We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Orchid Hotel

Save
Share
Travessa Vista Praia Canico De Baixo, Canico, Madeira 9125-039 Portugal
Update from hotel: This property is temporarily closed until 06/30/2022.
Lowest prices for your stay
eDreams
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
$66
View deal
StayForLong
Agoda.com
Destinia.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (369)
360
Panoramas (16)
Room & Suite (206)

About

#6 of 13 hotels in Canico
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Welcome to Royal Orchid, your Canico “home away from home.” Royal Orchid aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year.

As your “home away from home,” the hotel rooms offer a flat screen TV and a kitchenette, and getting online is easy, with free internet access available.

Guests have access to a 24 hour front desk, room service, and newspaper while staying at Royal Orchid Hotel. In addition, Royal Orchid Hotel offers a pool and an on-site restaurant, which will help make your Canico trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

While visiting Canico, you may want to try some crab at one of the nearby restaurants, such as A Traineira.

Royal Orchid puts the best of Canico at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Diving
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Internet
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Billiards
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Hammam
Massage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Room service
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Portuguese

Location

Full view
58Somewhat walkable
Grade: 58 out of 100
19Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
2Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
459Reviews40Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 122
  • 216
  • 78
  • 30
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
CAROL T wrote a review Mar 2020
Somerset, United Kingdom43 contributions56 helpful votes
My husband and I looked forward to our holiday in the island we love. We chose Royal Orchid because it was near to the sea, with wonderful views. We arrived at the Hotel and it was everything we hoped for. Our room with a separate bedroom and bathroom, with a large terrace area excellent. Staff at Royal Orchid could not have been more friendly and helpful,Especially the young lady at reception who help sort out things when are taxi was late. Cleaners so diligent, room was kept spotless every day. BUT Unfortunately we had to take our meals in the sister hotel adjoining our Hotel The Rokamar Hotel. It had the weirdest food ever. My bud and who can eat anything Was a bit taken a back. I lived on cheese and biscuits . Would not recommend unless you like rustic type cuisine. Strangest breakfast I have ever seen. Thank goodness for bread rolls and toast. We booked the Royal Orchid Hotel , moor expensive than the Rokamar Hotel, where the dinning room we had to use. Would recommend you check before you book..
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Dina Pinto, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Orchid Hotel
Responded Mar 4, 2020
Dear Mrs. Carol T, Thank you for your comments, and for choosing Hotel Royal Orchid for your recent stay. We are very sorry to hear that our food offer did not match your expectations. Concerning the price difference between Hotel Royal Orchid and Hotel Rocamar is due to the room typology, in Royal Orchid they are studios with kitchenette and in Rocamar they are double rooms. Our main restaurant is located in Hotel Rocamar for all our guests. However, we hope that you will allow us to regain your confidence on your next stay with the Rocamar Lido Resort Hotels , when we shall be entirely at your disposal! Warm Regards, Yours Rocamar Lido Resort Team
Read more
Lolita G wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions6 helpful votes
Me and my husband didn't like this hotel. It is very old, old fashioned hotel and not a place for young couple (we are 29). Food wasn't good at all...very few options.ll foods taste the same. Everyday I strugled to find something to eat. So if you are picky with the food and looking for modern place with young people - Don't go there. Staff was kind and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from operations404, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Orchid Hotel
Responded Jan 14, 2020
Dear 997lolitag, First of all, thank you for your comments. Your opinion is very important to us. We shall carefully analyse the less positive points you mentioned regarding you stay. We would be very glad to see you again at our Hotel in order to meet your expectations. Kindest regards Rocamar Lido Resort Team
Read more
natalia50 wrote a review Dec 2019
Harleston, Norfolk37 contributions57 helpful votes
