We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dom Pedro Garajau

Traveler (345)
Room & Suite (158)
Pool & Beach (110)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Dom Pedro Garajau is a 3-star hotel-apartment with 272 rooms and Suites set on the south coast of Madeira Island. Garajau is famous its Natural Reserve made to protect a very privileged area of Madeira's coast, in an effort to make it work as an ecological nursery. This is the only exclusive marine reserve in the entire Portugal and It is a location for snorkeling and scuba-diving.Facilities are included such as an Indoor heated pool with sliding roof, apart from two outdoor pools and Children's Pool and also a sports court. Dom Pedro Garajau is setting half way between Funchal and Canico ideal to visit the island. All of this makes it the perfect base for exploring the island or enjoying an action-packed holiday. Dine Around and stay at Dom Pedro Garajau. The "Dine Around" system is a different option that allows food lovers to pick restaurants outside the hotel. Through a voucher system, half-board guests staying at the Dom Pedro Garajau can now choose from a variety of restaurants near the hotel. Without doubt, this factor will set us apart from the traditional Half-board system, allowing our clients to change restaurants daily and experience different types of cuisine. Madeira International Airport is only 11km (6.8 miles) from the hotel (10 minutes drive), and only 8 km (4.9 miles) from the main city, Funchal.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Bar/Lounge
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Kids pool
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Safe
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
656Reviews
596Photos
23Q+A
49Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 63
  • 245
  • 218
  • 90
  • 40
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Excellent value for money. Rooms were cleaned daily. The whole hotel was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was basic but plenty of it. Special shout out to the reception team, especially Paulina who was very helpful and always greets you with a smile.
Read more
Carla and all Senior Management should be extremely proud of the friendly, diligent, hard working and Professional team @Garajau........ Greeted enthusiastically and warmly by Paulina & Juan upon our arrival, nothing was left to chance as we were made to feel welcomed and
Read more
A beautiful hotel, located in a beautiful place. We had a large renovated room, a balcony with a view of the pool and ocean. The hotel has 3 swimming pools, 2 outside, 1 in the middle. We also have an atmospheric, large restaurants with a terrace and a view of the garden. The
Read more
+2
This hotel need a renovation in my opinion. The beds are really hard and so are the pillows and the first day I found a lizard in our room. No mini bar and the WiFi is not working in the room and tv is from the 1950s, come on you need to update this. The doors and everything
Read more
Response from CarlaSousaDP, General Manager at Dom Pedro Garajau
Responded Oct 8, 2018
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Dom Pedro Garajau during your visit to Madeira, and we sincerely hope you had a wonderful time at our island. Thank you as well for your comments which deserved our best attention and are of most value to our team. Please allow us however to inform you that our hotel has recently gone through some renovation works. The hotel rooms do not have mini bar nor wifi, and that our rooms have flat screen TVs. We invite you to please check our website where you can find all the information concerning our hotel and facilities. Please do not hesitate to contact us could we ever be of any assistance. With kind regards Dom Pedro Team
Read more
Firstly, this was not the location we wanted, but was selected in error, and Love Holidays refused to change the hotel despite it being part of the same Dom Pedro chain. This is not a hotel in the true sense of the word, but a reception area interconnected to several blocks of
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play Areas
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorDom Pedro Garajau
The One Bedroom Apartment at the Dom Pedro Garajau Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorDom Pedro Garajau
The Twin Sea View Room with Kitchenette at the Dom Pedro Garajau Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorDom Pedro Garajau
The One Bedroom Apartment at the Dom Pedro Garajau Hotel
twin beds
Photo provided by managementDom Pedro Garajau
Gardens
PreviousNext
12345632
I've got travel agency transfer, but I am pretty sure that you can get public transport to Funchal and from Funchal there is direct bus to Garajau (ca. 15 min ride). Ask tourist information at the airport.
0 votes
Show all answers
Bath and shower, you have to ask for hair dryer and fans etc, all at extra cost
0 votes
Show all answers
Dear Sir/Madam, Dom Pedro Garajau is located on a main street where you can find restaurants, bars, supermarket, laundry, pharmacy, hairdressers. The center of Caniço is located 3km from the hotel, 5 minutes by car. Kind regards
1 vote
Show all answers
Dear Sir/Madam We are pleased to confirm that you luggage can be stored at the hotel's luggage room at any time of the day With kind regards Carla de Sousa Manager
0 votes
Show all answers
How far is a beach from this hotel?
There is a beach, down a steep hill, you get almost half way down and there is a replica statue of Christ, (like Brazils) with a viewing platform.Then cablecar to beach - no sand.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12345
"Avoid staying close to the reception hall"
"Avoid if you have mobility issues."
"Choose sea view for a good room view OR garden and top floor for a quieter location away from the evening entertainment."
"choose sea view room"
"Ask for one overlooking the rear gardens because some of the ones at the side only have a limited view of the sea."
PreviousNext
12345610
PRICE RANGE
$42 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
dom pedro garajau canicohotel dom pedro garajau madeira
LOCATION
PortugalMadeira IslandsMadeiraCanico
NUMBER OF ROOMS
272
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing