breakfast and this one is superb! Thanks for helping make our anniversary special!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeanne Jeffers, Owner at Inn at Riverbend
Responded Aug 5, 2021
We are so glad we could help make your wedding anniversary special. We really enjoy creating an atmosphere to celebrate and are so happy to hear it was a great experience. Thank you for sharing your thoughts, John and Jeanne, Innkeepers
Read more
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
inn at riverbend hotel pearisburg
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaPearisburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Inn at Riverbend
What are some of the property amenities at Inn at Riverbend?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, free parking, and free internet access.
Which room amenities are available at Inn at Riverbend?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Inn at Riverbend?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Inn at Riverbend?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Inn at Riverbend?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Palisades Restaurant, La Barranca Mexican Grill, and Riviera Mexican Grill.
Does Inn at Riverbend have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Inn at Riverbend accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.