We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dom Jose Beach Hotel

Traveler (1045)
Room & Suite (282)
Pool & Beach (128)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#8 of 48 hotels in Quarteira
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Dom Jose Beach Hotel in Quarteira/Vilamoura totally renewed is one of the most well located in the Algarve, with beachfront location and an absolutely beautiful view over the deep blue Atlantic Ocean. Just 20 minutes from Faro International Airport and 5 minutes from Vilamoura. Enjoy the good local restaurants with typical food of the region. The Hotel offers 154 modern rooms, all with elegant design and modern furniture combined with oak wood flooring, are equipped with air conditioning, TV LCD, WiFi, direct dial telephone, electronic safe, mini bar, tea facilities and private bathroom with amenities and hairdryer. Guests staying at the Dom Jose Beach Hotel can enjoy the following facilities: Restaurant with panoramic deck, Bar, Meeting Rooms, Gym, WiFi in public areas, a panoramic Minigolf (with 9 holes) available on the 4th floor, outside swimming pool with wooden deck and Hotel Beach Area with beds and shades (extra).
Read more
Property amenities
Free Internet
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Airport transportation
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Business

Location

Full view
84Good for walkers
Grade: 84 out of 100
59Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
2Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
2,082Reviews
205Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,054
  • 778
  • 177
  • 43
  • 30
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This was our 5th stay at the Dom Jose Hotel, it's location cannot be beaten, it is right on the sea front across a pedestrian walkway from the beach. The rooms although small have everything you need and are very clean with air conditioning, along with added amenities of a Kettle, Fridge and free in room Safe, we always pay and upgrade to a Sea View Room, it's great to watch the world go by from the balcony. It was my Birthday during our visit this year, I was sent a bottle of Bubbly and a fresh fruit platter, such a nice gesture from Joao Soares, the General Manager. Quarteira and the Dom Jose Hotel are just perfect for a nice relaxed week by the sea, in fact have already booked for next year.
Read more
First impressions when walking to the hotel from the coach was what have we booked as it was quite a built up area and not very nice to look at. The hotel itself however was very nice looking. Very clean and fresh including the rooms. I felt the rooms could've been a bit bigger. We paid for a beach facing room which we definitely got however there wasn't much n room to move around it in. The reception staff I found in general weren't very helpful and rude and the breakfast staff just got on with their job there was no talking to guests. We only used the pool once as it wasn't very kid friendly or big at all I guess that's because it was right on the beach however I do like to use the pool as it transpired we were unable to swim in the sea the last two days due to red algae bloom. This was out first family holiday abroad so we didn't plan to do much which was just as well as the area around us there wasn't much to do at all. So if your looking for a fun filled holiday I wouldn't go to this area.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
Reading the other reviews I thought I was in the wrong hotel.. Booked a “beach view “ room, but more like a small box. The space between beds and wall is less than 2 feet and the bathroom is 4ft2 by 5 1/2 ft. I can touch all walls while standing in the centre! The balcony is 2 1/2 ft by 8ft .. you can just about sit down. Smallest hotel room I’ve ever experienced. You’ve to “rent” the beach towels at €1.50 per day. No reserving sunbeds... NOT enforced. Breakfast.. Poor. No omelettes or fresh cooking. All pre prepared and lukewarm. Dinner.. No fresh cooking here either. Lukewarm and very few choices. The other reviewers seem to think this is ok, but my experience is different, sorry. Drinks are expensive too, no large bottles of water, but 200cl for €2.50. The pool area is quiet, as is the area in general, but graffiti everywhere. I MOST definitely won’t be returning.
Read more
Response from DomJoseBeachHotel, Diretor-Geral at Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Client We regret your dissatisfaction, especially since you feel that the room you are staying in is not big enough for your size, since you can touch all the walls being in the center ... From the other customers we have never had this indication. However, for your knowledge, we inform you that there are rooms of different typologies, it is only to choose the one that best suits your size. Our meals have varied options, with fresh and well cooked products, certainly among so many dishes there would be some that you would like The comments of our customers are proof of our quality and our hospitality, and are the reason for visiting us and back again João Soares- Hotel Manager
Read more
from the moment you walk in this hotel, you feel special. my wife and I have travelled a lot, and stayed at many hotels,but this one beats it all. from the balcony of our room overlooking the sea and promenade, to the high quality food in the restaurant the standards were high .if I had to niggle, I would say that the hotel cannot make a decent cup of coffee. all in all considering what you pay it is very good value for money, and my wife and I will have no problem in booking another holiday at the HOTEL DOM HOSE. thank you for a lovely holiday THANK YOU RICHARD AND JAN COWARD...………………………………………………..
Read more
Response from DomJoseBeachHotel, Diretor-Geral at Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest Thank you for choosing Dom Jose hotel for you holidays. It was our pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Came again soon Joao Soares- Hotel Manager
Read more
I always try to be fair in my reviews, so let me start by saying that Dom Jose is a clean, comfortable hotel that’s situated in an ideal location. That’s the only reason I gave them 2 stars instead of 0. But unfortunately, their attitude towards customers is far from ideal. After going to our room, we discovered that there was a kettle and tea bags, but no coffee. We went to the front desk and told them that we don’t drink tea, and could we please have some coffee instead, since their website says that each room has a tea/coffee maker. The clerk pointed out that the kettle was a coffee maker, but the hotel does not supply coffee, only tea, even if you don’t want tea. What the customer wants didn’t appear to matter at all. So we tried a different approach. Our stay included a free buffet breakfast, so we asked whether we could come down in the morning and get a coffee to bring up to our room, and then come back later for breakfast. We were told that we could only come to the buffet once, and if we took any food out, including just a coffee, we would be charged for an extra breakfast! My wife and I have travelled to 25 countries and stayed in everything from 5 star resorts to hostels, and Dom Jose is the only place that ever refused to provide a free coffee. But in a way, it was actually fortunate, because the coffee at their breakfast buffet was the worst coffee we had ever tasted. There were 3 different coffee machines, and we tried them all, and they were all equally disgusting. I don’t know if they watered down their coffee or reused the grounds several times, but whatever they did was terrible. And the rest of the breakfast wasn’t much better. The scrambled eggs were over cooked, the fried eggs were more like hard boiled eggs, the sausage simply tasted odd, and for bacon, there were 2 choices: burned or raw. Then we decided to spend time at the beach, so we went to the front desk as instructed to get beach towels. First we were asked to leave a 10 euro deposit for each towel, which I’ve never had to do before, but I could live with that. But then they told us we also had to pay 1.5 euros each to use the towels. We tried to point out how ridiculous this was, but they basically said too bad, that’s how we do things. So we said okay and headed to the beach. The instant I placed my towel on one of the lounge chairs, a hotel staffer came running up asking for 12 euros for the use of 2 lounge chairs. I pointed out that we were guests of the hotel, not some strangers trying to use their facilities, but apparently even guests had to pay. After some discussion we finally said okay, and for him to charge it to our room, since we didn’t have enough cash on us after having given the front desk 23 euros for our towels. He said that was not permitted. We would have to back up to our room to get the money. That was the last straw. We left the beach and instead sat by the pool, where miraculously, they allowed us to use the loungers for free. Bottom line, if you like lousy food, having all your wishes ignored, and getting gouged for money at every turn, then this hotel is for you. On the other hand, if you would prefer a hotel that understands the meaning of the word hospitality, then do not even consider staying at the Dom Jose.
Read more
Response from DomJoseBeachHotel, Diretor-Geral at Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Client Thank you for your visit. We are sorry that your stay was not to your liking. However, we would like to clarify some of the points you have mentioned. All the Hotel's service are clearly described and it is also clearly informed that locally some services has an extra cost Our breakfast has lots of variety, lots of choice for all tastes. We regret that we did not enjoy being in the Hotel, but there is certainly no reason to say that we do not know the meaning of hospitality. We know the meaning of hospitalide and welcome all those who visit us Joao Soares- Hotel Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$89 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
dom jose quarteiradom jose hotel
LOCATION
PortugalAlgarveFaro DistrictQuarteira
NUMBER OF ROOMS
154
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing