We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rocamar Hotel

Caminho Cais da Oliveira Canico de Baixo, Canico, Madeira 9125-028 Portugal
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (466)
360
Panoramas (11)
Room & Suite (149)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#6 of 13 hotels in Canico
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.2
Value
4.0

Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travelers visiting Canico, Roca Mar is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its family-friendly environment and proximity to great restaurants, Roca Mar makes it easy to enjoy the best of Canico.

As your “home away from home,” the hotel rooms offer air conditioning, and getting online is easy, with free internet access available.

Guests have access to room service while staying at Roca Mar Hotel. In addition, Roca Mar Hotel offers a pool and free breakfast, which will help make your Canico trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

While visiting Canico, you may want to try some hotpot at one of the nearby restaurants, such as Restaurante Atlantis.

Whether you’re traveling for business, pleasure or both, Roca Mar is sure to make your visit to Canico one worth remembering.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Diving
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Internet
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more

Location

Caminho Cais da Oliveira Canico de Baixo, Canico, Madeira 9125-028 Portugal
Name/address in local language
Rocamar Hotel
370Reviews31Q+A58Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 119
  • 143
  • 70
  • 22
  • 16
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Alex wrote a review Feb 2024
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Rooms very old. For sure there is need to reconstruct Rocamar part. Ants in the room. Very nice view for the ocean, if you will choose room with the room. Saunas and swimming pool nice one. Breakfast is pretty good. Cleaning was done every day.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rocamar Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Rocamar Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Compass65177188959,, Thank you very much for your preference and most appreciated feedback. We are very sorry to hear that our hotel did not meet your expectations. However, your opinion is very important to us, and We shall carefully analyse the less positive aspects you mentioned regarding your stay. Our main goal is our customers satisfaction, providing you/them a friendly, courteous, and helpful manner, and to please our guests, in any possible way. I hope you give us the chance to welcome you back again soon, where we shall entirely be at your disposal. With Warm Regards from Madeira, Rocamar Lido Resort Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
paul d wrote a review Feb 2024
Munslow, United Kingdom13 contributions5 helpful votes
Room was spotless, and bathroom was soooo clean. Big walk in shower Maid service very good Staff all very helpful and happy Only did bed n breakfast which was very good plenty of choice. Live entertainment at night was very good. All hotel and outside areas clean Parking in street if you have hire car is nightmare so used hotel car park.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Many steps in hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rocamar Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Rocamar Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear pauldV9276MA, Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments about our team; we strive to provide our guests with caring and personalized service and place great value on our personnel being guest-orientated and welcoming at all times. We are delighted that you appreciated the efforts of our chefs as we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests by offering tasty international and local dishes. We are very pleased to know that you appreciated the room we accommodated you in and that you found it to be clean and comfortable. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Best wishes, Rocamar Lido Resort Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Toni wrote a review Jan 2024
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom10 contributions
Having stayed at the Rocamar in Canico de Baxio in August 2023 we fell in love with the island and local area in which we stayed so decided to return to the island again in January 2024. The hotel provided us with unforgettable views and welcomed us back with a bottle of wine and traditional madeira cake in our room on arrival. As for entertainment provided at the hotel, Alexandra Barbosa (singer/songwriter) was absolutely fantastic, we were able to see her perform twice during our trip and enjoyed her performances so much so that we travelled over to a different location on the island to see her perform again! Such a great asset to the hotels entertainment. As for the swimming pools, we accessed the indoor pools and spa during our stay as direct access to the sea was taken away during our stay due to previous bad storms when we first arrived on the island. As the ladders were removed (the safest way to enter the sea) the only access to the sea was via the steps at the end on the pool however these were unsafe due to being very slippy with sea moss covering them, I would suggest these are looked at to reduce the risk of accidents in the future, the steps were then blocked off a week into the trip meaning no access to the sea at all even on calm days. We would book again with the Rocamar as the locality surrounding it provides a very local feel with lots of local supermarkets, bus stops. Restaurants and outstanding views.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rocamar Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Rocamar Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear TonigB9754WZ,, Thank you for choosing Hotel Rocamar for your recent stay in Madeira and appreciate your valued comments, remarks, and feedback. We are very pleased to know that the rooms, the location of the hotel and the view met your expectations. You can be assured that we will analyse in detail some of the points mentioned, only in this way, we can improve every day to make the stay of our guests even more pleasant and unforgettable. We hope that you will give us the chance to welcome you again in the future when we shall be at your disposal. With our best regards, Rocamar Lido Resort Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paul wrote a review Jan 2024
Lancashire, United Kingdom45 contributions56 helpful votes
The Rocamar is part of attached hotels, the reception is in the Royal Orchid. My bedroom and bathroom were desperately needing modernising. The room was kept spotlessly clean. The public areas are clean and well appointed. The grounds are impeccable clean and tidy. The pools indoor and outdoor are fantastic, plenty of sunloungers on many different levels. The food is a huge problem. I only ate three evenings at the hotel, the food quality is really not acceptable if a 4* hotel .. Thank goodness there are many restaurants and cafe in the surrounding area. Do good expecting quality food
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rocamar Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Rocamar Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Old_glory10, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your testimonial and detailed comments. We were very happy to welcome you at the Rocamar Hotel and appreciate you sharing your impressions with us. We are having some of the points mentioned analysed in detail, this is the only way we have the chance to improve every day to make our guests' stay even more pleasant and memorable. Nevertheless, we hope to welcome you again in one of the hotels of Rocamar Lido Resort. With best regards from Madeira, Rocamar Lido Resort Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Niamh N wrote a review Nov 2023
Kildare, Ireland24 contributions28 helpful votes
Thoroughly enjoyed a recent stay in Rocomar. Hotel staff are extremely polite, friendly and helpful. We stayed in a studio suite, the room was very spacious - separate sitting ròom and galley kitchen, great bathroom with a powerful shower, lovely fluffy towels. We had a spacious balcony, the view is obscured with a firewall but that cannot be helped. Really comfortable bed. The hotel have great and plentiful sunbathing and lounge areas with the most amazing views. The pools are great - I particularly loved the sea pool. Breakfast in the hotel is lovely, particularly the continental breakfast. They have a gorgeous outdoor dining area overlooking the sea. We had dinner in the hotel one night - we didn't particularly enjoy the food and it was extremely expensive as we were b&b only. The food is buffet style and we didn't think there was a varied menu, disappointed that there was no fish dish. The hotel spa is very expensive and doesn't use products of a recognised brand. I would 100% recommend this hotel. It is clean and comfortable, great facilities and a spectacular setting. The staff are wonderful. I would recommend people travel to Funchin and sample some of the wonderful restaurants and hospitality..
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Check out the sea pool
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rocamar Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Rocamar Hotel
Responded Dec 5, 2023
Dear Travellust82, We appreciate your comments and recognition on our services. The aim of our entire team is to provide a wonderful experience to all those who visit us; therefore, your feedback is very important to us. We are very pleased to know that the rooms, the location of the hotel and the view met your expectations. We are very sorry that our food offer did not quite meet your needs and expectations. You can be assured that we listen to all comments, suggestions and remarks from our valued guests and improve in every way. We promise to continue to motivate our team to meet your expectations. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again soon. With our best regards, Rocamar Lido Resort Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
TConnell1965 wrote a review Nov 2023
Dublin, Ireland15 contributions6 helpful votes
We have had a fantastic 10 day break in the Rocamar. Our extremely clean room had an excellent balcony and sea view. The staff, especially the two Carinas in the bar made us feel very very welcome. The food for breakfast was of high standard and plentiful. The glass of champagne was especially welcome. There are very good restaurants nearby if needed and the Lee Hamilton which is attached to the hotel received 2 visits from us and was excellent. Bathroom immaculate and shower 1st class. We will.be back.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rocamar Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Rocamar Hotel
Responded Dec 5, 2023
Dear TConnell1965, We appreciate your comments and the appreciation of our services. The goal of our entire team is to provide a wonderful experience to all who visit us, so your comments are very important to us. We pledge to continue to motivate our team to meet your expectations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. With our best wishes, Rocamar Lido Resort Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Linda D wrote a review Oct 2023
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom172 contributions86 helpful votes
 There are 3 hotels in complex Royal orchid ,newer ,with lovely views from balconies Roca mar and other hotel older, again good views but you have to stand up and balcony front is a solid wall. Our room was in Roca mar it was large with a large bathroom and kitchenette with everything we needed . The guests were mainly german and eastern european , not many english. The beds were Comfy but the pillows were really lumpy ,housekeeping was excellent room was very clean. Good aircon kept us cool as the temperatures hit 32 ° We booked half board . The food was dissapointing , the cold food and fresh bread were ok but the hot food was often cold , trays with about 30 rubbery fried eggs , bacon was very strange , mushrooms very salty . Omelettes were a good choice as they were cooked on request. Dinner was also not the best , salads were OK but again hot food was dried up and often not hot never saw anyone checking temperature of the food. Beef and other meats were very tough could not cut with the knives Mackerel dry and did not taste fresh . Bread rolls were fresh Staff clearing tables and in bar very efficient and smiley Lots of sunbeds round pool and on the terraces Did see a few people putting towels out and not turning up until 4 pm, they were not english Not a good choice for anyone with mobility problems , lots of steps and steep slopes to get to bus stop.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask for a sea view in Royal orchid
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rocamar Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Rocamar Hotel
Responded Oct 30, 2023
Dear lindypopsUk, Thank you for taking time to review our Hotel on Tripadvisor We deeply regret to hear that the food offer was not entirely up to your needs and expectations, you can be sure that we listen to all feedback from our valued guests. We have some of the points mentioned analyzed in detail so that we have the chance to improve on a daily basis in order to make our guests' stay even more pleasant and unforgettable. We hope to welcome you back to our resort soon. With our best regards from Madeira, Rocamar Lido Resort Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Teresa wrote a review Oct 2023
2 contributions
Fantastic sea views. Direct access to the sea, albeit via a labyrinth of steps and terraces. Everywhere kept very clean. Went with family, three couples in all and as we each had a room in each of the hotel’s three sections it was interesting to compare the different rooms. Some had a small kitchenette, balcony and living spaces were different, but all clean and comfortable. Staff were all lovely. Our holiday took in my husband’s birthday and we were very touched on returning to our room that evening to find a bottle of bubbly on ice and a personal card from the management. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rocamar Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Rocamar Hotel
Responded Oct 18, 2023
Dear 21hens, We appreciate your comments and recognition on our services. The aim of our entire team is to provide a wonderful experience to all those who visit us; therefore, your feedback is very important to us. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again soon. With our best regards, Rocamar Lido Resort Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Asta L wrote a review Sep 2023
1 contribution
+ Good location, pleasant staff, neat rooms, comfortable beds, amazing view of the ocean. -The restaurant has a small selection of food, the taste of the food is the same, there is no variety during the week, the dessert table is poor, especially at breakfast
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: + Good location, pleasant staff, neat rooms, comfortable beds, amazing view of the ocean. -The...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rocamar Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Rocamar Hotel
Responded Oct 18, 2023
Dear 765astal, Thank you very much for visiting the Hotel Rocamar and for taking the time to write your review. It is with great regret that we read that we were not able to satisfy you during your visit this time and are saddened to learn that you have the impression that we have fallen short in several areas. We thank you for your honest review and at the same time apologize for the inconvenience. You gave us the opportunity to check current processes and improve them for the future. The responsible department heads were informed immediately. Hoping that you will give us a chance to do better, we remain with kind regards from Madeira, Rocamar Lido Resort Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Toni wrote a review Aug 2023
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom10 contributions
+1
Fantastic hotel and amazing location, staff were very helpful and easy to speak with, the downside to the hotel is not being able to pay with cash at the bar or restaurants within the hotels. Sea pool is emptied and refilled ensuring its clean for the guests. We had a free room upgrade prior to arrival which was a pleasant surprise and very much appreciated. Facilities at the hotel such as pools and indoor spa areas exceeded expectation and would very much book again in the future. Entertainment was great with a different style every evening.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: No need to get up early for sun loungers, there's plenty available daily and all day.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rocamar Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Rocamar Hotel
Responded Sep 1, 2023
Dear tonigB9754WZ, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our Hotel. A happy message from a recent guest is always a reward and an encouragement for our team members to continue their efforts to maintain our high standards. The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you again on a future visit. With our best regards from Madeira, Rocamar Lido Resort Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Canico area.
PRICE RANGE
$74 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
roca mar canico, roca mar hotel canico
LOCATION
PortugalMadeira IslandsMadeiraCanico
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ROCAMAR HOTEL $94 ($̶1̶1̶2̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews - Canico, Portugal

Frequently Asked Questions about Rocamar Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Rocamar Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Garajau Partial Nature Reserve (0.1 miles) and Forte Dos Reis Magos (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Rocamar Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Rocamar Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Rocamar Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Rocamar Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rocamar Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Snack bar Mare, A Traineira, and Residencial Restaurante Klenks Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Rocamar Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Rocamar Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Rocamar Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Rocamar Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Rocamar Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Rocamar Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Portuguese.