We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Passeig de les Roques, 3, 08370 Calella Spain
Lowest prices for your stay
StayForLong
ZenHotels.com
$54
View deal
Traveluro
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (118)
Room & Suite (57)
Dining (25)

About

#23 of 43 in Calella
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
3.7
Service
3.5
Value
3.2
Located in an unbeatable location on the seafront, is the Hotel Checkin Garbí 3 ***. The coastal town of Calella de la Costa is home to one of the hotels with the longest tradition in the area and exclusive views of the Mediterranean. It has a total of 154 spacious and bright rooms. Equipped with bathroom, hairdryer, direct telephone, satellite TV, air conditioning and heating. It includes 4 family rooms type suites, with a terrace of 20 m2, hammocks and whirlpool. It also houses a buffet restaurant, a cafeteria with outdoor terrace and meeting room. Located in the commercial area of ​​Calella where you can make purchases and leisure activities. With the beach, just 50 meters from the hotel, you can enjoy different water activities that you can inform in our hotel. To travel to Barcelona, ​​it is very simple: it is 40 km away and is perfectly connected to Calella. Only 10 minutes on foot, you will find the train station that goes directly to the city.
Read more
Property amenities
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Game room
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Car hire
Sun terrace
Public wifi
Paid wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Hiking
Billiards
Darts
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Telephone
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Catalan, German
196Reviews5Q+A9Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 40
  • 50
  • 47
  • 34
  • 25
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
DSUM wrote a review Sep 2019
Croydon, United Kingdom14 contributions4 helpful votes
We have just spent 8 nights at this hotel and loved it. We were greeted by the lovely Karen after a delayed journey in and all the stress that involved. What a jewel you have with her. She is funny, engaging and has been very helpful throughout our stay; a true pleasure. The room was great. The large terrace and the sea view were amazing. The WiFi was somewhat patchy on the top floor but no more than expected for such a a large hotel. Breakfast was well organised the first day with a queuing system and one of the staff acting as maitre de but left a bit to be desired after that with a bit of a free for all on seating. Location is perfect as others have said with beach over the road, local shops and train station all a short wander away. We definitely intend to come back and enjoy another stay. Thank you CheckinHotel Garbi.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from karens9275, Reception at Checkin Garbi
Responded Sep 16, 2019
Dear guest. Thank you very much for your kind comment. We are trully delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future. we will look into the problem in the dining room and endeaver to improve the seating system. Kind regards Hotel CheckinGarbi
Read more
guest wrote a review Sep 2019
2 contributions
This hotel is terrible. All in all it was a big disappointment! Th service in that hotel is just mean. They will lose all their clients if they don’t improve their service. For example we were sling out of lobby in the last day, when we waited for our bus from hotel to airport. Food was dull, rooms very small with 1 contact and it's the same with balcony. The walls are thin too much. If you aren’t sound sleeper you take a earplugs. I don’t recommended Hotel Checkin Garbi.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from karens9275, Reception at Checkin Garbi
Responded Sep 5, 2019
Dear Guest. We are sorry to here that our services did not meet your expectations. We will endeavor to improve our services in the future. Kind regards Hotel CheckinGarbi
Read more
Beata wrote a review Jul 2018
Bydgoszcz, Poland31 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
As 3* hotel i can tell that service is over the top,food was amazing,all staff friendly and helpful.We really enjoyed our holidays.Suite room worth every penny,had small fredge,air conditioning and jacuzzi bath in the bathroom,control remote for the TV without any fees or rental payments. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from karen s, reception at Checkin Garbi
Responded Jul 23, 2018
Dear guest. Thank you verry much for taking the time to send us your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday with us, and hope to see you again in the near future. Best regards Hotel CheckinGarbi
Read more
Lyn M wrote a review Apr 2018
Plymouth, United Kingdom5 contributions12 helpful votes
Booked a last minute out of season cheap and cheerful break- 4 nights in Calella, lovely resort, hotel Checkin Garbi right on the beach, due to the time of year there was no entertainment, no bar in the hotel although there is a bar attached to it. very basic but clean, if you are reliant on hotel activities this is not the place for you, makes a great base. Railway line right outside of the door, station 10 minute walk away (flat) Barcelona 1 hr journey away, regular trains, clean and reliable and only 10€ return. Calella itself is lovely lots of tourist shops and local provisions, get the best of both worlds, would certainly like to go back in season and enjoy the long clean sandy beaches and beach bars.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from karen s, Reception at Checkin Garbi
Responded Apr 28, 2018
Good afternoon, Thankyou for taking the time to send us your comments. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and have been able to make the most of our privileged situation on the sea front and so near to the city center and train station. We hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards Hotrl CheckinGarbi
Read more
Carllovely wrote a review Oct 2017
Liverpool, United Kingdom5 contributions8 helpful votes
Stayed half board. Got dropped off at 23:00 hours, tired. Got put on the first floor over the bar, very noisy no sleep that night. Room looked like it had been decorated in the 70's, in fact the hotel wouldn't have been out of place in a carry on film. Room small, no view from the balcony, bathroom needed a desperate makeover. The food was good, plenty of variety. Would I stay there again? No.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Checkin_Hoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Checkin Garbi
Responded Oct 20, 2017
Dear Carllovely, thank you for your visit and your feedback. It's nice to know that you liked the food and the variety of dishes offered. We regret that we have not fulfilled the desired expectations, and for us the well-being and satisfaction of our guest is very important. We will share your comments with the relevant department for future improvements. Thanks for your visit, and we hope you will give us another opportunity and visit us again, so we can change the impression about us and enjoy your stay. Best regards! Public Relations Manager
Read more
bst40 wrote a review Sep 2017
Birmingham, United Kingdom18 contributions11 helpful votes
This was a last minute holiday. Hotel is right opposite beach. It was very clean with towels changed every day and bed linen 3 times in the week. The staff were very pleasant and helpful most particularly Isabel and Karen on the front desk. The food was fine with plenty of choice and availability. On the down side wifi was not great and a ramp up to the hotel would be a real bonus for elderly and inform. On the whole really good value.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Sea views are a must
