We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point
See the most recent reviews
Showing 49: English reviews
Chantilly, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I do NOT advise any parents visiting Christopher Newport University to stay at this hotel. My Non-smoking room smell like cigarettes, items in room were broken (including the toilet) and staff was not service orientated. I would recommend paying a little more and staying at the Marriott that is advertised on the CNU website.

Helpful?
2 Thank Carla U
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point, responded to this review

Carla - I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. I sincerely apologize that you reserved a non-smoking room that smelled like smoke and items were in need a repair. Please know, our maintenance staff is looking into these issues and are working to correct them immediately. I am also coaching the entire team on how to provide better... More 

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We recently moved from Northern New Jersey to Newport News, Va. Unfortunately, the house we would be moving in was still under renovation and, we were told, would not be ready for another week. We booked for a week at this place because it is convenient and an easy on and off from main road. At the end of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Floriam
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point, responded to this review

Floriam - Thank you so much for sharing your experience. I am so glad that we were able to provide you with a place to stay while you waited for renovations on your home to be completed. As well, it is great to read that you liked our hotel's location and the amenities we had to offer. Still, I do... More 

Thurmont, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Lucky for my wife and I we only stayed the night as the list of issues was long. The odor wasn't too strong that we didn't get use to it after an hour or so. Stains on the carpet and the wall, the night stand looked like it had sat out in the rain and the pressed wood composite was... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank DougZ63
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. To uphold our company's high standards, we will make sure that the chairs in the rooms are being checked on a regular basis and I do apologize that it was not checked before your arrival. I do have rooms here that are renovated and... More 

Fairfax
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I am very particular about the comfort of a bed and pillow. Not having a good bed or pillow can ruin the whole hotel experience for me, whether it costs a lot of a little. This place was a dump, cheap, definitely needs a coat (or two) of paint, but has the best bed and pillow I have had in... More 

Helpful?
Thank lsilver4
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I am happy to hear that you love our new bedding and pillows while staying with us. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that the overall appearance of our building was a disappointment... More 

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

If you are not familiar with the area, this hotel is located in a rougher area of NPN. Sirens could be heard at all hours of the day. I didn't feel unsafe in my room though and the parking lot was well lit. It's an older property, which could use lots of maintenance. The room was clean and the A/C... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ScrewBeeDo
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Very old and rundown facility needing major renovation. Room was dirty with soiled carpet. Furniture is very old and heavily "scuffed". Fridge was working ok but with broken handles etc. Entrance to rooms is direct from outside. For many that is a safety concern. Long wait to check-in, and then I was send to a room belonging to another guest.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AhtiI
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

If you have to be in Newport News, and need to stay a while, this would be a nice place to spend our time. Pet friendly and people friendly I can say this was a good place to stay the week I needed it. The hotel is convenient to a shopping center that has a Food Lion and several local... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris M
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

For a long term stay at a reasonable rate, this room is clean and comfortable. The kitchenette, wi-fi and wide-screen TV are a definite plus. The staff is capable and always willing to get it done with whatever you need. The location is great for those who have to work/have fun on the lower penninsula.

Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
hpt
Level Contributor
273 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Some of the staff was decent but it was a lady and guy who were on the front desk on our second day who were RUDE....to our guests as they waited in the lobby for us to get there. Is that the "love" the State of Virigina bosts about...if so, please KEEP it. The rooms were VERY hard to warm,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank pky_pook
brish0213, Manager at Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point, responded to this review

It was very kind of you to for take the time to publish a review of your stay at the Extended Stay America Newport News - Oyster Point. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

D Seymour Great and friendly staff very helpful. Jackie and Toni the best. Clean and nice rooms. Close to my job good walking distance. Any problems I had were solved in no time. Thanks for everything.

Helpful?
Thank DSeymour26
brish0213, Manager at Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point, responded to this review

t was very kind of you to for take the time to publish a review of your stay at the Extended Stay America Newport News - Oyster Point. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport News hotels
2.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Newport News - I-64 - Jefferson Avenue
1.8 mi away
Jameson Inn & Suites
Jameson Inn & Suites
#13 of 40 in Newport News
3.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport News Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Newport News Airport
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport News
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Hotel Newport News
Comfort Inn Hotel Newport News
#7 of 40 in Newport News
4.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point

Address: 11708 Jefferson Ave, Newport News, VA 23606-1905
Location: United States > Virginia > Newport News
Price Range: $60 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Extended Stay America - Newport News - Oyster Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Newport News
Extended Stayamerica Newport News
Newport News Extended Stay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay