We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
846 Sand Bank Rd, New Point, VA 23125-2019
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
View all 8 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (60)
Pool & Beach (16)
Videos (1)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Experience all the Chesapeake Bay area has to offer. At New Point RV Resort, you'll enjoy unspoiled shoreline with grassy, windswept sand dunes and a family friendly atmosphere. New Point offers a wide range of activities including boating, swimming, biking and hiking. Take a walk on the soft sand of the private beach or go explore the waterways with a kayak or canoe.
Read more
Room & Suite (11)11
Full view
Property amenities
Free internet
Outdoor pool
Beach
Canoeing
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Wifi
Game room
Hiking
Fishing
Chapel / shrine
Convenience store
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Seating area
Sofa
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
114Reviews4Q+A20Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 68
  • 26
  • 2
  • 11
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Melissa wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I don’t typically post reviews, but after reading the one below, and discovering that what my family and I experienced was unfortunately experienced by another family a few weeks later, I had felt I had to. Perhaps if I had written my review earlier, that poor family would not have gone through what they did. I am truly sorry I didn’t write this sooner. I have friends who have permanent campsites at Newpoint, so I knew I was staying at the Ritz, but I certainly wasn’t expecting what we rented. Just like the review below, my family and I booked a premium cottage with 2 bedrooms (BR12) and ended up with the same old RV with the semi-attached lean-to. Our trip was from July 11 – July 20th. There are no photos of this cottage so you assume you are getting one that looks like the pictures on the New Point’s site. WRONG! The RV was hot (it had 2 small window a/c units)! The attached lean to was hot (even with the two portable A/C units and fans -- I’m actually the person who purchased one the of the 2 oscillating fans mentioned in the review below). Not only was the lean-to hot, it smelled strongly of camp fire smoke and is considered a “bedroom”. Note: If someone has young children and expects this to be a bedroom for their kids to sleep, they’re in for a RUDE awakening! There is NO way any parent would want to put their young child to bed in a smoke-filled, semi-enclosed lean-to with a door to the outside that doesn’t lock and is separated from the RV by a glass sliding door. To make matters worse, the sliding glass door even has a note posted on it telling guests to KEEP DOOR CLOSED due to possible overload of portable A/C. So forget leaving the door open to make you or your child feel safe. Even though the RV was an immediate BIG disappointment, because of COVID, my family and I were ready to rough it just to get away. So, I drove into town to get groceries. After returning from the grocery store with a weeks-worth of groceries and a fan in hand, I shortly discovered that the refrigerator wasn’t working. Because it was after hours, I called the number on the “resort” map 3 times and left 3 messages on the “emergency” voicemail that you are directed to. I also called the corporate number and NOTHING! NO CALL BACK, nothing! To make a long story short, we were done and I was ready to move, or leave! The next morning, I went to the office and expressed my concerns. I was told by the front desk worker that they did not receive any of my messages. I showed them my phone and the times I called and was again told they didn’t get the message. I was then shown the notice that was tapped to the front of the office telling you where to call in case of an emergency. Boy, it sure would have been nice to have that written down on the outdated materials we were given at check in – just sayin’! Anyway, fortunately for us when we asked to move or be refunded, we were told that we could move to a different site and for all of our trouble I’d be refunded for our first night (that’s another long story). Before agreeing to move, I asked the Manager Michelle if the new cottage had a stove because I knew that some of the cottages only had cook-tops. Michelle she said she didn’t think that any of the cottages had stoves and had to call someone to find out. REALLY? The cottage we were given (BR24) was a 1 bedroom with a loft (not a 2 bedroom I was hoping for). The cottage was in a really nice spot between the marsh and the beach, was very clean, but the old green couch had 3 rips in the cushion and I think there were fleas. However, we couldn’t tell if we were getting bit by fleas, or mosquitos because the mosquitos were so bad. If you go with children and are given the “resort” map, there is no laser tag, no archery and nothing for the kids to do but swim in the pool, play at the playground, rent a kayak or go to the beach. I’m not sure why they give out the outdated map when it only amplifies how much this “resort” does not offer. As for food on the premises, yes, there is a pretty good food truck, but you never know when it is going to be open to serve food. The hours are not posted anywhere, and unless you know Michael (the Manager’s husband who runs the truck) and can ask him, you won’t know unless you go to the food truck to see. If it wasn’t for my friends who have permanent spots at the campground and the great beach, there is NO WAY I would ever stay at Newpoint again. I’ve stayed at many campgrounds (Yogi to KOAs) and rented cabins, and the accommodations at Newpoint are the worst I’ve ever rented.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: If you must rent a cabin here, rent BR 24 (even though the furniture is ripped, its the best one...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from MB - SunRVResorts, Owner at New Point RV Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello Valued Guest, Thank you for providing your feedback. Although, we wish that you had a better experience with us. It is feedback such as this, that gives us the opportunity to improve. We value you as our guest and hope that your recent experience does not deter you from staying with us in the future.
Read more
Mimi E wrote a review Aug 2020
Richmond, Virginia39 contributions18 helpful votes
Booked a Premium Cottage w/ 2 bedrooms, 2 baths according to website. Pictures were nice. Cottage we were given is an old small RV with semi attached lean to that had 2 portable AC units and 2 tall oscillating fans. It was referred to as the sun room- Hot, couldn't get completely cool etc. it was 100% NOT anything like the pictures we booked with. Complained to manager and she said they don't have any 2 bath cottages and this was the VIP cottage. Piece of garbage. Door to unit didn't lock. Had workers in to attempt to get AC working correctly and to replace lock. This is by far the biggest rip off we have ever had. The map given to each renter showed all of the sites. The site we were on was NOT classified as a Premium Cabin. It is classified as a 50 amp hookup site. Son became overheated and couldn't sleep the last night there- packed up early and left by dawn. Mis leading site!!! Spoke to manager shortly after checkin. Said no other sites available and that they don't have any 2 bathroom sites. We told her it was on website. She said she checked website and it didn't say that. We couldn't get internet to load website so assumed she was telling the truth. Come home and load site and she lied!!! It's clearly stated there on site. No one will answer main numbers to Sun RV Resorts.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from MB- SunRVResorts, Owner at New Point RV Resort
Responded Aug 12, 2020
Hello Valued Guest, We are sorry that you are disappointed but appreciate your feedback. Allow us to take a closer look at this for you.  Please contact us at 248-208-2500 option 2 Monday - Friday 8 am to 5 pm with your information so we're able to assist you better.  Thank You
Read more
LaDonna L wrote a review Oct 2019
Charlottesville, Virginia21 contributions14 helpful votes
New Point offers fresh water for pool goers and salt water for others. The bay area of the resort is great for children as it is shallow and level. At low tide, you can walk out 200+yards and not be much over your knees. The staff and seasonal campers are friendly and helpful. Just ask anyone for help and you'll have several come to your aid. If it's fishing you like, they have that too - either by your own boat from the marina or fish and crab off of the many piers/docks that are on site. Many that come for the weekend end up signing up for a "seasonal" site and come back again and again for years.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Helpful
Share
bariautumn wrote a review Sep 2019
Omaha, Nebraska17 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
My significant other and I (newly engaged during our stay!) love Mathews, and wanted to stay overnight instead of traveling back to Richmond. I booked two nights in a one-bedroom cottage with our cocker spaniel. We arrived on Sunday, and the checkin process was speedy. We quickly got moved in. The cottage was clean, cool, and actually spacious complete with a queen bed, loft area, and an additional loft area with two small mattresses. The cottage was fully stocked with oven/stovetop, fridge, utensils, coffee pot, etc. we just had to bring linens and towels! We checked out the nearby beach and dog beach. Our cocker spaniel loved running free on the secluded dog beach, and we enjoyed crabbing off the pier. The camp store was closed on Monday, and we wanted to rent a gold cart. This is when the excellent staff comes into play. I flagged down employee Justin, and he was quick to help me figure out a plan to get a golf cart. Justin called the reservations employee, a wonderful woman named Judy. Judy drove to the campground on her day off and unlocked the camp store so we could rent a golf cart—how amazing is that! Justin and Judy’s actions really made our vacation that much more special. They even unlocked the pool gate for us to use. We definitely plan on coming back next summer, hopefully for much longer than two days. New Point is a hidden gem on the Chesapeake.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from LC-SunRVResorts, SunRV Sunshine Team at New Point RV Resort
Responded Sep 18, 2019
Hi bariautumn, Thank you for taking the time out to share your experience with us. We're delighted to hear that you've enjoyed your time! It was our pleasure to have been your host! Kudos to our amazing staff. We appreciate all that they do for our guests and the community in it's entirety! We'll look forward to having you all visit us again soon. Thank you for choosing New Point as your destination RV Resort! Take care :)
Read more
victoriah788 wrote a review Sep 2019
Cedar Rapids, Iowa222 contributions20 helpful votes
+1
We stayed in a cabin for two evenings. Staff was super friendly and helpful! This property is well maintained. A food truck on site provides snack type foods at a reasonable price. There is a swimming pool available to use as well as beach access. Cabin had everything we needed for our stay! Mattresses were comfy! Beach was easy walking distance from the office area, really anywhere from within the resort. Security does a good job of keeping the resort safe.we never felt uncomfortable walking around alone. Beautiful area! Also live that this place is dog friendly and have a dog beach and dog run park area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from LC-SunRVResorts, SunRV Sunshine Team at New Point RV Resort
Responded Sep 11, 2019
Hi victoriah788, Thank you for taking the time out to share your experience with us! We're delighted to hear that you've enjoyed your time. It was our pleasure to have been your host. Kudos to our amazing staff! We appreciate all that they do for our guests and the community in it's entirety. Thank you for choosing New Point as your destination RV Resort! Take care :)
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$162 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaNew Point
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about New Point RV Resort
Which popular attractions are close to New Point RV Resort?
Nearby attractions include New Point Comfort Lighthouse (1.4 miles), New Point Comfort Nature Preserve (1.7 miles), and Observation Walkway (1.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at New Point RV Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include kids activities, laundry service, and free internet access.
Which room amenities are available at New Point RV Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at New Point RV Resort?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Are there opportunities to exercise at New Point RV Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Is New Point RV Resort located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of New Point.
Are pets allowed at New Point RV Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to New Point RV Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Moughon's Hardware And Produce (6.8 miles).