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Checkin_Hoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Checkin Garbi
Responded Sep 25, 2017
Dear guest, we appreciate your review on TripAdvisor, it is a pleasure to know you enjoyed the hotel, thanks for service offered, location and variety of the food. We apologize for the inconvenience associated with the Wifi and lack of the ramp. Your comments are taken into account for further modification of the hotel and improvement of the offered services Thank you for your visit, and we are looking forward to welcoming you again en Checkin Garbi. With the best wishes!!! Public Relations Manager
Read more
Rik W wrote a review Sep 2017
Haarlem, The Netherlands30 contributions21 helpful votes
We had an ok experience at the Checkin Garbi. The hotel really needs to get an up-date. Rooms are smal, outdated and very noisy. Bathroom sometimes smelled of sewer and the shower pressure was really low. The view from our balcony was fantastic (our room was on the 7th floor). Only bad wifi available in the lobby... Breakfast was horrible, everything was fabric-made so noting really fresh and tasty. We had it included in our room-rate but after one day we decided we better had breakfast outdoors. Location was good, next to the beach and city centre. The downside; there was a lot of ambient noise all night form the streets and hotel bar underneath the hotel. We didn't experience a lot of staff in the hotel, but at the hotel bar outside the staff was really friendly IF you got there attention... Every day needed to walk up to the bar itself to order.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
Helpful
Share
Response from Checkin_Hoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Checkin Garbi
Responded Sep 25, 2017
Dear Guest, thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. Your experience at our hotel is very important to us. Your information will help us to improve our service. We feel sorry we did not meet your expectations from the hotel. We will share your comments with the relevant department for future improvements. Thanks for your visit, and we hope you will give us another opportunity and visit us again, so we can change the impression about us and enjoy your stay. Best regards! Public Relations Manager
Read more
ruth s wrote a review Sep 2017
Inverness, United Kingdom23 contributions27 helpful votes
Was here for a week and got the top floor room which was adequate with a balcony, as requested, which had superb sea views and really couldn't be matched in Calellas hotel scene. The huge huge downfall with this hotel was the rude unhappy looking staff, one can understand working with the public on a daily basis can be taxing but they treated us like cattle at feeding time as opposed to the kind folk who are keeping them afloat. The cleaners were lovely however and the young chap at reception was more than helpful. The boss is grumpy and one feels she is just there to count the cash. There is a bar adjacent and the staff there were great there also but I wouldn't recommend neither the food nor the nasty staff down in the 'animals enclosure' of a basement eatery. The rooms are dated and the aircon in inadequate but I would return purely for its location and views
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Checkin_Hoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Checkin Garbi
Responded Sep 18, 2017
Dear guest, thanks for sharing with us your review on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure to know you liked the location of our hotel. For a start, we would like to clarify some points that you mentioned, since all your remarks are of great importance to us to improve our service. First of all, we regret we did not reach your expectations about the hospitality. Our priority to make the guests feel welcome in our hotel and to provide them with a wonderful experience of staying, so we will definitely discuss this issue at the staff meeting. Regarding the food, we would like to mention, our team works hard to offer the best quality and variety of the buffet, and most of our clients are satisfied with our gastronomy, nevertheless, your comment motivates us to keep improving our service. Looking forward to seeing you again soon in one of ours Checkin Hotels. Best regards! Public Relations Manager
Read more
stnew128gb wrote a review Aug 2017
3 contributions2 helpful votes
Rooms at the front with sea view far better. Noisy at the back of the hotel. Food very very basic struggled with choices available. Couple of nights didn't bother. Staff mostly very nice. Hotel is old in parts our air con didn't work. Recommend if your young and want to stay up all night😁
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Checkin_Hoteles, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Checkin Garbi
Responded Sep 7, 2017
Dear Stewart, thank you for taking time to share with us your review. First of all, we regret we have not reached your expectations of the hotel. All the opinions from our clients good or bad are of great use to us, as we can improve our establishment and services accordingly. Also, we would like to give a recommendation, for all clients who visit us, If there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact our 24-hour front desk. We send you a cordial greeting, and we hope you will give us another opportunity and visit us again, so we can change the impression about us and enjoy your stay. Public Relations Manager
Read more
Alessandro S wrote a review Aug 2017
Cavenago di Brianza, Italy39 contributions17 helpful votes
I have been in this hotel with the family and to get free with the food problems I booked full board. The food was a disaster, the left food from lunch was reused for the dinner mixed up to cover the different taste, in absolute it was a very disappointing thing, I pay to have it included and I had to go out and look for restaurants. A strong recomendation is to stay away from this place and in own as I am traveling many times to Calella I will never come back here.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$48 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
garbi costa brava
LOCATION
SpainCataloniaProvince of BarcelonaCalella
NUMBER OF ROOMS
145
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Checkin Garbi
Which popular attractions are close to Checkin Garbi?
Nearby attractions include St. Mary and St. Nicholas Church (0.3 miles), Bowling Golf (0.2 miles), and BoB's Disco (0.06 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Checkin Garbi?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Checkin Garbi?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Checkin Garbi?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Taj, Kurkuma Indian Restaurant, and Papas Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Checkin Garbi?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Checkin Garbi located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Calella.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Checkin Garbi?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, and Catalan.
Are there any historical sites close to Checkin Garbi?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Guard Towers Las Torretas (0.7 miles) and Refugio Antiaereo (0.5 miles).
Does Checkin Garbi have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.