We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Don Felipe

Traveler (226)
Room & Suite (30)
Pool & Beach (5)
Certificate of Excellence


#36 of 70 hotels in Isola d'Ischia
Certificate of Excellence
0 Fax: 081 992630
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Infinity pool
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Free internet
Public wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Shuttle bus service
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Good to know
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Italian


Full view
81Good for walkers
Grade: 81 out of 100
54Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
18Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
10Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 89
  • 62
  • 29
  • 7
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The setting of this hotel is spectacular. The views from the deluxe (worth paying upgrade) is stunning. Although pool is small it's perfect to cool off in. Walk into town is about 15 -20 minutes but not to difficult, but hilly. Possibly not the best for kids. Staff helpful. Would recommend this great little hotel
Read more
Ferried over to Ischia for a Saturday night stay. Reservations on booking.com for $109 and checked reviews in Trip Advisor which all mentioned views. Trip Advisor lists AC as a feature. Staff showed us our unit which was a one bedroom apartment with a kitchen and living room separate from the bedroom. It was a mix of old furniture and not very appealing. I had booked a room and didn’t choose an apartment. It was a very hot day -90 degree, so I asked where to turn on the AC. I was told no AC and that I didn’t book a room with AC. I said I had seen AC listed. The very nice woman said there were ventilators if we were hot. There were 2 fans, one in each room that were absolutely necessary or we wouldn’t have been able to sleep in that heat and humidity. We decided to make the best of it because we didn’t think we had any other options. I’m guessing if there was a room with AC available, it would have been offered. No other reviews mentioned lack of AC, and the apartment was separate from other rooms. There is a deck with gorgeous view, a small pool and gardens with bright flowers. The view from the patio of the apartment of the castle was perfect. If the unit had AC this would have been a 5 star stay for view, beach club and staff. The staff at desk are helpful and the short walk downstairs to the water was convenient in the heat. Tips: confirm AC room in summer! Skip the apartment if offered, and get any room with AC because hot space is too hot to enjoy the view. If it’s a crowded weekend, go to the beach club early or have the hotel call to check on space. The beach club is called Gardenia Mare with a restaurant the hotel is affiliated with. The hotel called to see if they had space but they didn’t answer so we walked to check for space. Even though it was later on a Saturday afternoon, they did have a few chair and umbrellas available for $16. Families were swimming and enjoying the sea. It was clean and refreshing. Kayaks were available for rent too. The restaurant at the club was closing for sit down but salad and sandwiches were available and yummy. Service was good. Reservations for dinner were available too. Separate review of that gem. If weather is nice the lack of AC might not be an issue. The taxi driver explained that Ischia hotels close after October until April and the rate we paid is considered a normal rate. There are several areas with much more expensive rates. Plan to pay $20 each way from Port if Ischia for taxi during summer rather than waiting for a bus in the heat, it’s worth it.
Read more
Response from Marco S, Direttore at Don Felipe
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear clients, thank you soo much for your review. All rooms in our hotel have AC just the appartments are without AC. The next year even there will be AC. Hope to see you again in our hotel. Best Regards Staff Don Felipe.
Read more
We visited Don Felipe one evening for a Limoncello Spritz. The barman / receptionist had Limoncello and he had soda and Prosecco. We thought, great. Let’s get mixing. Eagerly awaiting the lemony cocktail, the barman explained that mixing the two ingredients was not possible. My girlfriend and I looked at each other in confusion. Maybe something was just lost through translation. We tried again. After a 5 minute conversation, it appeared that mixing the two ingredients was just an impossible feat. We could have each component individually, but not combined. Struggling to contain our laughter / confusion, we swiftly exited, only to have a Limoncello Spritz in the hotel next door. Sort it out Don Felipe 😂
Read more
Response from Marco S, Proprietario at Don Felipe
Responded 4 weeks ago
dear Mr. C, unfortunately the night staff is not used to serving cocktails, and we apologize if they did not understand your requests. We are surprised, on the other hand, that you can judge the entire structure by not even being our guest. our family-run establishment has been working for two generations to guarantee a warm welcome and well-being to its guests and you have not given us this opportunity, since you were staying in another hotel. I hope, however, that Ischia liked it and that she'll be back soon, maybe I'll prepare the next cocktail for me as bartenders and sommeliers.
Read more
WONDERFUL !!!!! A BIG THANKS TO MARCO AND THE STAFF FOR ALL THEIR HELP IN MAKING THIS HOLIDAY ONE TO REMEMBER !!! this was a very special holiday for us it was for my 60th birthday and for our 40 th wedding anniversary and our first time in ishia the don felipe hotel turned out to a great choice for us in the perfect location to explore ishia with views to die for out to capri and ishia ponte we thought it was one of the nicest parts of island with beaches an restaurants close by and 15 mins to ishia ponte the rooms were kept very clean and very comfortable breakfast was fresh with lots of choice for starting the day the pool was awesome so warm with a great view various lovely sun terraces and tables and chairs to sit and take in the view also affordable bar a great mix of age groups on location it was for us the perfect compromise just being out of town we would not hesitate on recommending this hotel to anyone wanting to vist ishia for the first time book this hotel you will not be disappointed !!!!!!! we cannot wait to go back chris and debbie northampton
Read more
Response from Marco S, Direttore generale at Don Felipe
Responded Aug 23, 2018
Thank you so much for your review. Hope to see you again in our hotel.
Read more
Honestly, the best hotel I have ever stayed in. The island of Ischia itself is gorgeous, nature, flowers, sea and hills everywhere. Even before we arrived, the staff was very flexible with our check in, as we could only arrive at around 10 PM, and it was no problem for them. The location is perfect: very calm, silent neighbourhood but you can easily reach the port and the city, the bus stops right in front of the hotel and the taxi is also quite affordable. There are plenty of beaches within 3 minutes of walking distance, and the staff is very helpful with choosing and reserving a beach. The room was very spacious and clean, we had one with the view on the sea and it was unbelievably gorgeous. The Castello Aragonese can be seen perfectly and it provided a gorgous view from our huge balcony. The breakfast is also very good, plenty of options to choose from. There are also many places to relax and sunbathe, the pool is the highlight of the hotel with the amazing view. All in all, we fell in love with the island and with the hotel as well, I can’t wait to be back one day!
Read more
$59 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ItalyCampaniaProvince of NaplesIsola d'IschiaIschia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing