We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 106: English reviews
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Would not recommend this hotel. Door lock was broken (looked tampered with), tv didn't work, was put in a smoking room as a non-smoker and left with a feeling that all my luggage smelled of smoke. Wanted to chat with the staff on it and found her sleeping at the front desk.

Helpful?
Thank skiteri
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport, responded to this review

Dear skiteri, Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport, VA. I certainly appreciate you taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention. We are always happy to provide a consistently clean, comfortable and courteous place for our guests. However, on this occassion, we fell below of your expectations due to the... More 

Ellenwood, GA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2016

Stayed at the Candlewood Suites for two nights. The hotel was ok, but could use renovating. Housekeeping doesn't change the towels or clean your room daily. For the amount, they should at least empty the trash. There was no clock in the room. However, the beds were clean and comfortable.

Helpful?
Thank ROWM2002
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport, responded to this review

Dear ROWM2002, Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Allow me to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to shortfalls on our housekeeping services. We always strive to provide our guests with comfortable accommodations and we regret that we did not meet some of your expectations.... More 

Cape Charles, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2016

We booked with Candlewood for one night prior to a very early flight at Norfolk International Airport. The check in was quick and efficient. The room was clean, but a smoking room. The shuttle was prompt and professional. Our experience was easy and economical.

Helpful?
1 Thank togo_11_11
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2016

Nice enough hotel.. but no breakfast and for the cost, it needs to be included. Car alarm was going off and on for 3 hours in front of the hotel but thankfully it stopped before 10pm. The chair in the room is beyond worn. It is obvious that several times the room has been checked and yet someone thought, "that... More 

Helpful?
Thank bzybee08
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport, responded to this review

Dear bzybee08, Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am pleased to know that you found our hotel nice and I am sorry if you were disappointed that we do not have breakfast. We do not have a restaurant on site thus we do not provide breakfast, but... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2016 via mobile

I checked into my room and found that I had no chairs. Not a singe chair in my room. I called the front desk and asked for a chair. They said that no one was available to bring one up to me. But I could come down to their conference room and take one up if I needed to sit... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Charles K
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport, responded to this review

Dear Charles K, Thank you for writing a review on our hotel. Our goal is to deliver exceptional service and comfortable accommodations, and we appreciate your business with us. However, we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience the lack of chair in the room may have caused you. The situation you have described about the level of assistance received fell below... More 

Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2016

I come once a month enjoy the staff and the day gm is the bomb. the hotel is clean and the staff in general is there for you. the night shift is more responsible and are more available to assist you if anything goes wrong

Helpful?
1 Thank outter1
China Grove
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

Always busy an inexpensive. However, this franchise does not live up tongue standards of IHG. The staff are hot or cold. Some are awesome and others are cold as ice and don't want to be there. The rooms are not kept up, some have damage, others have broken a/c units. Just not what I expected!

Helpful?
Thank Thomas R
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

The reviews say the hotel is clean. 😒. It's not thoroughly clean. The night stand had something sticky on it and the tub had bar soap residue on the tub shelf. The beds are basic. Hope you don't have back issues. The recliner and office chairs in the room were old and had crumbling vinyl upholstery(see photos). The other chair... More 

Helpful?
Thank JL000
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport, responded to this review

Dear JL000, Thank you for leaving a candid review about our hotel on TripAdvisor. We value each feedback as this will allow us to identify the areas that may benefit from our additional attention. Rest assured that the cleanliness of our rooms and our property, in general, has always been our main priority and it is disheartening to learn that... More 

Richmond
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2016

This hotel is a dump. you have to ask for toilet paper (you only get 1 roll in room) , you only get 2 towels in room so you have to ask for towels, no ice machine in hotel, room is only cleaned once a week, so no clean sheets, staff is not very friendly.. i would go somewhere else... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank yellowbird1212
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport, responded to this review

Dear yellowbird1212, Thank you for writing a review about your experience at the hotel. We're very sorry the issues you had prevented you from fully enjoying your stay. We'd like to follow-up on this. We've sent you a private message to further discuss your concerns. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Regards, Tracy V. Case Manager IHGService More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2016

Whats not to love? Microwave popcorn, spacious closets, two burner stove, full size fridge, and a comfy bed. Did i mention rooms have their own ice makers? This site also had dog friendly rooms which i intend to take advantage of at a later date. I was quickly checked in and immediately felt the weariness of the road wash away... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeffery M
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norfolk Airport
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Norfolk International Airport
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Candlewood Suites Hotel Norfolk Airport (ORF) - Hampton Roads, VA. The Candlewood Suites Norfolk - Airport is a member of the IHG family brands of hotels including InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn, Holiday Inn Express and Staybridge Suites Hotels. The Candlewood Suites is the perfect hotel for the long term government travelers, project teams, training, relocation, temporary & corporate housing needs. The Candlewood Suites - Norfolk Airport Hotel is centrally located 2 miles from the Norfolk (ORF) Airport on Military Highway between I-64 & I 264; minutes from VA Beach, Chesapeake, Suffolk, Portsmouth. Our hotel is close to Northrop Grumman, Lockheed Martin, USAA, Portfolio Recovery, Keane Inc., General Dynamics, Naval Station Norfolk, Naval Amphibious Base Little Creek, Naval Air Station Oceana & Norfolk Naval Shipyard. The Candlewood Suites Hotel offers apartment like suites with all of the conveniences of home to meet your extended stay or short term hotel needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee applies) offers studio and one bedroom suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, spacious living & work areas, Flat screen TVs with DVD players, free wired & wireless Internet. Other features include 24-hour business center, free laundry facilities, fitness center, courtyard with grills & our signature Candlewood Cupboard convenience store. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport

Address: 5600 Lowery Rd, Norfolk, VA 23502-2233
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Price Range: $82 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and IHG so you can book your Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport Hotel Norfolk
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Lanham, Maryland, United States
over a year ago
Lanham, Maryland, United States
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Candlewood Suites Norfolk Airport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“pick the 3rd floor”
 of 5 bubbles outter1, Jul 25, 2016 | Read review
“don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles yellowbird1212, Jun 14, 2016 | Read review
“West end is close to the BBQ grills”
 of 5 bubbles Panamaannie, Feb 18, 2016 | Read review
“Twin queens appeared to be a larger room”
 of 5 bubbles NYMako, Aug 3, 2015 | Read review
“Stay away from the 1st floor”
 of 5 bubbles Shanee757, Aug 18, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay