We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown

Hotel website
Hotel deals
700 Monticello Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23510 (Formerly Norfolk Plaza Hotel)
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 20%
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

354 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My housekeeper Deana is always pleasant with a smile on her face. She is very helpful. I want to think her for doing such a good job. She has made my stay here very comfortable. I definitely would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Helpful?
Thank Rickey T
Tiffany J, Director of Sales at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your recent stay and review of the Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown! I am so glad that you had a great experience and you chose to share it with others. I will make sure to let Deana know how much we appreciate her hard work and how she made you feel as our guest. Please come... More 

Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was treated great for my first visit to the Wyndham. downtown I was greeted by the marketing agent who accommodated me graciously and made my evening concert a success! I had an after party in the Restaurant called blacked Tune. The catering was superb and the food was great. the staff was great also.

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jackiefaith
Tiffany J, Director of Sales at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your recent review and your recent stay with the Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown! We are happy you enjoyed everything and your event in the Black Tuna went well! We look forward to having you return soon! Tiffany Joyner More 

Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Initially I had no complaints about this hotel until checking my bank statement a few days after checking out. Now, if I could rate this hotel with zero stars, I would. A friend and I rented an executive suite in the 12th floor for a small gathering for her birthday. From the very first encounter with the hotel staff, we... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Sharonda E
Tiffany J, Director of Sales at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent feedback and review. I am sorry to hear that although your stay went well and you had no complaints initially that now you feel disappointed because of a party fee. Unfortunately, the hotel does not allow parties in the rooms. Due to the tremendous clean up effort, several guest complaints, and loss of revenue, a... More 

Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After the blizzard of 2016 there was an issue with my room key and the heating unit in my room, spoke with Sarina at the front desk and the issue was resolved within 10 minutes all with a warm smile.

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Howard C
Tiffany J, Director of Sales at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your recent review and for your stay with us! We appreciate your kind words. Please come again soon! More 

Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

From walking into a lobby that was colder than the brisk northern wind, to the elevators that had you guessing if you would arrive at your floor this hotel is way beyond some serious TLC. I guess the one positive I found was the bartender that kept you intoxicated just enough to make you forget how bad the hotel really... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark W
Tiffany J, Director of Sales at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent feedback and for your recent stay with us. We definitely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your visit. We are constantly making improvements and our guest reviews are a way for us to focus our attention on needed areas. During the weekend of the "blizzard" we did have an elevator go down momentarily and... More 

Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Where to begin! Light bulbs not working in my room, no working outlet to charge my phone except the bathroom, COLD shower to start your day right! Outside of the room: AC blaring so that it was colder inside than in the winter weather outside, only 1 elevator working while others were broken with no out of order signs, and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kelsidavis1901
Tiffany J, Director of Sales at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Valued guest - we sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay at our hotel. It seems as though you had a very unpleasant visit and I would like to follow up on each of your concerns. We take all of our guest feedback very seriously and wherever we can improve, we like to make sure we... More 

Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location of the Hotel is great, located close to the Scope and easy walking distance to the mall and downtown. Be wary of heading north or east, as they are not the best neighborhoods. The hotel is old and not in the best condition, but the housekeeping staff is wonderful. Shawanda Covil went out of her way to make... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brian R
Tiffany J, Director of Sales at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review and we appreciate your business! We hope you come back to visit. I am pleased that the housekeeping staff and Shawanda made your stay welcoming and comfortable. We are constantly working on improving our hotel and with the new changes being made, we welcome you to try us again soon. Tiffany Joyner More 

Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Prior to this stay, I had stayed at this hotel once before. The location is convenient to the main downtown area, so is a walkable distance. However, during my stay the year prior, the hotel was under renovation. Not a problem, except that here, one year later, the room condition overall was poor - it did not look as though... More 

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank B_Kaz2013
Tiffany J, Director of Sales at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review and stay at our property. I am glad that you are a repeat guest and we hope that on your next stay we change your perception of the hotel. I apologize for the rate confusion, we do not have control over the rates one books online and may have been a result of a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
0.7 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
4.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
5.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay