We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Calverts Hotel

Traveler (59)
Room & Suite (36)
Dining (3)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to Calverts. We are a budget hotel located in the centre of Newport just off the High Street and in walking distance of the courts, business parks, shops and main bus station. Open all year round, Calverts is perfect if you’re visiting the island on business or for a short stay.
Read more
Property amenities
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast Available
Non-smoking hotel
Paid Internet
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located

Location

Full view
81Good for walkers
Grade: 81 out of 100
62Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
12Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
163Reviews
68Photos
1Q+A
45Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 9
  • 30
  • 28
  • 35
  • 61
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I arrived at the hotel and was given a key to my room. The radiator was cold and there was no hot water. I said this was unacceptable so they moved me to another room. There was no heating in the second room either, and all they supplied was a small electric heater. Also there
Read more
Response from IOWHotels, Owner at Calverts Hotel
Responded Dec 28, 2018
We have responded directly to this guest. He did not report the issue with his room otherwise we would've moved him to another, and/or provided him with another electric heater, no questions asked. We did not have any other complaints about heating or hot water during the dates this guest stayed and upon further investigation, it was just this room which had an issue. Because the guest didn't report this issue to reception, we weren't given the opportunity to fix the issue or move the guest to another room.
Read more
The part of the hotel I was in didn’t have central heating. It had plenty of stains on carpets walls a dampness about it and a tv that was knackered and they refused to fix. It had sellotape on connections at back. Beer is goodish downstairs-staff are beleaguered and Beds are
Read more
+1
Queen Victoria stayed in this hotel (I know this because the staff kept telling me), and it doesn't look like it's been cleaned since then. The room I stayed in had a door between the bathroom and the bedroom with slats which meant it was actually not a door but more a cage.
Read more
Cheap and cheerful, decor dated but grate night sleep, welcoming staff fair prices for your stay. It's in the Hart of the town, close to public transport would definitely stay again and recommended for a cheap place to stay
Read more
We booked this hotel before reading the reviews so with all the negativity we expected the worst. On entering the hotel we notice that there were two planters outside the front door, one with some lovely flowers and the other had a load of 'fag butts', something that could quite
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining
Toilet
side bath
Ascent to the throne.
This is the bathroom door. Never been able to lay in bed and watch someone using the loo before.
Chipped bath
PreviousNext
1234568
Hi.what times breakfast served please.
"Make sure you have hit water and heating."
"Book a different hotel"
"Speak to the Hotel if you need special requirements"
"Don't know if there is any."
"Don’t stay here you will be dissapointed"
PreviousNext
1234569
PRICE RANGE
$58 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
calverts hotel newport
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandIsle of WightNewport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing