We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 139: English reviews
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2016 via mobile

Cheap hotel. Nasty, moldy smell in lobby. Rooms stale smelling. Room A/C didn't work in 70 degree humid Newport News, simply because the cord couldn't reach the wall outlet and front desk could not provide a surge protector to extend cord to wall. There are no nice hotels in NN besides Residence Inn....spend the extra $$ and enjoy a pleasant... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
chesapeake, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016

I had scheduled a stay at this hotel for Friday 04082016, but had to cancel . i completed my cancellation on 04/07/2016 a day before the cancellation deadline. Imagine my suprise when I noted having my credit card charged 04/11/2016 for a one night stay. All attempts at this point have not resulted in me getting my money back. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lyn J
Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time out to write a review. I apologize for the issues you had with your credit card and cancellation. I will look into this immediately for you, if you can call me directly, I can look your information up in our system and correct this. Again, I apologize for this issue. More 

Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2016 via mobile

I drove up a bit skeptical. It does look a little run down on the outside. However, I went inside and the gentleman at the front desk was very pleasant! By accident, I was placed in a smoking room (incredibly smokey) and I had to call to request a change. He informed me there were no king beds available (which... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kemorrissey
Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about your stay. I am glad you enjoyed your upgraded suite. Thank you for bring the other items to my attention. We hope when you are back in the Newport News area, you will stay with us again. More 

Ashland, Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2016 via mobile

Our room was in the front and on second floor with no elevator. Thank goodness we didn't have much luggage on our 3 night stay. Staff was nice for the most part. The road noise kept me awake at night. Hair dryer in my room didn't work. We found a few rather large bugs. The beds were ok. Not great... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank luvmytwiinz
Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time out to let us know about your stay with us. I apologize for the problems you had while being here. We take pride in our property and want to make sure everyone is happy. Again, I apologize you were not happy while staying here and we hope you can give us... More 

Lexington, VA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2016

I stayed here because I was attending a conference held here. I arrived the night before for 2 nights. Checkin was a breeze, no problems at all. I was on the 4th floor of the hotel section. Appears there are 2 sections, one interior rooms for hotel guests, and another area with exterior doors, more for weekly rentals. As I... More 

Helpful?
Thank gingerannlanier
Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you so much for taking the time out to write a review about your stay with us at Point Plaza Suites. I appreciate you bringing these issues to my attention. I hope that the next time you are in our area, you will stay with us again! Yours in Hospitality, Kelli L General Manager More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2016 via mobile

Cons: This hotel was cheap in every way. The room smelled stale and weird. The drain took forever to clear in both the shower and sink. The didn't have my reservation in their computer when we checked in or out. The pool is weird and green and the whole area clearly wasn't cleaned in some time. Pros: Staff was nice.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan M
Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued hotel guest, Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about your stay with us. I apologize for the issues you had during your stay and we are working on getting this fixed immediately. Thank you again for letting me know. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2016 via mobile

New management isn't much better I had a house keeper walk up to me and tell me I was trying to get her fired and started arguing with me. Housekeeping was just rude I've been here a month and I'm thinking about moving

Helpful?
Thank Crystal H
Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Crystal, Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about our hotel. I apologize for the issues you had with housekeeping. I will definitely speak with our housekeeping department about this. We appreciate and value you and hope you will stay with us. Please let me know if there is something more I can assist you... More 

North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2016

I had read the reviews before booking this hotel. I knew some earlier reviews weren't very good, but I also knew they were under new management. We had a great stay, and wouldn't hesitate to stay again. The room was clean, smelled nice and very comfortable. Often when we return from a hotel stay, I have to wash all our... More 

Helpful?
Thank lpt41
Kelli L, Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you so much for taking time out to write such a nice review of our hotel! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are working very hard at getting our hotel back to a full service hotel. Our staff is very excited about all of our changes that are happening and... More 

Nags Head, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2016

When entering the building, you get a great feeling for this hotel, then you get to your room. It was clean, but I'm guessing they have a problem with sheets, since they do not fit the beds and the bed I slept on, the sheets were inside out. The pillows were lumpy and very uncomfortable. They have old box tvs... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank wyttigr
Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Point Plaza Suites. I want to apologize for the inconveniences you faced while staying with us. We take pride in our property and will make sure these problems are corrected. We would like to redeem ourselves to you. The next time you are in the Newport... More 

Newport News, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016

I recently stayed at this hotel and they are making new renovations. They are upgrading their furniture and televisions. Point Plaza has also changed their whole breakfast menu to an actual full breakfast. I hated to have to leave, their beds are really comfortable. The manager also stated that they will be opening the dining area as well, which would... More 

Helpful?
Thank BLParker
Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you so much for taking the time out to write a review for Point Plaza. We take pride in our property and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again! Thank you again for write a review! Yours in Hospitality, Kelli Lantz General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport News hotels
1.3 mi away
Jameson Inn & Suites
Jameson Inn & Suites
#13 of 40 in Newport News
3.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport News Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport News
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Mulberry Inn and Plaza at Fort Eustis
3.0 mi away
Courtyard Newport News Airport
Courtyard Newport News Airport
#4 of 40 in Newport News
4.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
1.3 mi away
Newport News/Williamsburg Extended Stay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel

Address: 950 J Clyde Morris Blvd, Newport News, VA 23601-1004
Location: United States > Virginia > Newport News
Price Range: $51 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Plaza Hotel Newport News
Point Plaza Hotel And Conference
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay