We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel

950 J. Clyde Morris Boulevard, Newport News, VA 23601
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 135: English reviews
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First and foremost, I will say that the stay for two nights was relatively inexpensive but this was a case that you really get what you pay for (or rather, don't pay for). I selected this hotel based on the price and the 3.5 rating I read on Tripadvisor and also the photos. I was looking for a hotel for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Valerie S
Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I apologize about the issues you faced at check in. We take pride in our hotel and I appreciate you bringing these issues to my attention so they can be addressed. Thank you again for taking the time out to write the... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Besides sharing space with roaches and waterbugs, our TV was messed up for half our stay which caused us to move to another room. HUGE INCONVENIENCE!!!! The indoor "heated" pool is NOT heated at all and was actually really cold and even their maitenance man admitted it to me saying it was a LIE!!!!!! Last but definitly not least, I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alicia L
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Front desk staff was great. Housekeeping need to learn how to clean. Bathroom floors were dirty and need to use a mop. Had to request new linen because it looks like the just made the bed and did not put on clean sheets. Toilet did not work properly and sink was very slow to drain. Keep in mind we paid... More 

Helpful?
Thank dfost88
Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about your stay with us. Thank you for bringing the issues you had to my attention. We take pride in our property and want our guest happy while being here. We are under new ownership and are working really hard with upgrading our property. .I am... More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very old and run down. TV's were 20+ years old. The rooms smelled musty and old. There were holes in the blankets. Staff was very friendly and nice. They were helpful and this is no reflection on them. Just poor management. There were also a lot of seedy people staying at this place, so it didn't feel very safe either,... More 

Helpful?
Thank hrdorfm
Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about your stay with us at Point Plaza Suites. We appreciate any feed back we receive from our guest. I apologize for the problems you had with your blankets and the smell of your room. We in the planning process of upgrades to our property. We... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

When we arrived to our room, it was so outdated. The tub was dingy and we had a fat-back TV! What year is this place stuck in! The pool was always crowded with a bunch of kids. The cable went out late saturday, thankfully we were checking out sunday but it was frustrating. Breakfast was delicious: Eggs, sausage and CHEESE... More 

Helpful?
Thank KatNMan223
Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about your stay with us. We apologize for the issues with the cable while you stayed with us. The pool is always a favorite at Point Plaza Suites because its so large and the guest are always enjoying it! I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast!... More 

Nags Head, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016 via mobile

We gave them a 2nd chance since we needed somewhere to stay on a Saturday night. I would have rated them Good, if it was an option. The entrance, as always, is impressive and the clerks were very friendly. Our room was on the 4th floor and unfortunately, upon exiting the elevators, we were hit with 92 degrees of blowing... More 

Helpful?
Thank wyttigr
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2016 via mobile

Cheap hotel. Nasty, moldy smell in lobby. Rooms stale smelling. Room A/C didn't work in 70 degree humid Newport News, simply because the cord couldn't reach the wall outlet and front desk could not provide a surge protector to extend cord to wall. There are no nice hotels in NN besides Residence Inn....spend the extra $$ and enjoy a pleasant... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
chesapeake, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016

I had scheduled a stay at this hotel for Friday 04082016, but had to cancel . i completed my cancellation on 04/07/2016 a day before the cancellation deadline. Imagine my suprise when I noted having my credit card charged 04/11/2016 for a one night stay. All attempts at this point have not resulted in me getting my money back. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lyn J
Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time out to write a review. I apologize for the issues you had with your credit card and cancellation. I will look into this immediately for you, if you can call me directly, I can look your information up in our system and correct this. Again, I apologize for this issue. More 

Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2016 via mobile

I drove up a bit skeptical. It does look a little run down on the outside. However, I went inside and the gentleman at the front desk was very pleasant! By accident, I was placed in a smoking room (incredibly smokey) and I had to call to request a change. He informed me there were no king beds available (which... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kemorrissey
Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about your stay. I am glad you enjoyed your upgraded suite. Thank you for bring the other items to my attention. We hope when you are back in the Newport News area, you will stay with us again. More 

Ashland, Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2016 via mobile

Our room was in the front and on second floor with no elevator. Thank goodness we didn't have much luggage on our 3 night stay. Staff was nice for the most part. The road noise kept me awake at night. Hair dryer in my room didn't work. We found a few rather large bugs. The beds were ok. Not great... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank luvmytwiinz
Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time out to let us know about your stay with us. I apologize for the problems you had while being here. We take pride in our property and want to make sure everyone is happy. Again, I apologize you were not happy while staying here and we hope you can give us... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (22)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport News hotels
1.3 mi away
Jameson Inn & Suites
Jameson Inn & Suites
#13 of 40 in Newport News
3.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport News Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport News
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Mulberry Inn and Plaza at Fort Eustis
2.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Newport News Airport
1.3 mi away
Newport News/Williamsburg Extended Stay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel

Address: 950 J. Clyde Morris Boulevard, Newport News, VA 23601
Location: United States > Virginia > Newport News
Price Range: $51 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Plaza Hotel Newport News
Point Plaza Hotel And Conference
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay