We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel RD Mar de Portals

Traveler (225)
360
Panoramas (15)
Room & Suite (99)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#5 of 7 hotels in Majorca
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Completely refurbished in 2016, the 4-star RD MAR DE PORTALS hotel (ADULTS ONLY) is located in Bendinat (Calvià), a district belonging to the wonderful island of Mallorca. Located just 150m away from the beautiful beach of Portals and 15 minutes drive from the capital of the island "Palma de Mallorca". Its proximity to more than 8 golf courses (less than 19km from the hotel) and different cycling routes makes the RD MAR DE PORTALS hotel in an ideal place to enjoy the practice of golf and cycling. The hotel is characterized by its careful and varied gastronomic offer and its concept of design that is transmitted through its modern decoration, facilities and spaces enabled for different environments, transmitting to its customers a fresh and unbridled concept.
Read more
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness classes
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Shuttle bus service
Meeting rooms
Street parking
Free internet
Wifi
Internet
Personal trainer
Sauna
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Car hire
Hammam
Massage
Adults only
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
VIP room facilities
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German

Location

Full view
65Somewhat walkable
Grade: 65 out of 100
67Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
12Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
297Reviews
33Q+A
39Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 163
  • 78
  • 28
  • 16
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stayed at this hotel, adults only. Very impressed with this hotel and would recommend to anyone. Beautifully clean, large rooms. Amazing breakfast, lovely staff, choice of 2 pools, food in snack area good. Would return
Read more
Location Good location, very close to the beach. Highly recommend paddle boarding from Portals Nous beach. You can book trips from the hotel and get picked up ~8 minute walk away. Service We received expected level of customer service when we first arrived. Receptionist was welcoming but a little pushy for converting us to half board (thank god we didn’t - the food wasn’t good and made us ill). We felt the staff were a little pushy to charge for food\ drinks, for example asking as soon as we had sat down. The real issue we had with the service is when we complained about the food which made us unwell. We had ordered sushi for room service in the evening, my partner and I got sick that evening and into the morning. We spoke to the staff who were not sure on how to deal with the issue, although he was apologetic, and decided to leave a note for the second manager who could deal with this the next day. This is where the drama started. After not receiving any updates on this issue, we decided to speak to the staff to follow up. We explained the situation and the member of staff present, Nuria, could not find any record of the issue and was very dismissive and unhelpful. She immediately started asking for proof - i.e a hospital visit. She became very defensive because “no one gets sick in this hotel”. After we asked what could be done, she said two things “either I can believe you, or not, and to be honest I don’t believe you”. She then dismissed our complaints and mentioned she had more important customers to deal with. When we tried to explain the situation and why we were upset by her attitude, she kept repeating and interrupting our points. I asked if I could speak and she said no - unbelievable. Obviously we’ve never encountered anything like this before. We didn’t want to make a fuss over this, given we had spent ~€2300 at the hotel. We just wanted an apology and refund for the food that made us sick. After all this Nuria said she would try and get a refund but refused to apologise for her attitude and the fact that she didn’t believe us. This has ruined the end of our holiday and we will not be returning. I hope management take this issue seriously as having checked previous reviews after this incident, the management response seems consistent with our experience - defensive, in denial and doesn’t take the customer seriously. Having said that, many of the younger staff were much more professional, helpful and pleasant. We ended up getting a refund, to our surprise, at checkout for the full meal. This was not communicated to us prior, however clearly management took the issue more seriously. We received no apology. Facilities Good facilities, pool is nice, rooms are clean (albeit they bring you many, many mints.. Seriously). The executive room was included as part of our package, however we would not personally pay extra for it otherwise. It included some small bits of cheese and ham, a coffee machine and a quiet cool room. Price Little on the expensive side, given what you get / food quality. Food Pricey food, mediocre quality generally with limited choice for room service and quite salty. Love a dash (splash!) of mayo on wraps - if you’re lucky you may get some lettuces. Obviously we got unwell from the sushi, would caution others against eating here.
Read more
Response from ManagerRD, Director General at Hotel RD Mar de Portals
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear guest, thank you for your review in tripadvisor. we will do our best to be better next time. We work everyday hard to be the best for our guests and ti give them what they expect from us. About the Sushi issue, since 2016 we do not provide Sushi in our restaurants or room service, we had just a few orders from sushi that is why we removed from our menu. moreover, we have never had a food problem in our restaurants or services, we have a very strict health and safety control. regards
Read more
2nd visit and as good as before. Smart hotel close to the beaches and all bars and restaurants of Portals. We have stayed at other hotels and apartments but The RD stands out. Great staff in cool surroundings, clean rooms and a very peaceful stay. Thank you.
Read more
From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were made to feel welcome, staff at this hotel are outstanding, the rooms are bright clean and modern chic. Food is excellent and varied, fantastic buffet style breakfast, so much variety. Relaxed by the pool area most mornings, the area is spotless. Everything is just so right for a really relaxing holiday.
Read more
Executive room was great, service was top. Had an issue with the jacuzzi and got taken care of while it was being fixed. Also very quite hotel, perfect for relaxing, no one shouting. I Highly recommend
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$132 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hsm maria luisa hotel, hsm maria luisa portals nous
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Maria Luisa
LOCATION
SpainBalearic IslandsMajorcaCalviaPortals Nous
NUMBER OF ROOMS
120
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing