We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Inn on the Lake

Shorne, Gravesend DA12 3HB, England
Hotel amenities
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Inn on the Lake
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

297 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The views are amazing, but this hotel needs to move with the times, I'm sure they can afford to up date the bedrooms and bathrooms. Broken taps and dirty toilets, are just not except able when there is so much competition to be the best out there.

Helpful?
Thank lukex3
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments. We are very lucky to have such amazing views over our lakes. We are currently refurbishing the hotel bedrooms and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. More 

Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

For a Location on side of road it's quiet, warm, spacious. Comfortable beds. Lovely view by patio door to the lake. Staff helpful and friendly. Yes it's a little tired but has an an 80s feel about it which I like. There is everything you want and it's very clean. A real bathroom not just a shower.

Helpful?
Thank Treezi
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely comments, especially regarding the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent Christmas - total of 7 nights - in The Inn on the Lake as we were visiting family in the area. We stayed in the family rooms with interconnecting doors. Lovely service. Lovely rooms. Lovely breakfast. Lovely car parking space (free unlike loads of other hotels). We look fwd to summer break in The Inn on the Lake.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Martin O
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the summer. More 

Gravesend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My daughter had her wedding reception here yesterday.I would like to thank all of the staff for making Amy and Robs wedding day so happy.Everybody was so polite and friendly and very helpful.The venue was absolutely perfect,the buffet was great and everything went without a hitch.It really makes a difference when all the staff are happy and smiley.Thanks everybody.What a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie020
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Carrie, Thank you very much for your lovely comments which have been passed on to the team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. More 

KENT
Level Contributor
132 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We wanted a less expensive New Year this year, after paying out small fortunes for "do's" in previous years. Consequently, we weren't expecting too much (particularly as the admin seemed all over the place - though the staff were always very pleasant). However, we were very pleasantly surprised by our experience. The room was large, with a view of the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank christinekelly07
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. Our team, especially our head chef were very happy to read that you had such an enjoyable stay. Our Christmas programme will be released in the next few weeks so please check the website! More 

london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

THIS HOTEL SHOULD COME WITH A WARNING I stayed at the inn on the lake New Year's Eve to New Year's Day we had a fab time and pre authorised a £50 bar tab to use that evening the following day we decided to stay a further night but move to another room priced £59 lake view room so we... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank helendiggines
Kevin D, General Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Helen First and foremost, I would like to apologize for my belated reply. I was truly astonished when I first noticed your comments about this misunderstanding that occurred during your stay. I would like to assure you that this was an isolated mistake that has been looked into very seriously as we implement very rigorous controls with regards Bar... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015

This night away was booked for my husbands birthday with friends. Our friends got there before us and much to their dismay realised that the bed they had been given still have the indent of the previous occupant along with their hairs etc in the bed! They complained and were given the room next door. We arrived and yes you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sheryl R
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry to hear your stay with us wasn't up to your expectations. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

We went to a meal, show, disco, stayed the night and breakfast as a competition win. We did not arrive until everyone else had got to dessert and no meal had been booked for us deliberately but the staff ran around making sure we were seated at a table and got all three courses. Constantly attending to us and asking... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank TriciaBY
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. Its pleased to hear our staff were helpful to you all night and hope to see you at one of our many 2016 Cabaret shows. More 

Swadlincote, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015

Good value for money.clean.warm.good bedrooms .good basic food.obviously needs update but not to deter from cost conscious .overall excellent value for money within confines. Would recommend!!!!!staff helpfull

Helpful?
Thank Johnwx9948p
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We pride ourselves on our customer service and I am glad to see you found this true during your stay. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

We stayed at the Inn on the Lake because it looked to have a really nice setting on the small lake and it was convenient to our travel. The lake setting was very nice but, at least when we stayed in December, the Hotel had basically shut itself off from the lake view by closing down all the lake facing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Col E
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. Unfortunately, all our Lakeside rooms had been sold out that evening due to a function and not closed off. Its good to hear our Full English Breakfast was up to your standards. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravesend
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Manor Hotel
BEST WESTERN Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Singlewell
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
5.7 mi away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gillingham
3.5 of 5 stars 463 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Gravesend Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Gravesend (A2/Singlewell) Hotel
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Rochester Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Overcliffe Hotel
The Overcliffe Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gravesend
3.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
#