We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The House on the Corner

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Didcot
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The House on the Corner
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

16 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 16: English reviews
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2016

while working in didcot recently i stayed at this property for five weeks and found it to be absoloutly brilliant .firstly the hosts wendy and alan were very welcoming and friendly ,the room was very spacious and well decorated and with very good homely touches ie: tea and coffee making facilitys ,a toaster with bread supplied, all in the price... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth F
Wendy C, Owner at The House on the Corner, responded to this review

Thank you very much much Ken, its lovely to hear on here that you enjoyed your time with us and you had a lovely guest accommodation experience at The House on the Corner B&B More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for three months whilst contracting at Milton Park. Twenty mins door-2-door. Wendy and Alan are great hosts and you can even walk Brodie their dog should you wish. Truly a home from home.

Helpful?
2 Thank Ian M
Wendy C, Owner at The House on the Corner, responded to this review

Owner Many thanks Ian for your great feed back I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and Brodie enjoyed all your fuss treats and attention. More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2015

I stayed in one of the flats for over a year as I was working in the area and it was a home from home and I didn't have any issues what so ever and would highly recommend staying here to anyone also I would like to add that if there was anything I needed or wanted to change or... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank aaron c
Wendy C, Owner at The House on the Corner, responded to this review

Thank you Aaron, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay in our serviced flat next door to our B&B, thank you so much for your great response, we really enjoyed having you stay with us. More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2015 via mobile

Very friendly and welcoming place, exactly as it looks in the photos. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there and would recommend to any jet lagged family. The bottle of wine on arrival was a particularly nice touch. We're thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Highly recommended

Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2015

Last minute booking. Wendy was very helpful throughout my short stay. Would recomend, certainly for weekend break. Close to very good shopping centre, and railway station. A variety of pubs and takeaways too!

Helpful?
Thank Robbiemac9093
Wendy C, Owner at The House on the Corner, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your appraisal helpful information for other guests. More 

Didcot
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2014

I booked this B&B for my two sisters who were coming to stay. The room was a good size and very clean. There is a shower in the room with a toilet across the hall. Within the room was also a microwave oven, toaster and milk and cereals. The owners are vey friendly and helpful. I can not praise this... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank urdns
Wendy C, Owner at The House on the Corner, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind response we shall look forward to seeing you again next time you are our way. More 

Lydd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at The House on The Corner B&B Didcot three nights between Christmas and New Year (27th, 28th & 29th Dec 2013). We stayed in the 2B Flat which also had off road parking for one car. The flat itself was lovely, clean ‘n’ tidy and the photos don’t do the flat itself justice. The landlady Wendy met us... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank pink_piglet00
Wendy C, Manager at The House on the Corner, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feed back I have updated the photos and created a new website, we have listened to your advise and put curtains up thank you so much. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I am currently working in Didcot. House on the corner came recommended to me by a colleague. Booking by phone I was asked my preferred breakfast cereal and bread / milk and given details on checking in. On arrival everything was set out in an orderly and professional fashion. Nothing was too much trouble and a genuine warm welcome made... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank F2ANK
Wendy C, Owner at The House on the Corner, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback we do try and create home from home experience we do try and look after our guests so they can look after work. More 

essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

excellent bright and airy room with wash basin and shower constant hot water toilet located on first floor clean and bright no problems with having to go down stairs to use it comfy double bed a fan was provided due to hot weather table and chair to eat food various selection of cereals plus bread butter jam milk tea coffee... More 

Helpful?
Thank tessy6Essex
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

As a family we stayed 2 nights in one of the flats attached to the house on the corner, it was like being in our own place with all the mod cons, Wendy was very friendly and understanding because we arrived in a large van and dressed not in our Sunday best with Irish accents im sure she must have... More 

Helpful?
Thank garyrobson
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Didcot
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford South (Didcot) Hotel
3.6 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
1,001 reviews
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Crown & Thistle
The Crown & Thistle
#2 of 5 in Abingdon
214 reviews
0.9 mi away
Southern Wood B&B
Southern Wood B&B
#11 of 14 in Didcot
31 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Red Lion Pub & Kitchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about The House on the Corner

Address: 45 Broadway | Corner of Broadway and Hagbourne Road, Didcot OX11 8AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Didcot
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The House On The Corner Didcot, Oxfordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The House on the Corner staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“they are all good”
 of 5 bubbles 774kennethf, Oct 2, 2016 | Read review
“Any one of the flat or the rooms in the main house.”
 of 5 bubbles aaroncJ3130WX, Nov 14, 2015 | Read review
“the room at the top was quiet and airy”
 of 5 bubbles tessy6Essex, Jul 22, 2013 | Read review
“We stayed in the Studio room and, although we only stayed for a weekend, it looked a great option for a longer stay. I'm sure all of the rooms are lovely, including the self-contained flat that we had a look around.”
 of 5 bubbles GeorgeL911, Nov 12, 2011 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles AndieP, Aug 31, 2011 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question