We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montrose
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 125: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pictures don't do this place justice, you really need to see it to believe it!! Excellent service, stunning views and perfect location for a relaxing mini getaway!! Food was also amazing, the 5 course dinner was delicious!! Will definitely be going back soon!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dabbzzz
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for one night and was blown away by the setting, food, massage, spa, room and overall experience! We left feeling refreshed, relaxed and totally pampered! The staff were so nice and couldn't do enough for us! Can't wait to return!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mbeninati
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed January 14, 2017

Customer Service was poor. Did not feel welcome as soon as I arrived at the spa. They lacked organisation, i.e had to carry clothes and belonging from one room to another. I felt rushed even though it was meant to be a relaxing experience. They didn't tell us what to do and was often left wondering where to go or...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrellegue
Deborah Q, Manager at Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I am sorry you feel that you were not welcomed when you arrived. All of our guests are informed of the process of where they will be having treatments and all are provided with spa bags with robes and slippers, so yes you would need to carry your own spa bag with you. Your treatment consisted of a...

Melbourne
Reviewed January 14, 2017

We laughed about it afterwards as we were told off like schoolgirls to get changed but nowhere to get changed. Our friend couldnt get dressed cause her stuff was in the other massage room. We were made to feel like we were a nuisance. Yum cha was great though plenty of food and great view. Think its more of a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nurserachie
Deborah Q, Manager at Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Nurse Rachie, At the end of a bathing time all of our guests are requested to change into their robes so that they can be taken to their next experience which in your case was a massage. I am not sure why your friends clothes ended up in the other massage room.. perhaps one of your group picked it...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed January 14, 2017 via mobile

Went to the Japanese retreat with five friends and was really surprised by the lack of change rooms, toilets and locker facilities at the spa. The staff were not overly friendly or welcoming and did not seem to know what they were doing - they even lost my clothes at one point(we had to carry or belongings with us from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ttmelbourne2016
Deborah Q, Manager at Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Your experience included outdoor bathing, massage and lunch. The outdoor bathing area which was used by your group only contains one changing area and one toilet. You then moved to the spa which contains three lockers and a toilet/changing room. You were provided with a spa bag for your clothes which you took with you to the spa....

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed January 9, 2017

Magical place to escape & relax. Highly recommend for time out with your partner or bestie. Great service and attention to detail. Facilities, buildings and outdoors are of a very high standard. Would return in the future!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed December 27, 2016 via mobile

Today we did a half-day spa package at the Japanese Mountain Retreat in Montrose, Vic, Aus. Overall it was a really good experience, although there was a little room for improvement as you'll read ahead. We arrived at 10 and were greeted warmly at reception. The establishment has lovely gardens and some nice buildings but the decor could be a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James L
Reviewed December 21, 2016 via mobile

Thanks Deb for our wonderful and relaxing anniversary stay. We enjoyed a totally indulgent massage in the stunning day spa, an extraordinary 5 course dinner and a great sleep in the gorgeous Bali suite. All delivered with awesome service. Totally recommend!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natcatnap
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed December 19, 2016

We spend a day at the day spa, which was heavenly so relaxing and a night in a beautiful Japanese room, dinner was such a high standard it was mouth watering, a delight for the eye, the service was outstanding I can only rate 10++ Beautiful gardens, it felt like we were in Japan only the wildlife made it like...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank allenmichelle45
Reviewed December 17, 2016

We were looking for a relaxing retreat, to get a massage, dinner, couple of drinks and accomodation. What we found at the japaneses mountain retreat had super seeded our expectation. From our first contact with the manger (Deborah) who welcomed us so warmly and so helpful, great personal service we received. My partner and I had amazing experiences, beautiful location,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Michelle G
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (39)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montrose
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
315 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#5 of 156 in Melbourne
2,066 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 156 in Melbourne
5,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#23 of 156 in Melbourne
3,559 reviews
Merrow Cottages
#2 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Step back in time to the world of ancient Japan 45 minutes from Melbourne. Secluded and indulgent. Five course Chef's tasting menu served in the Oriental lounge. New luxury Moroccan Spa and Roman Bathhouse with mineral pool bathing. Sink into your private Japanese style spa overlooking your own private Japanese garden. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa

Address: 14 Mountain Crescent, Montrose, Victoria 3765, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Montrose
Price Range: $341 - $532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Japanese Mountain Retreat Hotel Montrose
Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa Montrose, Victoria, Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Japanese Mountain Retreat Mineral Springs & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We didnt stay overnight but would love to!”
 of 5 bubbles 779monicab, Nov 26, 2016 | Read review
“Check the website”
 of 5 bubbles 409philipn, Oct 31, 2016 | Read review
“All accommodation is excellent and each room is unique”
 of 5 bubbles MichaelD508, Aug 24, 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you book in advance its busy but stunning”
 of 5 bubbles Awesomeness888, Jun 15, 2016 | Read review
“All the Rooms are amazing”
 of 5 bubbles holliejade2015, Nov 15, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question