We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

786 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 773: English reviews
Falls Church, Virginia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Convenient location. However, if you don't valet park you have to walk about a 1/2 block and through an office building to the parking garage. The hotel décor is very dated and worn but everything was in working order and clean. The facility is scheduled for a renovation in 2017. There is a new retail project opening up next door...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolinafolly
Tim P, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

As you shared, our hotel will be undergoing a complete revitalization and we anticipate you will love our stylish new look! Thank you for sharing your feedback and compliments to our team. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back in the future so that you may enjoy all our improvements.

Silverdale, Washington
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We checked into the hotel on Christmas Day and out on New Year's Day. The hotel is dated but signs indicate it is embarking on an update. Rooms are typical, clean and needing an update (missing outlet covers, broken lamps, outlets that did not function) we were in a suite with a pull out couch for our son, it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bermuda72
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Please accept our sincere apologies that we missed the mark on ensuring your complete satisfaction, your experience is not at all what we want for our valued guests. Our management team appreciates your feedback as we are always looking to improve the experience for our guests. We are eager to let you know that our hotel will undergo a complete...

Cincinnati
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I thought the staff was fantastic, couldn't have been nicer and more accommodating. The unfortunate aspect is that this property is in desperate need of a refresh. Suppose that's why the rates are so reasonable but a makeover is due.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank schmidthb
Kay P, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your kind sentiments for our staff, we're happy you were impressed by their hospitality. We are excited to announce that our hotel will undergo a complete revitalization shortly, and we anticipate that our enhancements will win you over completely. It's our hope that you will think of our waterfront property the next time you...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

To start my online rate was not approved so I ended up paying more. Then I get to my room the duvet cover was dirty, TV didn't work, heat took 3 hrs to kick on an it was 30 degrees outside, only 1 power socket, room phone didn't work trash in the can when I checked in, no free guest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lilbuster
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Your review is concerning to us as we always strive to provide the very best in customer care and comfort. Your comments will be reviewed with the rest of our management team to ensure we are putting our best foot forward for every guest we welcome. Thank you, and it's our hope that you'll give us another chance to provide...

San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

i stay here to visit my family every July and December . i want to point out a few people first . Don Sanders manager of City Dock restaurant really helped me organize a holiday dinner with my family as my mother is in assisted living we wanted to dine out on Christmas.The staff was great and the food here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darryl M
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for highlighting Don Sanders and the rest of our banquet staff, they will be thrilled to learn your holiday dinner was a success. While we're pleased our staff made such an incredible impression on you, it's disappointing that our housekeeping service didn't live up to the standards that we set for ourselves. Rest assured your feedback...

Reviewed December 14, 2016 via mobile

This property is right on the water. Checkin was fast and staff was awesome. But hotel has seen its days, needs serious renovation. Parking is in nearby building. Just get your parking pass validated. Short walk to Norfolk old town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheran K
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent visit. We are excited to let you know that our hotel will undergo a complete renovation including all guest rooms. We hope you'll visit us in the future to enjoy our refreshed new look.

Reviewed December 6, 2016 via mobile

As you can see in photo one the chair is very nasty. Would recommend doing away with cloth and consider leather if they are to hard to keep clean. Second photo looks like previous guest has spilled something down wall and was not even wiped off. Third photo shows where patches have been placed and not repainted. No fridge or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hedmonds3576
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

It's truly disappointing to learn when a guests' experience does not live up to their expectations or the standards that we have set. Your comments will be shared with our housekeeping staff to ensure that all areas of our hotel are at their best. Your feedback is valuable to us, thank you for taking the time to share your comments....

Virginia
Reviewed November 26, 2016

Good location and if you lucky you get a harbor view room, which is very nice. Stuff friendly and helpful. Overall , the hotel is old and "tired" rooms need an update. Coffee maker in room, but no fridge, microwave or safe. Valet parking is $25 a night! A bit steep if you ask me. Most important to me was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wisnia
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

While we were pleased you appreciated our great location and our staff's attentive service, we do wish that we had impressed you at every turn. We are excited to let you know that our property will be undergoing a complete renovation including all guest rooms. It's our hope that you'll visit us again in the future and enjoy our refreshed...

raleigh
Reviewed November 15, 2016

The hotel offers a "green choice" option to guests with multiple night stays. If the guest is willing to forego having the room cleaned, the guest is to receive five dollars to spend in the restaurant. Five dollars is not a lot of money, but I thought, why not?. Well, the staff did not clean the room, but did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank accordionpotter
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear there was a misunderstanding on the service you opted for. Please reach out to us directly with any concerns, we would be happy to clear things up for you. Thank you for the feedback!

Petersburg, Virginia
Reviewed November 15, 2016 via mobile

I just stayed at this hotel for 5 days for a conference. To save a little money and eat a little healthy, I brought down food to have for some of my meals. Most of this needed to be refrigerated. So, my only complaint about this hotel was the absence of a mini fridge and microwave. I feel like most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerryp84
SheratonNorfolk, General Manager at Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our staff provide personal service to ensure you were taking care of. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed without a mini-refrigerator in your room. For any future stay, please let our staff know, they would be happy provide one for you. Thank you for sharing your comments,...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

221 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (211)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
0.1 mi away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
5.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel is near Virginia Symphony, Chrystler Museum, and Nauticus. We have 16 meeting rooms, totaling 35,000 sq ft of event space, some of which have gorgeous harborside views ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel

Address: 777 Waterside Drive, Norfolk, VA 23510
Location: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Price Range: $115 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 468
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Norfolk
Norfolk Sheraton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“corner rooms are best and the rooms facing the harbor”
 of 5 bubbles 213darrylm, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for harbor view”
 of 5 bubbles Wisnia, Nov 26, 2016 | Read review
“Pick someplace else to stay.”
 of 5 bubbles theluchak, Nov 4, 2016 | Read review
“If you are willing to wait, the rooms that face the harbor at least have a view.”
 of 5 bubbles HiDiddleeDee, Nov 3, 2016 | Read review
“Parking is in a garage, so valet is suggested if you do not want to keep walking to get your vehicle.”
 of 5 bubbles 527ieshat, Oct 31, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay