We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

Rolands Croft Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Rolands Croft Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

16 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Showing 16: English reviews
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2016

We booked two rooms at Rolands Croft, one for me and a twin for some mates. We booked it because it was conveniently located to a wedding we were going to and because it was cheap. Because of the latter we expected it to be a bit grim, we were wrong. It's really nice, my room was a bit dated... More 

Thank Colin S
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2016

Nice quiet place and found it very comfortable. The Owner Pete, nice guy and did a good beakfast. Don't expect a big one but it was a nice start to the morning. It's not a fancy place to stay and the building we stayed in was part of the old stable blocks. The room was cosy and comfortable and had... More 

Thank ventoma
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2016 via mobile

We were attending a wedding close by at the Wentbridge hotel and booked to stay at Rolands Croft to avoid paying £140 for a room. Pete greeted is on arrival and showed us around. The room was very pretty with a huge en-suite bathroom, 2 double beds, a large HD tv, a good wifi connection and tea and coffee making... More 

Thank james S
piere333, Owner at Rolands Croft Guest House, responded to this review

Many thanks glad you enjoyed your stay James, look forward to seeing you again at Rolandscroft, More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2016

We have just spent two nights at Roland's Croft and had a really great stay. Pete welcomed us warmly and showed us us where everything was. The ensuite was immaculate and extremely clean. A large tv was provided. The shower was hot and powerful. No complaints about the accommodation. Breakfast was well presented and hot. Not a complaint there either.... More 

Thank Martin J
piere333, Manager at Rolands Croft Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Martin! many thanks for your review and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here and the nice grilled breakfasts we were glad to serve you with! Have a great day sir until your next visit! Rolandscroft, More 

Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2016

Strange owner who likes to dip into your credit card without courtesy, horrible Wooden Shack with little privacy, description as en-suite is a joke, poor cleanliness. Paid £40 a night travelling for work for a flimsy wooden shack room with an electricity distribution unit by the bed and extension cables around. Wifi poor. Poor standard of dusting. Good news a... More 

Thank rob33a
piere333, General Manager at Rolands Croft Guest House, responded to this review

This is a terrible and unjust review with a guest who clearly has life issues! Firstly this man accuses rolandcroft of taking monies from credit card! this is our normal practice for any first night stay for all guests that is laid out clearly in our policy details on booking your room and our main website and other booking agencies!... More 

Travelers are raving about these Pontefract hotels

Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2016 via mobile

We had pre booked weeks in advance, found it very easy, n greeted by a lovely friendly gent Pete, we were shown to the family Chalet on first walk in it looked great ... the beds were very comfy, the walls were badly painted in RED !. sadly the big let down off the room. was the very very tired... More 

Thank yvonne g
piere333, Manager at Rolands Croft Guest House, responded to this review

HI thank you for your review! yes we would like to say that the lovely open cabin room that has great field views was up for re decoration last week and is now re opened for use and looks great! the breakfasts are indeed grilled and cooked to be served at a time you yourself chose! and being very fresh... More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2016

Very pleasant looking house and gardens. Pete runs a tight ship. We had a room in a converted outbuilding of 3. The room was clean, but could do with updating and the bathroom needed total modernisation with attention to toilet seat. Breakfast was ok'sh.

Thank recrumplin
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2016

We visited at short notice and the previous reviews did not make it look as good as we found it. Pete is a hard working and I found him must helpful with my requests. As we were short notice Pete put us in a family room but only charged for a double. We took our dog who was made welcome... More 

Thank Ron R
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2016

A very reasonably priced B&B that caters for journeymen and tradesfolk, also those folk attending the local technical college. The rooms are, well, interesting. Clean enough and warm but with eclectic decoration. Wifi is hot and miss, and its efficiency is entirely dependant on if the bloke next door is streaming a film. Breakfast is okay but I would guess... More 

Thank heracles88
piere333, Front Office Manager at Rolands Croft Guest House, responded to this review

Hi many thanks for your review! nice to hear in general you like your stay here! the comments about we don't do fancy scrambled egg here? was in fact a yorkshire joke! and not a bad answer for 7,10 am in the morning! how many places do a fully cooked grilled breakfast at that time and served to the minute... More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2016

It is interesting to read the other reviews. We too had a bit of the "Basil Fawlty" treatment. My husband was sure he had booked a twin room as we always do, but Pete assured us he was right and we had not. Difficult to argue. However we found the room very disappointing with the toilet in a corner of... More 

Thank Christine R
piere333, Guest Relations Manager at Rolands Croft Guest House, responded to this review

HI thanks you for your helpful review at Rolandscroft! we would like to reply to your comments! likened to ( bazil fawlty ) I personally take that as a compliment as he's a great fun interesting character and full of life and not like some people with no sense of humour or enjoyment in there lives! comments, mentioned the bed... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

3 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (3)
Room/Suite (1)
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontefract
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel
1.3 mi away
King's Croft Hotel
King's Croft Hotel
#2 of 6 in Pontefract
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Castleford (Xscape, M62 J32) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Pontefract North Hotel
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Castleford M62 Jct 31 Hotel
4.2 mi away
Good Night Inns Darrington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question


  • Free Parking
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Rolands Croft Guest House

Address: Rolands Croft Featherstone Lane, Pontefract WF7 6AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Pontefract
Price Range: $78 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rolands Croft Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay