We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travel Alert: U.S. Travel Licensing Restrictions Apply for Travel to Cuba. For details, click here

Hotel Playa Coco

Save
Share
Carretera Cayo Guillermo, 69400 Cuba
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (4640)
Pool & Beach (1184)
Room & Suite (599)

About

#10 of 13 hotels in Cayo Coco
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Paid internet
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Swimup bar
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Kids club
Free airport transportation
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Concierge
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
2788Reviews662Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 938
  • 930
  • 487
  • 233
  • 200
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
kevinParnell wrote a review Dec 2020
Ottawa, Canada247 contributions22 helpful votes
Kind of late writing this review, so may miss a few things. We were there Mid Feb 2020, just before lockdowns luckily. Arrived at airport and quickly found our bus to the resort...quick 30 minute drive or so with a few stops at other resorts along the way....cold beer on the bus made the trip go quite fast. Arrived with about a dozen other guests but check in was very fast. Our luggage was put on the cart and we were quickly driven to our room. Room was fantastic. Ocean view even though we didn't ask or pay for an upgrade. Very clean. Beds quite comfortable. Quick change and off we went to explore the resort. As I had done some research beforehand, I knew there was a 24 hour snack bar and we were starving! Took a little bit of walking around to find it but we did, and enjoyed a couple of rum punches, burgers and fries. Fries were cold unfortunately, but no matter...when hungry, I will eat almost everything. The rest of the trip was basically hitting the beach after breakfast then the lobby (piano) bar in the early evening before dinner. Met some great people that we met for drinks almost every day. Went to the market on the bus one day, and found a few things to pick up. The little bar huts outside the market are a nice touch to sit and have a cold beer while there. PROS Beach is amazing (bring your snorkeling gear....the left side of the beach has some rock formations and are teaming with fish). The beach bar and grill are fantastic. Pool was good, although we didn't use it very much. The entertainment mid afternoon at the pool was fun...lots of audience participation, or just sit back and laugh. Restaurants - We tried the Japanese (amazing) and Cuban (ok). The Buffet was pretty good...excellent in fact for Cuban standards. The Pizza restaurant was always very good. Several different kinds of pizza available, or just go up to the counter and pick out whatever you want on yours....we had lunch there almost every day. Bars - We stuck mostly to the Lobby bar when not on the beach. Liber who is the head server is an amazing man. He will know what you want before you even sit down. Make sure to try the Spanish Coffee (AMAZING) There are several other bars, but we didn't bother, maybe next time. Our maid was fantastic. Room was well cleaned every day. Only disappointment was the coffee machine. The first morning I was happy to see it and see that there were fresh packages of coffee, but upon opening it up, it looked like the old coffee grinds hadn't been cleaned in a month. They quickly provided us with a new one, although we never ended up using it because, well, spanish coffee! CONS Not much to complain about...other than the coffee machine I mentioned earlier. The airport going home was a s*^tshow, as many have already mentioned. Long lines to get into the building and long lines to check in. Then people PACKED like sardines in the departures area waiting for delayed flights. They either need to stagger flights more so not everyone leaves on the same day/time or expand the airport. The nightly entertainment was so so....kind of repetitive. They have a dance crew who are VERY VERY good, and very entertaining. I was hoping they would have bands like other resorts I have been to, but seeing as those were in Varadero, and Playa Coco is a little out of the way, it's understandable. A real bar at the entertainment stage area would have been nice too. They had no beer kegs or cans, so they would fill up old pop bottles with beer and serve out of that. Only other bad thing was that our stay was far too short (7 days), and that I broke my toe the first full day there trying to take part in the beach olympics....not an issue though...enough Cristal and I was in no pain. Oh, and mosquitos. I'm one of those unlucky people that mosquitos love! My GF didn't get a single but, but I had several on my arms and legs...and VERY itchy. Be sure to bring some good repellant and anti itch cream just in case.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Bring bug spray!
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hotel Playa Coco
Responded Feb 8, 2021
Dear kevinParnell: First of all, I'd like to thank you for posting a review on the TripAdvisor page. We are very happy to know that you had such a wonderful experience with us. We are aware that our greatest treasure is our dear staff, they always make you back home with good memories and experiences of your stay here. It will be a great pleasure for all of us to welcome you again. Cordially
Read more
Rena Smithers wrote a review Nov 2020
2 contributions
Beautiful resort ! We had à wonderful welcome . A big thank you to Lili and Danielys our beautiful waitress that would welcome us very day with their beautiful smiles and the service was awesome. You 2 were the best ! Miss you !
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hotel Playa Coco
Responded Feb 8, 2021
Dear Renasmithersoutlook, We would like to thank you for sharing this very kind feedback on your recent stay at our Hotel. It is a real pleasure to read that you appreciated this small resort and our friendly staff. Please be assured that your kind words will be shared with our staff whose aim is to satisfy each guest’s preferences and needs. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back soon. Warm Regards
Read more
Dina wrote a review Aug 2020
Windsor, Canada2 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed right before lockdown hit and very much enjoyed my time here. Good quality food, beautiful beach, enough activities to keep you entertained. The animators who come by asking guests to participate in games are all very friendly. Evening entertainment is a problem they need to figure out. Bring reading materials and other things to keep you entertained because the shows won't cut it. This needs to be mentioned; Fidel from the smoke shop has a tendency to get aggressive with women. He needs to show more respect to female guests.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hotel Playa Coco
Responded Aug 18, 2020
Dear dvacetrisest, Thank you for choosing us for your vacations and posting your experience in tripadvisor page. We are happy to find out you had a great time, thats our main goal, to make you go home satisfied and with great memories from your stay. Thank you for acknowledgin our resort. On the other hand, your review also raised a big concern to us and I would like to first of all apologize that we did not meet your expectations. It is essential that each guest enjoy a pleasant stay while coming to Hotel Playa Coco and I am truly sorry we did not succeed on this occasion. I would like to present you with our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you. Rest assured that I have already reviewed what you mentioned and corrective actions will be taken with the bartender concerned. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back soon. Best Regards,
Read more
ruthead wrote a review May 2020
Grimsby4 contributions8 helpful votes
it was awesome!I still have my hotel Bracelet on!pick a beach front room because they are nice and have lots of restaurants also there is a place i got a coco nut cut open in front of the beach front rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: rooms by the quite pool is quite at night
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from General M, General Manager at Hotel Playa Coco
Responded May 15, 2020
Dear ruthead, Thank you very much for posting your comments on this site. Thank you as well for all your compliments on our facilities and special services our team provides. Have shared all your remarks with them. We really appreciate your opinions and will be more than happy to welcome you again at Playa Coco on your next vacation. Warmest regards,
Read more
410barb wrote a review Apr 2020
Nackawic, Canada20 contributions19 helpful votes
This was our second time at Hotel Playa Coco. Our first visit was 2 years ago shortly after their devastating hurricane. I enjoyed my stay then and loved my stay this time. The resort has worked so hard to recover and what a difference I see. The new snack bar and pizza place was a hit with my husband and I. Great spot for that first coffee in the morning.....quiet and a beautiful view. Again, Geoge at the Ice bar was friendly and welcoming....awesome chocolate martinis George!! Mike at the Sports Bar, it was a pleasure meeting you, you were very accommodating and the beer was always cold. Entertainment in the evening was fun. As returning customers we were treated to a special evening at the Cigar Bar, a gift and a nice meal at the Italian restaurant. It was nice to be recognized as a returning patron. We were in building 4 and it was perfect. The room was spacious, clean and had a million dollar view. Our building was close to the beach and snack bar. In the late afternoon we usually spent a relaxing hour at the quiet pool...a nice quiet time before supper. The a la cartes were nice, the Japanese one was great last time and great this time The buffet was typical buffet food, different choices, something for everyone. The beach was perfect again, clean, lots of chairs, bar, entertainment and games. We lucked in with the weather. Perfect! The staff were friendly and accommodating....which I find amazing considering the complainers they have to deal with on a daily basis! While we were there, the resort had their 16th anniversary. A special afternoon was planned for all their staff and families, drinks, buffet, music, videos, games for their kids. This was all held under and around their entertainment tent. It was nice to see the resort recognize their wonderful staff. I will definitely be going back to Playa Coco. I am so glad we were able to get there before all the Covid 19 stuff hit. Stay safe my friends and see you again!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General M, General Manager at Hotel Playa Coco
Responded Apr 13, 2020
Dear 410barb, Thank you very much for posting your comments on this site. Thank you as well for all your compliments on our facilities and special services our team provides. Have shared all your remarks with them. We really appreciate your opinions and will be more than happy to welcome you again at Playa Coco on your next vacation. Warmest regards,
Read more
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
oasis playa coco cayo, playa coco, oasis playa coco hotel cayo
LOCATION
CaribbeanCubaCiego de Avila ProvinceJardines del Rey ArchipelagoCayo Coco
NUMBER OF ROOMS
307
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Playa Coco
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Playa Coco?
Nearby attractions include La Cueva Del Jabali (3.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Playa Coco?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Playa Coco?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Playa Coco?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Playa Coco?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Hotel Playa Coco have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Playa Coco offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Hotel Playa Coco offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Does Hotel Playa Coco have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Hotel Playa Coco accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.