We are just back from our 3 weeks stay in Royal Orchid.The hotel is very nice: lovely location, very friendly and welcoming staff, very clean. the Jacuzzi , sauna and swimming pool are nice.The junior suite we stayed in was nice, everything was there for a comfortable stay.The shuttle bus to Funchal was very much appreciated. it was well organised with booking in advance. One thing that was a little bit disappointing was food. We were on Half board, it was ok, but we wouldn't call it excellent. We still enjoyed staying in Royal Orchid and would stay there again when we come to visit Madeira. Thanks to all the staff of the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from operations404, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Orchid Hotel
Responded Dec 19, 2019
Dear Natalia50, Thank you very much for your preference and most appreciated feedback. Your opinion is very important to us. We shall carefully analyse the less positive points you mentioned regarding you stay. We look forward to welcome you back at our Resort. With our best sunny regards from Madeira, Yours sincerely Rocamar Lido Resort Team
Read more
Jessieorr wrote a review Nov 2019
Linlithgow, United Kingdom23 contributions28 helpful votes
Just back from a 7 day holiday ,at the Royal Orchid in Caniço .Bed room furniture was very tiered ,bed was clean ,hotel was clean .Food was awful ,managed a bit toast in the morning ,boiled eggs and fresh tomato was only on every other day .Went to the steakhouse for a decent meal .smell from the drains in toilet was disgusting .Trying to get a drink from the bar took for ever if there was a few in .we meet a lovely couple who we made friends with .But defo will not go back .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: 304 has a beautiful view from balcony.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from operations404, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Orchid Hotel
Responded Nov 13, 2019
Dear Mrs Jessie Orr, Thank you very much for your preference and most appreciated feedback. I deeply regret to know that our food and beverage service were not entirely up to your needs and expectations, you can be sure that we listen to all our valued guests comments, suggestions , remarks and improve in every way that we can. Although our food offer for breakfast has a wide variety of offerings, which includes, Variety of Breads, Toast, Butter, Honey, Jam, Cheese, Ham, Salami, Eggs, Bacon, Sausages, Beans, Stew, Mushrooms, Fresh Vegetables, Fresh Fruit, Croquettes, Couscous, Muffins, Pancakes, Cereals and Fruits. Coffee, Cappuccino, Tees, Milk, Chocolate and assorted Juices, we understand that each person has their own taste and preferences. We are very sorry for the inconvenience, and we hope you will be giving us another chance and returning to our Hotel in the future, in order to allow us to regain their confidence on their next stay with the Madeira Rocamar Lido Resorts, when we shall be entirely at your disposal. With our best regards, Rocamar Lido Resort Team
Read more
ewacze wrote a review Oct 2019
Warsaw, Poland2 contributions2 helpful votes
Nice hotel beautifully situated on a cliff, clean, with a great ocean view from the room and balcony. Tasty and varied food, delicious fruits. Free sunbeds and umbrellas on the cliff and by the pool in sufficient numbers. Jacuzzi and gym. Late check out (extra charge) possible. Great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The corner studio with kichenette (ocean view) has the largest area and is quiet.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from operations404, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Orchid Hotel
Responded Oct 21, 2019
Dear Ewacze, Thank you very much for your comments. Nothing makes us happier than meeting the expectations of our guests. We look forward to see you again. With our best regards, Yours sincerely Madeira Rocamar Lido Resort Hotels
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$58 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
royal orchid canico, royal orchid hotel canico
LOCATION
PortugalMadeira IslandsMadeiraCanico
NUMBER OF ROOMS
98
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Orchid Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Royal Orchid Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Garajau Partial Nature Reserve (0.04 miles) and Forte Dos Reis Magos (0.05 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Royal Orchid Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Royal Orchid Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Royal Orchid Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royal Orchid Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Snack bar Mare, Laranjinha Bistro & Grill, and A Traineira.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Royal Orchid Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Royal Orchid Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Royal Orchid Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Royal Orchid Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Royal Orchid Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Colégio dos Jesuítas do Funchal (4.7 miles), Santa Clara Convent (4.9 miles), and Blandy's Wine Lodge (4.7 miles).
Does Royal Orchid Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.