We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

315 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 314: English reviews
Falls Church, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff is awful. They did nothing to help. We had to ask for towels both days. And they were grudging given to us. The room smelled so bad we had to buy an air freshener. The room was in disarray. The phone and alarm clock did not work. I went down to complain and the desk clerk was more... More 

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth C
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, responded to this review

Kenneth, I am very sorry about the issues you experienced during your visit with us. I will work with all the staff to ensure this never happens again. I will be reviewing our policies with the staff and working on retraining them all. Sincerely, Stephen Barger General Manager More 

Fruitland, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Let me start off by saying wshoule have used this hotel several times over the past 6 years and can say it is heading in the wrong direction. Rooms smelled of smoke despite being non smoking hotel. Desk clerk just shrugged his shoulders and said hotel was sold out. Parents stayed in room across from us and had no towels... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bob N
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, responded to this review

Bob, I am very sorry about the issues you experienced during your visit. We are working hard to correct our issues, and are also planning major renovations this fall that will include new comforters, new mattresses, new carpets, furniture and much more. We are ordering more linens this week. Thank you for your review, I assure you that we are... More 

Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I travel a lot in summer and we always try to stay at Country Inns and Suites, however this one was such a let down!!! The room was not clean, I wiped cobwebs from the walls, there were not any tissues in the room, we stayed for three nights asked for replacement, the excuse was the "truck... More 

Helpful?
Thank A8863KIpatrickt
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am very sorry about the issues that you had during your visit. I will work with the necessary departments to ensure we correct these issues immediately. Sincerely, Stephen Barger General Manager More 

Upper Marlboro, Maryland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family checked into this hotel on Friday evening July 29th for a two night stay. There were 4 towels and 2 wash cloths in the room for a family of 4. We requested additional towels and wash cloths for our stay and received them. Unfortunately while we were out at the beach for the day on Saturday, our towels... More 

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank glr291
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am very sorry about the issues you experienced while staying with us. I will work with the housekeeping department to ensure we are fully stocked on linens in the future. Again, my apologies for the inconveniences you experienced, and I hope that you decide to give us another chance in the future! Stephen Barger General Manager More 

Lawrenceville, Georgia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016

I have stayed at MANY Country Inn this was by far the WORST: This was a 4th of July vacation for me and my family. Turn out to be VERY frustrating. Check in the room the smell was horrible, the lock broke on the door; then the worst part the toilet over flowed water everywhere (this all happen within 30mins).... More 

Helpful?
Thank cswarptue
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of our entire staff and management team, I apologize for the issues you experienced during your visit. We are working dillegently to prevent these types of issues from happening again in the future, and we are planning major renovations for the fall. I hope that you give us another chance next year so you can see... More 

Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
203 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

I've been to worse. The hotel is in need of updating. Stains on room carpets, stained hallway carpets, loud heat and air units, and crazy layout in the hot tub room. The staff was really nice but the overall quality was kinda dirty and outdated. Our original room had a messed up door lock so we were upgraded into the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jolanda D
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, responded to this review

Jolanda, I am very sorry about the issues you had during your visit with us. We are planning major renovations this fall that will include new carpets, new mattresses, comforters and much more. I assure you that we are working on the specific issues that you had to ensure they are rectified as quickly as possible. Sincerely Stephen Barger General... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport News hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport News
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport News (Oyster Point)
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Newport News
Hilton Garden Inn Newport News
#3 of 40 in Newport News
4.5 of 5 stars 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Newport News-Yorktown
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Newport News Airport
Courtyard Newport News Airport
#4 of 40 in Newport News
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport News Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Renovated in 2010, the smoke and pet free, 64 rooms and suites provide travelers with comfortable, affordable and value rich lodging in Hampton Roads. All beds feature Serta Perfect Sleeper matresses, rooms have individually controlled thermostats, and hypoallergenic linens to provide a comfortable nights rest. As a mid scale, limited service hotel and located in the heart of Hampton Roads, the Hotel assures guests that room and suite rates remain competitive. With all of the standard amenities of the Country Inn & Suites by Carlson brand guests appreciate the features and services they come to expect such as an indoor swimming pool and hot tub, 24 hour coffee and tea, freshly baked cookies, and complimentary hot breakfast and WiFi.We look forward to hosting your future stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South

Address: 1069 J Clyde Morris Blvd, Newport News, VA 23602-7221
Location: United States > Virginia > Newport News
Price Range: $63 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Carlson, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Newport News South
Country Inn & Suites Newport News South Hotel Newport News
Country Inn Newport News
Newport News Country Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay