We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Overcliffe Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Overcliffe Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 50: English reviews
Bath
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2016

This imposing building is located just outside the centre of Gravesend. It's a busy road and an indifferent location opposite the Asda supermarket, but all pretty convenient if you need to be close to the town centre. It’s pretty well maintained and comfortable, if a little in need of some TLC. All in all it was fine. The strangest thing... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank hoiplanetoi
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2016

I arrived at the hotel with a lovely warm welcome. I found my room ever so cosy and clean. The staff were very attentive and the location is perfect to commute into London, while also having Bluewater down the road! The restaurant is beautifully lit at night, it really was the perfect setting for an evening meal, along with spectacular... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha C
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2015

We travelled from East London to Gravesend by bike along the river Thames - an interesting ride. We found the hotel easily and received a warm welcome. The landlady said we could tie our bikes up at the back of ththe hotel where they would have 24 hour CCTV security😃😃. Rooms were well proportioned, clean and comfortable. The staff were... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Colette S
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015

I needed to book two rooms for when my mum and dad stayed for the wkd. It was my mums birthday and we were looked after really well. The staff couldn't do enough for us and the food was superb 5* standard and the rooms were very clean and the beds were really comfy, we slept like logs ha ha.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah W
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2015

Having arrived by coach at another hotel, we found we were not booked in !!! The owner of the Overcliffe Hotel was contacted and he took us in (twelve of us) despite it being ten o'clock at night. He made us very welcome. We had a good night's sleep and a hearty breakfast, before continuing on our way. The hotel... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Albert C
Gravesend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015

If its a clean friendly hotel you are seeking steer well away from this hotel. As I waited for my room key the reception lady asked me very aggressively "what do you want!". Poor service over priced no bins in bathroom no breakfast for such a high price. I will never return.

Helpful?
Thank soniakaur1979
Benita T, Front Office Manager at The Overcliffe Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sonia,we have investigated your complaints and can find no justification for your comments.We are however pleased to note that you've had a change of heart re our Hotel, as the following week you tried to book a two night stay. We are sorry we were unable to take your reservation that evening as we were full.Best regards .Thomas....... More 

South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2015

After a very long drive in horrendous weather I must admit I wasn't in the greatest of moods on arrival. When I walked in through the door I felt like I had gone back in time. It felt like 1973. To say the decor in reception was dated is an understatement. I was met at reception by a man who... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barracuda554
Alston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2015 via mobile

When I last visited the Overcliffe hotel I said I'd be back. True to my word I did return, I was not disappointed, on my return I found that the hotel had received a generous portion of TLC that enhanced my experience, that and the welcome I received from the staff puts this hotel in my list of favourites. I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor R
Wigan
Level Contributor
96 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2015

Two of us phoned for two single rooms on a last minute and as we had stayed before there was no need for credit card details which is really handy when you are on the move. The Hotel has it's own car park at the rear but is now only accessible from one side of the hotel the last time... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank tvrpieman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015

wonderful stay, quick checkin, peaceful location, comfortable beds. Staff very attentive, food is 5 star, town within walking distance. Lots of historical places to visit .will be visiting againThanks

Helpful?
4 Thank cattot
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravesend
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Gravesend Central Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#4 of 5 in Gravesend
3.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Manor Hotel
BEST WESTERN Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Singlewell
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Granby Hotel
The Granby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northfleet
4.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Gravesend (A2/Singlewell) Hotel
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Thurrock West Hotel
Premier Inn Thurrock West Hotel
#1 of 3 in West Thurrock
4.5 of 5 stars 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Food & drink at the hotel
Bloomers Restaurant
Bloomers Restaurant
Cuisines: British, French
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Overcliffe Hotel

Address: 15-16 Overcliffe, Gravesend DA11 0EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Gravesend
Price Range: $114 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Overcliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Overcliffe Hotel Gravesend, Kent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay