We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Orchid Hotel

Travessa Vista Praia Canico De Baixo, Canico, Madeira 9125-039 Portugal
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (407)
360
Panoramas (16)
Room & Suite (216)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#5 of 13 hotels in Canico
Location
4.2
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.1
Value
3.9
On the south coast of Madeira in the fascinating holiday paradise of Caniço de Baixo, the 4-star Hotel Royal Orchid together with the Hotel Rocamar and the Hotel Cais da Oliveira form the Rocamar Lido Resort. The resort is located directly on the sea and offers a relaxing and breathtaking view over the Atlantic Ocean. The Royal Orchid Hotel was fully renovated and reopened with a new image in Summer 2022. The Royal Orchid Hotel has a total of 104 rooms: studios with sea view, studios without sea view (without balcony), junior suites and senior suites (with a separate bedroom). All rooms are equipped with: - Private balcony or terrace (except for studios without sea view). - Equipped kitchenette - Bathroom with walk-in shower and hairdryer - Telephone - 43'' satellite TV - Safety deposit box (rented) - Free Wi-Fi - Air conditioning - Tea and coffee making facilities. Hotel Royal Orchid offers: - Free Wi-Fi - Reception - Lobby bar - 1 heated indoor freshwater pool - 1 non-heated freshwater outdoor pool - Health club with sauna, jacuzzi and Turkish bath - Massage (extra charge) - Private and direct access to the sea - Fitness centre (until 18h00) -Private shuttle bus to/from Funchal (extra charge and except Saturdays, Sundays and public holidays) All meals are served buffet style in the Hotel Rocamar restaurant. The facilities of the Rocamar and Cais da Oliveira hotels are also available to guests of the Royal Orchid Hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Diving
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Internet
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Billiards
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Hammam
Massage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Portuguese

Location

Travessa Vista Praia Canico De Baixo, Canico, Madeira 9125-039 Portugal
Name/address in local language
Royal Orchid Hotel
475Reviews41Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 133
  • 220
  • 79
  • 30
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
IC W wrote a review Feb 2024
4 contributions
+Breakfast were basic, but totally okay +Quiet neighbourhood +Nice staff +Rooms, view on ocean is great +Induction with 4 burners +Direct access to the ocean -Cleaning could be better, we had dirty sheets and towels were not changed -Bed and pillows were not comfortable at all (at least for me, I like very soft cloudy like mattress)
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rocamar Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Orchid Hotel
Responded Feb 6, 2024
Dear icw2023, Thank you for taking time to review our Hotel on Tripadvisor. We would also like to thank you for your comments, as they are extremely important for all our team. Concerning to the fact that the towels have not been changed during your stay, and that you had dirty sheets, we would like to inform you, that we have implemented environmental policy, as we are committed to preserve natural resources, therefore when the towels needed to be change: ”By leaving your towels on the floor, you will be given a new set of towels.” “By placing this card on your bed, your sheets will be changed.” We really regret that you did not ask us, neither informed about the discomfort of the bed mattress and pillows, during your period of stay. We are at your disposal for any eventuality, and we hope to count on your visit again soon. With our best regards, Rocamar Lido Resort Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Emma P wrote a review Jan 2024
Brighouse, United Kingdom29 contributions11 helpful votes
We stayed over Christmas and new year and really enjoyed the celebrations the hotel put on. The trip to see the fireworks was magical and they thought of everything! All the staff are polite and helpful. The view from our room and across the hotel was perfect. Sea view after sea view! The rooms were spotless and spacious. The food was good quality but perhaps not the best variety for children, but then, I don’t think the hotel is particularly aimed at small children anyway. My only real disappointment, and it really was a disappointment, was the rule that you couldn’t enjoy a game whilst having a drink in the bar. We were having a couple of early evening drinks and playing a small game with our children (8&9 years old)when we were told no games at the bar, there is space in reception for that. Of which there are no drinks facilities. I asked if we could play a card game and was told no. I mean, imagine paying over £3,500 for a week holiday with my family and we were not allowed to play dobble and have a drink at the same time! Absolutely ridiculous. I would recommend to couples or families with teen children more than a family like ours.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rocamar Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Orchid Hotel
Responded Jan 5, 2024
Dear emmap396, We appreciate your comments and appreciation of our services. The main goal of our entire team is to provide a wonderful experience to all who visit us, so your comments are very important to us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon. With our best wishes, Rocamar Lido Resort Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
PeripateticPoleaxe wrote a review Dec 2023
UK153 contributions104 helpful votes
There are some eccentricities which grate a little here, like trying to place festival-style wristbands upon guests, charging for car parking, and the incredibly load gym disco for a deafening hour every evening. But there are plenty of compensations, especially the sea pool and the now quite adequate kitchens that mean eating in is an enjoyable option. The car hire firm just over the road (Insularcar) is very good, and it's possible to book in advance and just have a set of wheels for a few days - a great way to see more of the island and be free from the tyranny of coach tours. Peter's Bar and Habeas Coppus are just up the road for alternative evening refreshments, too.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: It's worth paying a little extra for a sea view if you need to.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rocamar Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Orchid Hotel
Responded Jan 5, 2024
Dear PeripateticPoleaxe, First, thank you for choosing Hotel Royal Orchid for your recent stay in Madeira. Your opinion is very important to us. We shall carefully analyse the less positive points you mentioned regarding you stay. We would be very glad to see you again at our hotel in order to meet your expectations. Kindest regards, Rocamar Lido Resort Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
cheriebarron285 wrote a review Oct 2023
Thatcham, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
Just returned from a wonderful week in a studio apartment. Was anxious at first as thought it may be too small but were blown away a soon as we walked through the door. Recently refurbished apartment was absolutely amazing, beautifully refitted having thought of everything. The view was beautiful straight over the sea. Wasn't sure if there were enough restaurants initially but turned out there were plenty and every meal with had was lovely.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rocamar Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Orchid Hotel
Responded Oct 18, 2023
Dear cheriebarron285,, Thank you ever so much for taking time to review Hotel Royal Orchid on Tripadvisor. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and that you appreciated the room we accommodated you in and that you found it to be comfortable. We hope to welcome you back in the future. With our Best wishes, Rocamar Lido Resort Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Denisa G wrote a review Aug 2023
Luhacovice, Czech Republic21 contributions2 helpful votes
Perfect hotel in marvellous island. Comfortable and clean rooms, great meal, kind staff, swimming pools out on terrace and also in. You can go swimming to the ocean by the ladder or you can go to beach not far from hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rocamar Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Orchid Hotel
Responded Aug 29, 2023
Dear 219denisag, We thank you for your preference during your visit to Madeira. We would also like to thank you for your comments, as they are extremely important for all our team. We are at your disposal for any eventuality, and we hope to count on your visit again soon. Best regards, Rocamar Lido Resort Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Happiness08388434906 wrote a review Aug 2023
Millport, United Kingdom2 contributions
We really enjoyed our week at Royal Orchid. We had a self catering studio with spectacular sea views. It was immaculately presented, and the daily maid service ensured it remained clean and tidy. Staff were very helpful to arrange tours, taxis and guidance about the public transport into Funchal. We enjoyed the on resort "steak house" restaurant, as well as have good local mini markets for provisions within a few minutes walk. The pools were lovely.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rocamar Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Orchid Hotel
Responded Aug 29, 2023
Dear Happiness08388434906, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your testimonial and detailed comments. We were very happy to welcome you at the Royal Orchid Hotel and appreciate you sharing your impressions with us. We hope to welcome you again in one of the hotels of Rocamar Lido Resort. With best regards from Madeira, Rocamar Lido Resort Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lucia C wrote a review Aug 2023
5 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
l booked simple mountain view room in Roca Mar hotel but upon arrival l was told we were upgraded to Royal Orchid. Room was partially with ocean view, we just had to look through glass corridor:). Room was very big, sort of apartment style with kitchenette and 2 televisions, very clean, looked like newly refurbished, not a single smudge on the wall. Bed was super comfortable. Hotel is simple but has everything, few small pools, sauna and steam room, gym and even diving center. What is exceptional are stunning views. Absolutely breathtaking. People are super friendly, closing times extended if place was busy. No one sent us out of the pool after official closing time. Kids were allowed to dive a bit and run around without someone constantly telling them to stop :). Diving center staff exceptional, very patient and warm, gave utmost attention to my 10 year old son to make his first scuba diving experience very special, memorable and safe. BIG thanks to everyone. Location is great but note this is quiet place away from any busy center. If you are looking for buzz then book place rather in Funchal center. lf you like hiking, mountain biking or diving this island is amazing.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rocamar Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Orchid Hotel
Responded Aug 4, 2023
Dear K9627UYluciac, On behalf of our entire team of the Rocamar Lido Resort we thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your comments. We are very happy to know that you appreciated the room we accommodated you in and that you found it to be comfortable and equipped with all the amenities you needed. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the service you received from our team members, we will be sharing your kind words with them as we know it will mean a great deal. We hope to welcome you back in the future. With our best regards from Madeira, Rocamar Lido Resort Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
WightLund wrote a review May 2023
Rhyl, United Kingdom13 contributions21 helpful votes
Amazing location with quality massive rooms and great facilities Huge choice of food and friendly staff . Close to bus route and local shops bars and restaurants We would definitely stay here again. Room 104 is fantastic right on the waters edge
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Rocamar Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Orchid Hotel
Responded Jul 3, 2023
Dear WightLund, We appreciate your comments and appreciation of our services. The mail goal of our entire team is to provide a wonderful experience to all who visit us, so your comments are very important to us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon. With our best wishes, Rocamar Lido Resort Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lloyd Simmonds wrote a review Mar 2023
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom112 contributions31 helpful votes
This was our first time in Madiera, and we went there to celebrate our 10th Anniversary. The Royal Orchid is an excellent hotel, with their staff very helpful, and attentive. Our room was very large, it had a sea view. Free internet, large tv, fridge, microwave and lots of kitchen utensils. Breakfast was included, and there was excellent variety available. Ensure you enjoy cocktails overlooking a beautiful sea view. The hotel treated us to a bottle of cava in an ice bucket on the day of our anniversary. Thoroughly recommend this awesome hotel. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Dina Pinto, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Orchid Hotel
Responded Apr 8, 2023
Dear Mr. Lloydsimmonds, On behalf of our entire team of the hotel Royal Orchid we thank you ever so much for taking the time to express your gratitude to us, it really meant a lot. Thank you for sharing your honest feedback at our service. It was an honour to have you as our hotel guests and we sincerely hope to have the privilege of receiving you again soon. With our best regards from Madeira, Rocamar Lido Resort Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
K Young wrote a review Nov 2022
12 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
The hotel RocaMar is a sister of hotels on the same waterfront. This hotel is still being renovated but at very high specs! They will surely be a four to five star upon completion! The breakfast was awesome and they use high quality food. Also visit the omelet station as the lady is lovely! My room was very new. It still had dust along the floor boards and windows that need attention. The beds are ok, but the pillows are very soft. The kitchen had everything you would need to prepare a meal. The ac wasn't working most nights, but I did alert the manager. This is a lovely property and I will definitely return! Love it!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Dina Pinto, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Orchid Hotel
Responded Dec 7, 2022
Dear Kennkie411, Thank you very much for your review and the recommendation of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We shall carefully analyse the less positive points you mentioned regarding you stay. We would be very happy to welcome you again as our guest any time soon. With best regards, Rocamar Lido Resort Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Canico area.
PRICE RANGE
$100 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
royal orchid canico, royal orchid hotel canico
LOCATION
PortugalMadeira IslandsMadeiraCanico
NUMBER OF ROOMS
98
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ROYAL ORCHID HOTEL - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews (Canico, Portugal)

Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Orchid Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Royal Orchid Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Lounge Bar (0.3 miles), Saudade (Pool Bar) (0.3 miles), and Garajau Partial Nature Reserve (0.03 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Royal Orchid Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Royal Orchid Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Royal Orchid Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Royal Orchid Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royal Orchid Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Laranjinha Bistro & Grill, Snack bar Mare, and A Traineira.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Royal Orchid Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Royal Orchid Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Royal Orchid Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Royal Orchid Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Royal Orchid Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Colégio dos Jesuítas do Funchal (4.7 miles), Santa Clara Convent (4.9 miles), and Sao Tiago Fort (4.1 miles).
<